Thread: FIFA called in to settle FAI dispute

55 Posts

FIFA called in to settle FAI dispute

By Ciaran O'Raghallaigh

Monday December 19 2011

FIFA has been called to settle a dispute between the Irish and Scottish football associations after it emerged that the heavily indebted FAI owes the SFA €1.4m.

The sum due to the Scots, dating back to last summer's Carling Nations Cup tournament, remains unpaid and after the FAI missed last week's payment deadline set by the SFA, Hampden Park chiefs have decided to call in the world governing body.

SFA chief executive Stewart Regan has made repeated efforts to resolve the situation, but with none forthcoming, the matter has been referred to a FIFA Arbitration Panel.

Sources close to the Scottish chief said attempts to contact FAI counterpart John Delaney, in a bid to settle the matter privately, have been unsuccessful.

It is understood the FAI are waiting for payments relating to their Euro 2012 qualification to land in their bank account before settling the outstanding debt with the Scots.

Neither the FAI nor the SFA would comment on the issue when contacted last night.

The FAI are burdened with substantial debt as part of their commitment to the Aviva Stadium.

Delaney said earlier this year that the association owes €50m to the banks.

Poor sales of 10-year tickets left the FAI well short of projections, but Delaney insists the FAI will be debt-free by 2020.

Qualifying for next summer's finals was a big boost to Abbotstown chiefs, but cost-cutting measures have continued in recent months.

A substantial chunk of the €8m figure for making a major tournament will be eaten up by bonuses and expenses.

Delaney hoped to stage a money-spinning friendly with England before the competition, but the English FA have delayed a promised visit until a later date.

- Ciaran O'Raghallaigh

http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...e-2967329.html

401 Posts
    Embarrasing as hell.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

999 Posts
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/16246065.stm

The Football Associations of Ireland and Wales and the Irish Football Association want to reduce the Carling Nations Cup fee due to the Scottish FA.

However the FAI, IFA and FAW hope to avoid involving Fifa in resolving the dispute.

In a joint statement, the three bodies said they had "been in negotiations with the Scottish FA seeking a downward adjustment of their fee".

They added that this was "to give a more equitable share of the profits".

The joint-statement from the FAI, IFA and FAW was released in response to media reports that the SFA was considering reporting the FAI to Fifa over the non-payment of £1.2m, the fee agreed for Scotland's participation.

The statement added: "The competition...returned a profit derived from television rights, sponsorship and ticket sales.

"It is disappointing that this matter has come into the public arena while the four associations are still trying to reach agreement.

"The FAI, IFA and FAW will not be making any further comment to give proper space for those discussions to take place."

The SFA told the Press Association that "private discussions are ongoing".

622 Posts
    I bet the Indo loved reporting that. It's ridiculous that something like this came out into the public
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

55 Posts
    It wouldn't have if the FAI were stalling on what was promised before the tournament.

1,912 Posts
    The SFA just have to realise that it's not a "downward adjustment of their fee" but rather an "equitable share of the profits"

The FAI along with FAW and the IFA, should be applauded for their initiative in attempting to realise a rational distribution of the available funds.

Fair play to John Delaney for screwing them over. This is how he earns his mega salary, lads!

Seriously, put £1k behind the bar and this will all be sorted out in an evening.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Perhaps they will have to sell some players to Scotland, Lord knows they need them

51 Posts
    Can we just give them back James McCarthy to settle the debt?
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    The SFA just have to realise that it's not a "downward adjustment of their fee" but rather an "equitable share of the profits"
    We'd better hope the SFA don't produce a document with "guaranteed sum of....." on it.

I say "we", as I have reason to believe that the IFA are joint signatories to the "gaurantee" to the SFA.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

282 Posts
    Watch them kick us out of the Euros as punishment.
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

1,912 Posts
    I suspect the SFA went into this tournament on the basis of FAI promises, one of which was some recompense for bowing to the request not to play Alan Hutton.

Should the IFA not have €10k deducted from their cut for every goal they conceded, as a punishment for fielding a second & third string team?

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I suspect the SFA went into this tournament on the basis of FAI promises, one of which was some recompense for bowing to the request not to play Alan Hutton.
    What?
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

3,215 Posts
    Interesting that the FAW and IFA are rowing behind us. I can only assume they accepted the cut fee and are now fairly annoyed at the possibility that the SFA might get the full fee.

Looks like another nail in the coffin of the tournament though.

1,912 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    What?
    Shall I repeat myself?
    I suspect that the SFA went into this with a cast iron written contract, guaranteeing them a fortune.

They didn't mind playing us in a game but they would have wanted lumps of gold, as part of the contract, for playing the likes of NI and Wales in an empty stadium.

I heard some Scottish reporter on RTE saying that the the SFA never want to take part in the tournament. They were only convinced to do so after signing up to terms/ details by the other associations. He seemed to think that a specific amount was agreed and that the SFA have a legal agreement to receive that amount.

Delaney thought that people would buy 10 year season tickets, so I can well believe that he thought the tournament would have at least a decent turnout. Certainly enough to guarantee the SFA an set amount if thats what it took to get them on board.

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Fair play to John Delaney for screwing them over
    Give him enough time and he'll screw them all over!

1,813 Posts
    I find it hard to believe that there was an implicit guarantee without any caveats given to the SFA in any participation agreement with them. As incompetence is nascent in any dealings with the FAI you would have to think twice however as cashmoney is involved I reckon that the caveats were there.

You gotta love the sense of self importance that the SFA have as well.

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Looks like the SFA have a strong case here.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/foo...tions-Cup.html
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

282 Posts
    Perhaps Delaney did it on purpose to give himself the chance to do more interviews (televised, preferably) and perhaps right a book.
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here