Thread: Your Predictions for 2012!

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Premier Division:

8) Monaghan
    Please now, Mon's squad is ridiculous for the standard expected of them this year. Lost a fantastic keeper, and brought in two decent shot stoppers. Conor Murphy and Bayly are grand, while Reynor isn't properly proven. This does not equate to the sense of continuity and the overall betterment of quality that would have been in your side had ye held onto those who went to Drogs.

Really don't see how drogs are being rated so high.
    Because, to most, their squad is better than the ones ranked below them in people's individual rankings. They've signed the majority of quality from yer squad last year, while re-signing some very decent players. They certainly won't be finishing four places behind Monaghan anyway, like you seem to think.

First:

1) Waterford United

2) Limerick

3) longford

Waterford coz they don't have to play us and Scully will bottle.
    The man won his last eight games of last season when the pressure was on the most. Bottler, alright. Limerick finished 24 points ahead of Waterford last year, with a worse squad and better teams to beat. Limerick are far better from the start this season, and despite Waterford's ONE big signing, I have then to finish third. I don't see how people think Longford's squad is worse than Waterford's.

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    I actually can't wait for the season to finish now. I would LOVE to see Limerick screw it all up now. I hope to jesus they finish 2nd with all the fans up their own holes about walking the league this season.
    Sir, if you would kindly remove the lemon..

Not agreed coz we havent completed our signings and those that have come in are stronger and at least have premier division experience unlike those who were here last season. (excepting Fabio of course)
    Please, inform us. Do a head to head on personnel in versus personnel out.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Sava
    Shane Grimes
    Sean Brennan
    Ryan Brennan
    Fabio.

Who have ye brought in that are improvements on them then?

Bennion or Schlingerman better then Sava?

Bayly better then Ryan Brennan?

Have ye even signed anyone to replace Sean Brenan or Grimes?

Ill give you that Murphy may be a good replacement for Fabio.
    Absolutely. However, he's not as good as Fabio, in my opinion.
    Last edited by LFC-Zulu; 03/02/2012 at 7:36 PM.
    Get into them! ( They're easyyyy! )

305 Posts
    Windmill,you may change the Sig there.

Dundalk 1 - "the worst team to ever play in the premier" 2
    Oh so sorry,i forgot..you's guys like to live in the past so keep her lit

Premier Division:

1. Rovers
    2. Derry
    3. Sligo
    4. Cork
    5. Pats
    6. Shelbourne
    7. Bohemians
    8. Bray
    9. Dundalk
    10. Drogheda
    11. UCD
    12. Monaghan United

First Division:

1. Limerick
    2. Longford
    3. Waterford
    4. Finn Harps
    5. Athlone
    6. Salthill Devon Galway
    7. Mervue
    8. Wexford
    Last edited by Terry; 05/02/2012 at 8:43 AM.

Premier Division:
    1. Rovers
    2. Sligo*
    3. Pats
    4. Cork**
    5. Derry
    6. Shels
    7. Drogs
    8. Bohs
    9. Dundalk
    10. Bray
    11. UCD
    12. Monaghan United***
    *Unless Foster gets managers job.
    ** Assuming they bring in a striker to replace Cummins
    *** Unless Rod make some decent signings.

First Division:
    1. Limerick
    2. Longford
    3. Waterford
    4. Athlone*
    5. Harps
    6. Salthill
    7. Mervue
    8. Wexford
    *I don't know why but I think ATFC could upset the playoff chances of WUFC or LTFC.

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    I actually can't wait for the season to finish now. I would LOVE to see Limerick screw it all up now. I hope to jesus they finish 2nd with all the fans up their own holes about walking the league this season.
    You may notice that almost all of the other fans are making the same prediction. However as we're making our judgements based on nothing I'll hope that Harps come last by a country mile and several other unpleasant things happen to the club along the way (nothing too serious mind you. Also, again, your failure to understand the word 'all' continues to baffle.

I'll go:

Premier
    1. Shamrock Rovers
    2. St. Patrick's Athletic
    3. Sligo Rovers
    4. Derry City
    5. Cork City
    6. Shelbourne
    7. Bohemians
    8. Drogheda United
    9. Dundalk
    10. Bray Wanderers
    11. UCD
    12. Monaghan United

First Division
    1. Limerick (we probably won't even concede a goal Nigel, much less drop points )
    2. Waterford United
    3. Longford Town
    4. Athlone Town
    5. Mervue United
    6. Finn Harps
    7. SD Galway
    8. Wexford Youths

53 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LFC-Zulu View Post
    lengthy ramble
    Good to see the Limerick fans haven't let their impending success stop them from getting wound up so easily. With only 28 games yous lads must be looking forward to doing a spot of crowd-counting at other grounds?

(I agree that Monaghan need to get more players and better players in, but we were in a tougher situation last year when the season started so In Rod I'll Trust. Would be more than happy with Premier football in 2013)

Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    Windmill,you may change the Sig there.

Oh so sorry,i forgot..you's guys like to live in the past so keep her lit
    Haha! was just thinking that the other day, but cant be a*sed really. Besides it reminds me of how far Mick as taken us and the marvelous job hes done, and continues to do...
    Dundalk 1 - "the worst team to ever play in the premier" 2 :D

the two rovers (thought sligo woul edge it with north signing and manager change in tallaght but now it's seems all even!!)
    derry (need to replace zayed but should be heading for europe)
    pats, cork, shels (one on it's way down and the other two looking very good promoted teams)
    drogheda (good manager with five very good ex-united players (best 1st div keeper , a very good defender, two of the best midfielders in the 1st and o'brien who will come back to life)
    dundalk, bohs,(hard to tell dundalk looing .....empty!!! bohs too
    monaghan (should have a good start (a certain continuity from last year (apart from the drogheda 5)
    bray very empty with dempsey adn murphy huge losses)
    ucd not sure but lost meenan which is a big loss in my opinion......

that said ucd and bray had great A championship teams so they may be a lot better than this table

for the first
    limerick
    BIG GAP
    waterford
    longford
    BIG GAP
    the rest
    with wexford or salthill at teh bottom

398 Posts
    I don't know why everyone, except the ones brainwashed up in mondog-land, has Monaghan being rock bottom. I admit they've lost some decent players, but they'll be set out for keeping it tight and battling to heroic draws and tight wins against near neighbours. The danger for them is the manager doing a legger when he figures everyone is out to get him, or Ferguson retires in May. I am worried for Dundalk but they at least have some solid lads, Bray haven't done anything of note which adds to their woes. Limerick will find it hard to be fully consistent on a rotten pitch with good ball players, so we'll see. I still tip them and Sligo to be champs come November.

48 Posts
    Shams by a country mile.

Sligo might implode and have a clearout during the summer.

Derry,Pats and Cork to fight for 2nd to 4th

Roddy to leave Mons in the game prior to confirmed relegation.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

Rovers (no key players lost, Twigg coming back to full fitness since 2010. strong signings made)
    Sligo (lost two of their best. Without Ryan they wont be as good as last season)
    Derry (hard to call without Kenny there)
    Pats (some good signings, full of players not required by Rovers/Sligo at the end of the day)
    Shels (solid team, will be a nice battle with themselves, dunalk, monaghan)
    Dundalk
    Monaghan
    Bohemian (anyone of the bottom 4 could go down, although Drogs are a dead cert.)
    Bray
    UCD
    Drogheda

Quote Originally Posted by Dewie101 View Post
    Rovers (no key players lost, Twigg coming back to full fitness since 2010. strong signings made)
    Sligo (lost two of their best. Without Ryan they wont be as good as last season)
    Pats (some good signings, full of players not required by Rovers/Sligo at the end of the day)
    Dundalk
    Monaghan
    Bohemian (anyone of the bottom 4 could go down, although Drogs are a dead cert.)
    Bray
    UCD
    Drogheda
    No Cork?

67 Posts
    They also signed 2 of the best players available in North and Quigley

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by frenchman View Post
    pats, cork, shels (one on it's way down and the other two looking very good promoted teams)
    One on it's way down? How did you come to that conclusion??
    Here on a technicality.

on its way down from their european heights, (ie fahey, guy era)..........sorry should have pointed that out

445 Posts
    Fahey has been gone 3 seasons now. We have improved in the last 2 season on where we finished the season before that as well and got through 2 rounds of Europe last season
    Here on a technicality.

120 Posts
    Premier
    1. Shamrock Rovers
    2. Sligo Rovers
    3. Pat's
    4. Derry
    5. Cork
    6. Shels
    7. Drogheda
    8. Bohs
    9. Dundalk
    10. UCD
    11. Bray
    12. Mons

8-team Mini League
    1. Limerick
    2. Longford
    3. Athlone
    4. Waterford
    5. Mervue
    6. Harps
    7. Wexford
    8. STD

Dundalk
    Monaghan
    Bray
    UCD
    Drogheda
    Surely Sullivan,Murray Sheppard and Stevens were key players last year no?? Gartland is definitely a step up on Murray and Kavanagh and Brennan could be great signings but i think the loss of Sheppard could be key for ye if Twigg is misfiring/injured etc. Have ye signed a keeper yet?? Still think your squad is better than anybody elses but hopefully if we can hit the ground running(going to be made tougher now with all this stuff going on with cook)it will be a close run thing. Also think Pats will go close this year as theyve made decent signings but goals might be their only problem. Shels. Derry and Cork should be sloid if unspectacular while i think the bottom 6 will be a long way adrift and nearly any of the 6 teams could finish 7th or bottom.

120 Posts
    Dundalk
    Monaghan
    Bray
    UCD
    Drogheda
    No.
    Drogheda have a much stronger team than last year; they'll finish above Dundalk, Bohs, Bray and UCD.

Monaghan, on the other hand, will be doomed by August.

126 Posts
    Bottom two will be Monaghan and Bray IMO.

Apart from that and Shamrock being there or thereabouts, it's very difficult to predict the league this year I think until we've seen a few rounds of games. Certainly feel it'll be the most competitive in a long while.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast