Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Goals Can Come From Anywhere

Eanna - What does "i PMed you re above" mean? I was just saying in my post that i can't understnad how you could still want the manager out even if he lead his team to the top. Thats all.

Originally posted by goalside
    Eanna - What does "i PMed you re above" mean? I was just saying in my post that i can't understnad how you could still want the manager out even if he lead his team to the top. Thats all.
    it means i sent you a personal message- have a look at it. I've already explained that my opposition to murphy has nothing to do with how well the team is doing- i can't and don't deny that it is doing well.

Originally posted by rebel yell
    On the subject of goalscorers, does anyone know much about
    Mchugh who plays for Finn Harps. I see he's scored 17 goals
    this season, which is no mean feat, even in Div1. Can't see why he hasn't been snapped up yet by Premier clubs.
    Only seen him once this season when he scored against the Ramblers at St. Colman's Park. He has a really good partnership going with Jonathan Speake and the fans adore him, not surprisingly.

Question Where Will The Goals Come From Tonight?

Who'll get on the score sheet tonight?
    That's the big question.

Devine maybe?
    Carey deserves a goal.
    Bennett wants another goal.
    Ollie likes a long range goal.
    Deccie needs a goal!

In truth I fancy Coughlan to pop up for one.
    Having said that I'd settle for an own-goal if we won 0-1.

Re: Cork City

Originally posted by Gerry Desmond

Just to be clear:
    1) The results are OK
    2) He's not a bad manager
    Gerry
    This is the big problem with Cork City supporters, especially people who have links to the club. They are happy enough to settle for "OK" results, happy enough to trundle along with a manager that "is not bad"! What a joke!

"Sure we'll get the oul InterToto place again", "Yera the lads deserve another trip to Europe", "Sure as long as we beat the shower from Dublin that's all that matters", "Sure we're only amateur"

There are too many people like this within our club. They make me sick. They can be seen from the top to the bottom of our club and the point Eanna has been trying to make is that Liam Murphy is one of them. Gerry backs up Murphy by saying "1) The results are OK, 2) He's not a bad manager" Sure I suppose it's all we can expect considering we're only amateur.

Michael O'Leary has got to you Gerry. That was his response to every question asked at the recent supporters Club meeting. Why is there not more advertising of games? A few posters even? "Sure we're only amateur"

We're only amateur but the *******s managed to have a fairly 'professional' looking trip to Latvia last year. The rounds of golf at the clubs expense could hardly be described as amateur.
    Everything them ****s do is in a professional manner but asked why they don't hang a poster outside Turner's Cross to advertise the next game.. "We're only amateur".

If the people in charge of our club have only dreams of survival I want the priks out. I want people who will make it their business to drag this club off it's arse. I want to see posters, ads on 96fm, a manager who wants his team to train full-time, an assistant manager who doesn't smoke 40 Major, a Chairman who is willing to hang the ****ing poster himself if it means getting a step closer to his dream.

Red face I don't understand

I continue to criticise the Directors (title would suggest some directing required wouldn't it?) but I can't se how all this is Liam Murphys fault.

Murphy is getting the results so whats the problem?
    I'm not saying Murphy is the best we could get but why sack him just for the sake of it?

Directors could be removed due to poor performance by a manager but i've never heard of sacking a manager cos of a crap Board!

Gerry Desmond

Re: Re: Cork City

Just to be clear, Casegrande:

Those were Éanna's points, NOT mine. You also omitted two of them, btw.
    I was merely trying to see if I was picking up his drift correctly.
    Apparently I did. Apparently, you didn't read what I was saying.

It seemed bizarre in the extreme to me to suggest a manager could win the CL and still be unsatisfactory...does that NOT seem strange to you?

Gerry

Re: Re: Re: Cork City

It seemed bizarre in the extreme to me to suggest a manager could win the CL and still be unsatisfactory...does that NOT seem strange to you?

Gerry
    Imagine the fun we'd have! Coming back into town having won the CL and rubbing it in Éanna's face while he stood there unable to celebrate. I remember something my mother used to say about spite, nose, face and some cutting.

Eanna used the CL to make a point, some persons have taken him seriously. Cork City will never in our lifetime win the CL. BUT, we should be looking to progress to a point where we can hope to make the group stages.

Gerry and Mr.T - how do we come to a stage where we can hope to qualify for the CL?

The Answer My Friend Is There In Front Of You

Originally posted by Casegrande
    Gerry and Mr.T - how do we come to a stage where we can hope to qualify for the CL?
    The way we get to qualify for the CL is by going on as Liam Murphy is showing us. Winning the eircom League. Winning three qualifying rounds of the CL and Bob's Your Marley, we're there, in the CL group stages.
    It's not beyond belief.

Gerry Desmond
    Eanna used the CL to make a point, some persons have taken him seriously. Cork City will never in our lifetime win the CL. BUT, we should be looking to progress to a point where we can hope to make the group stages.

Don't get me wrong here, Casegrande:

In NL terms, Cork constantly underachieves IMO.
    3 league titles in half a century says it all.
    Cork Hibs: 1 title - underachievement!
    Cork Celtic: 1 title - underachievement!
    Cork City: 1 title - underachievement!

It may be easy to target current directors etc. You may be right to criticise them, you may be wrong.
    However, it is neither my duty nor my desire to defend them on this MB or elsewhere. But I would say this much about them - they ARE the directors of CCFC because at least they got involved. The question to ask, IMO, about EVERY club in the league, is why are the directors the only people involved with their clubs?

I don't have any simple solutions other than the club obviously needs more people involved, needs positive support from fans, the general public and especially the business community of the city.
    I'd love to be a director, for instance, but I ain't got the bobs. It's a problem with the way clubs are set up. Have money and you can get in. Brains are not necessarily required. Quite often people with a passion for their club and a vision for its future are excluded simply because they are in a different financial situation to what is deemed to be acceptable. It always struck me as an apalling waste of resources and talent...Imagine if it were only possible to become a footballer if you had sufficient moolah to get you in.
    Barcelona is a people's club. The people built the club, the stadium, everything. Irish clubs generally follow the British model, though there are a couple of exceptions. As a result, clubs too often are merely the playthings of the rich.
    There is no simple solution to your answer, Casegrande. A major change of attitude is required.
    Gerry

Re: The Answer My Friend Is There In Front Of You

Originally posted by Barry's Tea

The way we get to qualify for the CL is by going on as Liam Murphy is showing us. Winning the eircom League. Winning three qualifying rounds of the CL and Bob's Your Marley, we're there, in the CL group stages.
    It's not beyond belief.
    You are living in a world of makebelieve. You don't honestly think that with our current set-up we can progress to the CL?!!!

I'd be doubtful that we can win the league (if we do it's because the other teams are the worst in years). We could not even beat a shower of Latvian plodders.

But to me, at any rate, it's more than just winning the league or getting into the CL. It's about structure and ambition. We need good people running our club. We need to start offering younsters the option to follow a professional football team in Cork as a preferance to 'following' ManU or the Dream Team on the telly.

damn right Casagrande, but until somebody with both money and a love / ambition for the club comes along to buy out the useless shower we have, then we are stuck with what we have.
    life is random

I don't have any simple solutions other than the club obviously needs more people involved, needs positive support from fans, the general public and especially the business community of the city.
    But why the **** should the business communities of the City come knocking on the Directors doors offering money when any half-case could see that they are a shower of no-hopers. They have no dream. Would you give money to Cork City FC? So that they could go out and blow it on their Golf-trips and holidays in Latvia.

Where did all the money from the '98-99 league campaign go?

You ask for positive support from the fans:
    There is a limit. I have supported City since '89 and in all reality not much has changed since then. How long more do I offer my unwaivered 'positive support'? There are hundreds of others like that. Positive support is nice but covers up the cracks that can ruin a club permanently.

I'm sick of this ****.

Gerry Desmond

But why the **** should the business communities of the City come knocking on the Directors doors offering money when any half-case could see that they are a shower of no-hopers. They have no dream. Would you give money to Cork City FC? So that they could go out and blow it on their Golf-trips and holidays in Latvia.

Where did all the money from the '98-99 league campaign go?

You ask for positive support from the fans:
    There is a limit. I have supported City since '89 and in all reality not much has changed since then. How long more do I offer my unwaivered 'positive support'? There are hundreds of others like that. Positive support is nice but covers up the cracks that can ruin a club permanently.

I'm sick of this ****.
    You need to chill out, Cas! Take some time to smell the roses, or have a break in Latvia.

You think you are the only frustrated fan that ever walked?

Gerry

get off the fence Gerry they are either doing a good job or a bad one?

IMO almost every bunch we had right back to Plonk and his stadium of dreams in bishopstown,( where we were told would be good enough to hold full internationals )have been cowboys..in it for a fast buck

how exactly are people to get involved?..its a cosy cartel..the only way in is too buy those already there out..

what more do you want the fans to do besides turning up for games?
    life is random

You think you are the only frustrated fan that ever walked?
    No I don't. But, unlike you, I'm not happy to just plod along pretending everything is just fine! You are an intelligent person - put some conviction behind what you write. Don't always sit on the fence to keep your employers happy.

Gerry Desmond

No I don't. But, unlike you, I'm not happy to just plod along pretending everything is just fine! You are an intelligent person - put some conviction behind what you write. Don't always sit on the fence to keep your employers happy.
    Doubt if you know whether I'm happy or not, or plodding along for that matter. I can, however, confirm that I am not pretending EVERYTHING is fine. I'm almost definite I've been attending LOI soccer longer than you (1968), have seen more, experienced more AND suffered more. You don't know what frustration is. I was a member of the Cork Celtic SC in 1978-79. When you go through something like that, then you can whinge. Then you will know what a club can do to its supporters.

You've already misread one of my earlier posts, I would suggest you pay more attention to what I am saying before drawing further incorrect conclusions.
    I don't always sit on the fence, and CCFC are not my employers. I edit a programme for them; do you think they confide their decisions/opinions with me? Get a life!

You are asking questions that ONLY the directors can answer. Either ask THEM the questions or else, as I suggest, chill out before you embarrass yourself.

Life is good,

Gerry

gerry i'm a little confused by what u are posting so i reread the thread and then read it again to besure...

ok here goes

The question to ask, IMO, about EVERY club in the league, is why are the directors the only people involved with their clubs?

Gerry any chance of elaborating on that or explaining it, cause from i know of in CCFC the club is practially held together by one woman, and financed by the hard and valuable work done by loto volunteers who are fans, doing it cause they love CCFC..the supporters club run buses, hold table quizes and support the team as best they can...apart from mountfield when has a city manager turned up, or until recently a director for a supporters club meeting,

and what about the quizes organised to raise money for the club..ie directors back pocket IMO...at least the directors could have the f-ing common courtesy to turn up for them....after the all the hard work thats done by CCFC fans and voluteers to help out the club ..
    we all have to work you know, and there are a few people i know that do so much more for the club then any any director has..

now gerry what do you think ?
    its off the fence time??-

and i'';; repeat your earlier quote

The question to ask, IMO, about EVERY club in the league, is why are the directors the only people involved with their clubs?
    also in longford there was tireless work there by not only the great directors that they have but also the many many volunteers to get flancare ready for europe, as there is in i would suggest every club in ireland.

it's not too much to ask for is it..a director who cares about the club and not what club to hit off the tee on the 17th at fota?
    life is random

Gerry don't get in a tiz. You offer one of best arguements that can be found here that's why I bug you about it.
    I can, however, confirm that I am not pretending EVERYTHING is fine.
    Ok, that's a start. But you **** me off because you never say anything against the club and hammer me when I make my opinion about particular things wrong with the club that YOU are afraid to bring up (or agree with, when I do).
    I'm almost definite I've been attending LOI soccer longer than you (1968), have seen more, experienced more AND suffered more.
    I don't really see what relevance this has to the points I am making about CORK CITY FC and it's owners.
    do you think they confide their decisions/opinions with me?
    Again, what difference does this make? You can still offer your honest opinion.
    You are asking questions that ONLY the directors can answer. Either ask THEM the questions or else, as I suggest, chill out before you embarrass yourself.
    I am putting these questions forward here in the form of a discussion among fans. I don't see why YOU are getting up-tight about the allegations I am making against the Board.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast