Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: gary shaw has signed for longford

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Albatross View Post
    This is the nearest thing I can find to up-to-date info, its from Extratime.ie

Bray Wanderers

IN:

OUT:
    Gary Dempsey (Waterford United)
    Gary Shaw (Longford Town)
    Conor Murphy (Monaghan United)
    Chris Shields (Dundalk)
    Danny O Connor (Retired)
    Derek Prendagast (Drogheda)
    Darren Quigley ( Released)
    Jake Kelly (Shamrock Rvrs)
    Graham Kelly (Released)
    Dane Massey (Released)

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain2007 View Post
    Chris Shields (Dundalk)
    Danny O Connor (Retired)
    Derek Prendagast (Drogheda)
    Darren Quigley ( Released)
    Jake Kelly (Shamrock Rvrs)
    Graham Kelly (Released)
    Dane Massey (Released)

Are these confirmed?

I'm not going to mince my words, it's a disaster if they are.

Why are we releasing good players? Whatever about others getting better offers from other clubs.
    Why release Massey and Quigley??
    We are now down 4 centre midfielders - Shields, Kelly, O Connor, Dempsey!!

I cant understand how things could be this bad - we had a small budget this year and managed to keep a good squad paid - so why can we not afford to keep even half of them?? Beggars belief really.

There are also good players available and we are missing out - Mulcahy, Pender, McMillans from Pats!

I heard Quigley was staying because its easy for work and he does his keeper training school in the Carlisle.Not to sure who i heard it from but it wasn't that long ago.http://wanderersweekly.blogspot.com/...-for-bray.html not to sure how reliable but two confirmed new signings although it is just more young players and it says most of last years squad so at least were not completely rebuilding.

62 Posts
    Lads Shields and Shane O'Neill have just been announced as signings for us, what's your opinions on them?

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dillonman View Post
    Lads Shields and Shane O'Neill have just been announced as signings for us, what's your opinions on them?
    Both very good players, in my opinion. O'Neill has a good touch, and will run around a lot, although unless he's bulked up over the last 6 months, he'll be pushed off the ball quite easily. He'll also probably spend half of every season on the treatment table.

Shields isn't the most skillful, or that creative, but he's good in the air, and will run his nuts off. I've always thought he was better at centre mid than up front, but with Shaw out injured, Devo seemed to like him as a sort of a target man to play alongside Kelly, Mulroy, O'Neill, or most often Murphy up front.

Sorry to see both of them go

At last some better news, Quigley signs back with bray..

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Fox View Post
    Why are we releasing good players? Whatever about others getting better offers from other clubs.
    Why release Massey and Quigley??
    We are now down 4 centre midfielders - Shields, Kelly, O Connor, Dempsey!!

I cant understand how things could be this bad - we had a small budget this year and managed to keep a good squad paid - so why can we not afford to keep even half of them?? Beggars belief really.

There are also good players available and we are missing out - Mulcahy, Pender, McMillans from Pats!
    Truth is we don't have 2 shilling's to rub together, Bray as a club are financially f*****, those player's you mention are good players but will not play for nothing.....and that's it in a nutshell basically.....we will have a team next year unfortunately it will not be a very good one.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dillonman View Post
    Dillonman, two decent signings Chris Shields has a great work ethic and is versatile and his best years are ahead of him, Shane is probably one of the quickest strikers in the league unfortunately does not read the game or score enough goals but he is still learning and has time to improve..hope they do well for ye.

This is everything that I could find that has been confirmed so far:

IN:
    Jonathan Kelly (Arklow Town)
    Adam Hanlon (Arklow Town)

RESIGNED:
    Marty Waters
    Brain Kane
    Daire Doyle
    Darren Quigley

OUT:
    Gary Dempsey (Waterford United)
    Derek Prendergast (Drogheda United)
    Conor Murphy (Monaghan United)
    Gary Shaw (Longford Town)
    Ryan Coombes (St. Patrick's Athletic)
    Chris Shields (Dundalk)
    Shane O'Neill (Dundalk)

24 Posts
    Has Prendergast definitely gone to Drogheda ? Nothing on their web site about it.

60 Posts
    From Bray Wanderers Facebook page:

Bray Wanderers are pleased to announce that the following players have signed for the club for the 2012 season:

Darren Quigley
    Brian Kane
    Daire Doyle
    Colm Tresson
    Kieran Marty Waters
    Shane O Connor
    Dean Zambra
    Graham Kelly
    Stephen Brennan
    David Webster
    Conor Butler
    John Mulroy
    Pierce Sweeney
    All you zombies tweet tweet tweet.

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Seagull View Post
    From Bray Wanderers Facebook page:

Bray Wanderers are pleased to announce that the following players have signed for the club for the 2012 season:

Darren Quigley
    Brian Kane
    Daire Doyle
    Colm Tresson
    Kieran Marty Waters
    Shane O Connor
    Dean Zambra
    Graham Kelly
    Stephen Brennan
    David Webster
    Conor Butler
    John Mulroy
    Pierce Sweeney
    Tresson as a regular starter aged 43? Because that's the way it's looking!

38 Posts
    Fair play to the lads above, more interested in the Jersey than the money, don't think Daz, Daire or Brennan (sicknote) have too many more miles on the clock,Pat will need a miracle to keep us in the Premier Div with this squad.
    Club should make a statement on what is actually going on with the Board, very frustrating for the supporters who they are expecting to purchase season tickets.

Yes indeed - fair play to these players. They may not be all the exact players that we had hoped would stay but at least they have nailed their colours to the mast in difficult times. Hopefully more will follow suit soon. I wonder is all lost with Mitchell, Massey and Prendergast yet. Nothing has been announced about Jake Kelly either despite Rovers announcing signings in recent days. Personally I think that it would be a bad move for him as he is very unlikely to be playing regularly. Has Danny definitely retired?

Great to see Quigley resigning.
    Dont be too despondant yet - if we get a few more bodies in, will UCD, Drogheda, Bohs and Monaghan be that much better than us??
    Waters also looked very promising at the end of the season and am delighted that we held on to him!

Quote Originally Posted by The Fox View Post

Great to see Quigley resigning.
    Dont be too despondant yet - if we get a few more bodies in, will UCD, Drogheda, Bohs and Monaghan be that much better than us??
    Waters also looked very promising at the end of the season and am delighted that we held on to him!
    It would be great to get Massey,Mitchell and Danny O Connor sign back with bray,, all is not that bad, the only real loss is Dempsey and lesser Shields,, could Graham Kelly or Brennan not fill the Dempsey roll... we have to build around the players that are staying, and there is a good core of experienced players there to do this..

Quote Originally Posted by naoise kennedy View Post
    could Graham Kelly or Brennan not fill the Dempsey roll...
    To be honest, I don't think anyone we could afford could fill the Dempsey roll to his standard.

I thought Breannan was a Right Back?

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ahmcd View Post
    To be honest, I don't think anyone we could afford could fill the Dempsey roll to his standard.

I thought Breannan was a Right Back?
    Playing Brennan right-back in the FAI cup semi-final v Fingal cost us dearly didn't have the pace to handle Kirby who destroyed him, definitely can play a role in Mid-Field (holding in front of centre-backs) very good reader and passer and can dictate the play, only hope he can be fit as he has been injured every season since he signed for us.
    I agree with u that Dempsey will be difficult to replace, although last years starting 11 has been decimated,it is going to be a long season of suffering, that squad we have currently would struggle in the 1st Div.

Kevin knight signs back with bray...left midfield or defense..

Bray Wanderers are pleased to announce the signing of two more players ahead of the 2012 season.

19 year old Adam Hanlon and 20 year old Jonathan Kielty join from Leinster Senior League side Arklow Town.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast