Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: The Emigration Thread

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudulika View Post
    PS, it's better than the "celtic tiger" - first of all, we're not celts, Ireland is not celtic, and tiger - an endangered species only found in european zoos. Given a choice between boom and celtic tiger, I'd go for the former. But bubble is probably more appropriate.
    Please!!!

398 Posts
    Sorry amigo, this is what UCD does to a person! Use celtic or celt as you will, sure it's all for the craic anyway :-)

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudulika
    It depends on the Dub MK :-) Emigration is easier for everyone now as home is just a flight away.
    Home was always just a flight away, ever since the 50's.

A lot don't come home. You can't blame them tbh, with the state the country is in. The economy is 100% foreign owned, and run by brown envelopes.

If you're on the European mainland, you can hop and skip from country to country as needs be, and you don't necessarily need flights to get by. You just need documentation and languages mainly. Here you're stuck on a rock, and the only way in and out to 95% of other countries is flights, and expensive ones at that.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

473 Posts
    One thing I've noticed since being over here is the difference in reaction to my accent. Most of the time people seem grand about it, but if you do something wrong, things regress to the 1950s, and you're suddenly a thick Paddy. I've seen this more and more the further south I go, until in some parts near London, you'd be better off with leprosy than any sort of an accent. Has anybody else noticed this?

I emigrated a year and a half ago with my boyfriend. I had a secure job teaching but he was out of work for 18months and it was not a good time for us. So, I took a career break and we left for Thailand. Absolutely love it. It's tough seeing family and friends so little, but the country is amazing and our standard of living is miles above what we'd have at home. The main thing though is the atmosphere. Even at home over Xmas, it's just all a bit depressing. Here, it's all sun and smiles most of the time.

The language is very tough and I haven't learned anywhere near enough, I have the basics to get by but that's about it.

We're gonna move on elsewhere next year. It's not so bad for us, as we are here by choice really. Also, I have my job to go back to once I return within 5 years.....but it's hard to even think about going back at the minute.

I guess we'll go back then, see if we can cope, and if not head away again.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls
    The main thing though is the atmosphere. Even at home over Xmas, it's just all a bit depressing. Here, it's all sun and smiles most of the time.
    People get out of here every Christmas to get some much needed sun and smiles. They love it.

At least they get their sun at Christmas, it's nice, warm, and pleasant. 2 years ago, we were stuck in gridlock from several inches of snow. That's depressing.

Ten Years Not Out

176 Posts
    Two years after MOL branded Lisbon No voters as "unemployed dole scroungers", he has given them another kick by backing Noonan's call that "emigration is a lifestyle choice". And people wonder why we're called "thick Paddies" in some countries?

10 years ago, most people didn't emigrate as there was work here. People went to America or Australia for short trips and experience. Now they're going for work. They have mouths to feed and bills to pay. Unable to find work here, they have to go somewhere else to do it, and it's time those in secure jobs here realised that.

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Two years after MOL branded Lisbon No voters as "unemployed dole scroungers", he has given them another kick by backing Noonan's call that "emigration is a lifestyle choice". And people wonder why we're called "thick Paddies" in some countries?
    MOL is an arse, and he like the media has taken Noonan's comments out of context. I would've thought people getting worked up about one bit of comment, without the context being known, is more damage to the national image to be honest.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    MOL is an arse, and he like the media has taken Noonan's comments out of context.
    Has anyone got a link of what Noonan actually said?

Emigration is a lifestyle choice for some people; that's an uncontroversial, incontrovertible fact.

335 Posts

Emigration is a lifestyle choice for some people; that's an uncontroversial, incontrovertible fact.
    yeah but not for over 120,000 and growing!!!!!!!!!!

1,825 Posts
    http://www.examiner.ie/breakingnews/...ce-536615.html
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

398 Posts
    Noonan is a tool, pure and simple. MOL is a clever publicity using businessperson who knows how to get what he wants.

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    yeah but not for over 120,000 and growing!!!!!!!!!!
    For some it is. I know tradespeople that were tipping away here ok in the scheme of things, but have gone for the bigger bucks abroad. I don't consider that as being forced out. If you asked them or they're families they'd be saying "no work", but in some cases it's in comparison to the rates that they could command in the bubble.

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    For some it is. I know tradespeople that were tipping away here ok in the scheme of things, but have gone for the bigger bucks abroad. I don't consider that as being forced out. If you asked them or they're families they'd be saying "no work", but in some cases it's in comparison to the rates that they could command in the bubble.
    Well i can only talk about my own situation and that of my wife, if we stayed in ireland i would be out of work and my wife would be on a much reduced salary.
    Do you not realise that there are feck all jobs in Ireland?????

But your situation is your own. Some have a choice, others don't. There was always emigration from Ireland, and always will be

Politicians and business men will be as selective as they can to suit their agenda

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Do you not realise that there are feck all jobs in Ireland?????
    Sure I hadn't noticed... Noonan's point was that for some it is a lifestyle choice. He is right, for some it is, but for others it's a last resort.

335 Posts
    Yeah doh that is obvious, but you cant argue that the numbers leaving the country are very high at the moment, and my situation is replicated all over the place. I know many Irish abroad that would just love to be home, myself included, but we cant.
    Whatever he meant the current situation makes it sound very crass imho

3,488 Posts
    Thanks.

Don't have a problem with what he's said. Unfortunately, the nature of politics is that making the other side look bad comes before actually doing anything constructive, so it was an easy thing for FF to latch on to. And so cue hysteria amongst people who haven't actually read what was said.

335 Posts
    Ireland must be doing great so, is it

3,488 Posts
    Of course the country's not doing great. I don't see what that has to do with anything though?

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast