Fook, 0-2 now...

2,284 Posts
    Bah! 2-0. Very poor from Clarke as he reacts slowly to a direct free-kick at a comfortable enough height. Got a hand to it but not enough to keep it out.

246 Posts
    Feck it.

2,284 Posts
    Well, that's that. Hannover go 3-0 up.

386 Posts
    Hannover have had one more attempt on target than Pats. Difference is they've scored from all 3

231 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ger121 View Post
    Hannover have had one more attempt on target than Pats. Difference is they've scored from all 3
    Pats had 2/3 good chances I `m not sure that if they had scored that Hanover would have had the ability to up a gear. Good ten- fifteen minute spell before Pats start of the second half when they should have scored.

Impressed by Fagan and by O`Connor and Bolger in the second half. A lot of posession given away too easilly by Pats. They stood off a far from impressive Hannover. If they had pressed them for the entire game as they did early in the second half they might have got something from the game.

Disappointing display by Forrester

I heard on the radio that the crowd was 4,000 +, if thats the case the "old" stand in Tallaght must hold 3,600 as there were about 400 Hanoverians in the far stand and no-one else.?

Saw a good few Bohs fans at the game.

136 Posts
    Impressed by Pats' possession football. Great to see an Irish team play that way. But they were lacking in defence and attack, and punished by the Germans. Clarke should have kept out the second goal.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    Pats had 2/3 good chances I `m not sure that if they had scored that Hanover would have had the ability to up a gear. Good ten- fifteen minute spell before Pats start of the second half when they should have scored.

Impressed by Fagan and by O`Connor and Bolger in the second half. A lot of posession given away too easilly by Pats. They stood off a far from impressive Hannover. If they had pressed them for the entire game as they did early in the second half they might have got something from the game.

Disappointing display by Forrester

I heard on the radio that the crowd was 4,000 +, if thats the case the "old" stand in Tallaght must hold 3,600 as there were about 400 Hanoverians in the far stand and no-one else.?

Saw a good few Bohs fans at the game.
    We were in the main stand (it holds 3300 in total) - some empty seats, but also plenty standing, so it was very near to full. We were wondering about the numbers too & did a reasonable headcount of the Hanover side - came up with a figure of at least 790 - so 4,000 in total sounds reasonable.
    (the Hanover side looked bare alright, but c.800 in a 2700 seat stand always will)
    http://trophymanager.com/?c=489688
    Trophy Manager - online football managment game - I like it - I think I'm getting obsessed with it though.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ger121 View Post
    That's just how it is at this level. You can huff and puff all you like but if you're not as clinical as your opponent, you'll end up losing more often of than not. And it has little to do with luck, or whatever people might call it. These teams get "lucky" because they have the ability to create their "luck". Irish teams are "unlucky" because they often need numerous more chances (and clear-cut ones at that) to actually hit the back of the net because, when it comes down to it, they aren't as good as their opponents.

In saying that, I do have to commend how Pat's played; very enjoyable to watch despite suffering a 0-3 loss.

246 Posts
    Undoubtedly all true Danny, but Christ what did people expect ? Hannover are at a different level to us and realistically were always going to win this game, and the tie. I think Pats did well. Yeah sure you can pick holes, and probably all the goals were avoidable, but as you say, that's what happens when you face superior opposition, you get punished for things you'd probably get away with in LOI games. I have to say, I've been very disappointed by some of the negative comments about Pats performance. At least we tried to play the game the right away by keeping the ball, unlike our National team in the Euros. And how did that work out again ?
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    Undoubtedly all true Danny, but Christ what did people expect ?
    Hey, I was being complementary. And just stating some facts while I was at it.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD
    I have to say, I've been very disappointed by some of the negative comments about Pats performance. At least we tried to play the game the right away by keeping the ball, unlike our National team in the Euros. And how did that work out again ?
    As a LOI side, if you want to beat the likes of Hannover, you have to learn how to play ugly and hold your own. You won't outpass them as they are better at keeping the ball.

Ireland at least got to the Euros. Fate gave Ireland both finalists in the group phase. Neither Ireland nor anyone else they faced could beat them. Somebody will beat Hannover though, well before the final.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    As a LOI side, if you want to beat the likes of Hannover, you have to learn how to play ugly and hold your own. You won't outpass them as they are better at keeping the ball.

Ireland at least got to the Euros. Fate gave Ireland both finalists in the group phase. Neither Ireland nor anyone else they faced could beat them. Somebody will beat Hannover though, well before the final.
    You don't have to surrender the ball to hold your own. They didn't command the ball either but they weren't as meek as Ireland. They did what Rovers did in Europe last year - they set themselves up to achieve some sort of parity in terms of possession so they weren't so tired they got picked off. Unfortunately, they let in two dreadful goals, much like Rovers did against the likes of Rubin, but that is down to individual error, not playing the wrong way.

445 Posts

Right lads, these are better than us so lets not pass the ball and just give it to them. THAT'S how will we will beat this lot.
    Here on a technicality.

185 Posts
    Pats found their level a few years ago and fair play to them
    beating teams in the 1st and 2nd round in the europa league, helped no doubt by finishing 3rd in the league every year.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Pats found their level a few years ago and fair play to them
    beating teams in the 1st and 2nd round in the europa league, helped no doubt by finishing 3rd in the league every year.
    They deserve the oppertunity of a pop at the Champions league next year. If we don't make it I would rather they will. Sligo won't be seeded anyway and there will be no easy opponents next year for those unseeded.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    I've been very disappointed by some of the negative comments about Pats performance. At least we tried to play the game the right away by keeping the ball, unlike our National team in the Euros. And how did that work out again ?
    Fair play to Pats, you have to be realistic regarding the gulf between the teams, it's huge.
    Having said that though the keeper was extremely poor for 2 of the goals.That won't help your cause when playing a team a few levels above you.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin
    You don't have to surrender the ball to hold your own. They didn't command the ball either but they weren't as meek as Ireland. They did what Rovers did in Europe last year - they set themselves up to achieve some sort of parity in terms of possession so they weren't so tired they got picked off.
    Ireland played the best teams with the best players in the world at the Euros. It's a struggle for most teams. Pats played a mid-table side from the German league. As good as they may be, they're not quite Bayern Munich in full flow.

That said, pragmatism has to take over at that level. If it means parking the bus and counter-attacking, that's what it takes. They can play their nice football against the Droghedas and Dundalks at home. At European level, results are everything.

56 Posts
    Ireland played the best teams with the best players in the world at the Euros. It's a struggle for most teams. Pats played a mid-table side from the German league. As good as they may be, they're not quite Bayern Munich in full flow.
    Christy Fagan isn't quite Robbie Keane, Kevin Doyle or Shane Long, nor is Chris Forrester quite Aidan McGeady nor Conor Kenna quite Richard Dunne.

Comparisons have to go both ways.

622 Posts
    So how do people see the 2nd leg going, kind of worried they'll get hockeyed even if they play relatively well.

Page 55 of 58 FirstFirst ... 5455354555657 ... LastLast