Page 3 of 25 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: GUST apply for first division licence

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Only if we apply and get a premier license. Can't see Bohs not being in the premier next year despite their troubles.
    I really hope that we dont go up like that anyway.

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Maroon View Post
    GUST will be contacting everyone who purchased tickets to inform them of the options open to them.

Which are?

105 Posts
    Shamrock Rovers MK I

205 Posts
    Only if we apply and get a premier license. Can't see Bohs not being in the premier next year despite their troubles.
    What are the chances of getting Limerick getting a Premier licence?
    Last edited by L.T.F.C.; 14/12/2011 at 8:16 AM.
    Sporting F*ck All!

Quote Originally Posted by MagicMon View Post
    So extinct LOI teams since 2000:
    Cork City mkI
    I think it was Cork City MkII or MkIII, well certainly the 2nd or 3rd club to use the name anyway. I also think there was previous time that Rovers folded a holding company as well.

GUST could always go back to Galway Rovers...

Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    What are the chances of getting Limerick getting a Premier licence?
    Probably have a good chance if we can show we have the intention of moving into the Markets Field. Then the club can make a bigger push to speed up the move which has slowed down since we are still in the First Division. The first phase of developement should be enough to bring the Markets Field up to a premier licence standard.

Time is of the esence though. The longer we are left waiting the less and less likely it is we would be in a position to move I would think.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sean South View Post
    Shamrock Rovers MK I
    Wrong

Probably have a good chance if we can show we have the intention of moving into the Markets Field. Then the club can make a bigger push to speed up the move which has slowed down since we are still in the First Division. The first phase of developement should be enough to bring the Markets Field up to a premier licence standard.
    The plans should be enough for licencing. Drogs got away with United Park for years on the basis of the pie in the sky plans for their stadium tagged onto a shopping centre.

122 Posts
    The plot thickens...rumours of the current directors wanting to sell the name Galway United to Salthill Devon...for a euro

Rumours they'll loan the name to Nick Leeson, who'll split it up into derivatives and sell it on the Asian market.

Rumours put out to attempt to destabilise the formation of a community based and members owned club representing Galway city and county.

They'd be better off naming the new club Connacht to increase the potential support base of the club. There's a huge amount of people living in Galway with no interest in supporting Galway because they're from some other county. Also it would really **** off Sligo Rovers fans :P

Agreed ... but the converse of this is that a huge amount of tourists visit the city, and a percentage always visit Terryland. "United" also have a huge catchment area, there are 300,000 people living with an hour of the city. Supporters from South Mayo and Ennis often attend matches.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    I think it was Cork City MkII or MkIII, well certainly the 2nd or 3rd club to use the name anyway..
    2nd or 3rd Holding company to own the club. If you're equating holding companies going out of business with clubs doing so, most clubs have been out of business more than once.

Fair play to GUST, ballsy move. I'm sure it was a last resort. I'd assume that the Directors of Galway United, with the debts there, will have Ilittle choice but to (in the absence of an income stream) wind up the holding company which you'd hope would allow GUST to buy the club back through legal channels.

Quote Originally Posted by gufc2000 View Post
    The plot thickens...rumours of the current directors wanting to sell the name Galway United to Salthill Devon...for a euro
    No sane director of a company in debt would undersell an asset for €1, it'd be negligent trading and they'd be in potentially more hot water than just having run up the debt.

288 Posts
    And yet they're still planning on applying for 2013!
    BS as usual from the directors. They have no intention of doing so and couldn't even if they wanted to. They walked away from the car crash they created before the end of the 2010 season. They told the manager and players not to deal with GUST on the one hand but directed employees and creditors to GUST for their money. GUST intervened at the 11th hour on a number of occasions in 2010 to save it from collapse, never mind in 2011.

Leeson writes to the FAI every month to remind them of the money he allegedly didn't pay himself during 2010. Considering how many unpaid creditors came to light on a weekly basis for a good part of this year, you'd have to wonder where it went (he says sarcastically).

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    I love the implication that somehow GUST, who have run the whole show for them for a year and provided massive help previous to that are somehow the bad guys in this, rather than the idiots who ran the club into the ground.

It's almost as if there is some sort of delusional person involved whose public pronouncements have little connection to reality and a tendency towards not telling the truth.
    Agree 100%. It really is a head scratcher...

64 Posts
    There is an online petition supporting GUST's license application here. http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/gust

great to see past players who are now plying their trade over in England signing the petition, thanks lads and ye'll never be forgotten.

21. Thanks From:

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    great to see past players who are now plying their trade over in England signing the petition, thanks lads and ye'll never be forgotten.
    And up the road in Sligo!

55 Posts

Morning Ireland

report on the meeting in the Claddagh Hall last nite aired this morning

Page 3 of 25 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast