Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: John Egan (D Sheffield Utd b.1992)

1,084 Posts
    Lovely finish
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 06/07/2020 at 12:52 PM. Reason: Embedded tweet

3,281 Posts
    Egan has now scored in all four divisions in England, and the League Cup.

476 Posts
    I know this is akin to blasphemy. But Egan is a better player then duffy.

601 Posts
    So we have a new prolific goalscorer on our hands - two in two for Egan with a thunderous header in the dying seconds to win it against Wolves: https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/53283261

707 Posts
    Our defenders are now beating our forwards 11-7 in terms of Premier League goalscoring this season.

708 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Diggs246 View Post
    His club form seems to suggest he's at least currently playing better. I haven't seen much of Egan. Is there any reason to think he and Duffy wouldn't be a good partnership?

206 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    His club form seems to suggest he's at least currently playing better. I haven't seen much of Egan. Is there any reason to think he and Duffy wouldn't be a good partnership?
    Considering some of the partnerships we've had (even if only for a game or two) Egan and Duffy, and I've watched almost every Sheffield United game this season (they really have to scrap for their points, poor lads)....can't see any problems there.

With Wilder in situ and Egan and Stevens developing as they are (logic-defying quickly), and Egan being just 27, I think in the near future he'll be good enough to throw in, say, Dara O'Shea alongside him and Egan nurture him or whoever else, as an also added bonus.

Or just come to terms that we have finally found Gary Dohertys replacement and run out in the street and rejoice.

There's plenty of scenarios. All good.

476 Posts
    No but if one was to be dropped or suspended I would prefer it to be duffy

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    824 Posts
    Think Egan is by far our most under rated player. Hes taken to the Premiership so easily. Rarely gets the headlines or people raving about his performances but he is consistently very good.

I had dismissed him as just another journeyman, but hes just 27 so could still have a decent premiership career ahead of him. Definitely our 1st choice center back at the moment.

1,084 Posts
    I hate speaking so crudely given how great the Sheffield United project is and how he has prospered with them but I note he is on £7.5k a week per a couple of websites- well below PL average. I wonder if he would be tempted for a nice contract on multiples of that elsewhere. Maybe Sheffield United will start handing out improved deals instead.

547 Posts
    Would he be Irish Captain Material if he keeps going as he is ? ?

19. Thanks From:

547 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Olé Olé View Post
    I hate speaking so crudely given how great the Sheffield United project is and how he has prospered with them but I note he is on £7.5k a week per a couple of websites- well below PL average. I wonder if he would be tempted for a nice contract on multiples of that elsewhere. Maybe Sheffield United will start handing out improved deals instead.
    I hope the Bonus system is good. If that is accurate that is very low wages for the level he is playing at now !

1,084 Posts
    Basing it on the following link (not sure on reliability) : https://www.spotrac.com/epl/sheffiel...C2%A3390%2C000.

Egan said in March that he was in talks for improved terms but I haven't seen anything since.

206 Posts
    Great to see a professional player not obsessed with getting the most amount of money possible.
    It saddens me there isn't more like that but I think it shows how tight-knit Sheffield United and how they have all bought into the thing.
    250000k a week to sit on a bench or 10 grand to score two in two and become a hero....

Or maybe his agent is very lazy. I prefer the first theory.

114 Posts
    He'll get a nice new deal soon from Sheffield United. It's in both their best interests for him to stay there because he's thriving in their system.

I wouldn't be surprise if he's not on huge money there. He was playing League 1 just four years ago and Sheffield United were in the same league just 5 years ago. I doubt anybody there is on massive money just yet. The new deal will come and it'll be well deserved!

25. Thanks From:

620 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Diggs246 View Post
    Preach brother Diggs, preach!
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

620 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Think Egan is by far our most under rated player. Hes taken to the Premiership so easily. Rarely gets the headlines or people raving about his performances but he is consistently very good.

I had dismissed him as just another journeyman, but hes just 27 so could still have a decent premiership career ahead of him. Definitely our 1st choice center back at the moment.
    His career got thrown into chaos with the broken leg. It set the career trajectory back completely, even if it didn't set him back completely.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

2,595 Posts
    Signed an extension with the Blades until 2024.

https://www.balls.ie/football/john-e...y-video-445121

29. Thanks From:

476 Posts
    Fair play to him. My understanding is this is the life changing contract. His last one was poor as per football standards

31. Thanks From:

707 Posts
    There was talk he was on less than £10k a week up to now, the new contract is well deserved.

33. Thanks From:

Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast