446 Posts

399 Posts
    http://espnfc.com/uk/en/news/1073831...-shopping.html

James named in list of ten players who could earn a transfer with a good Euro showing, according to this article.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

199 Posts
    One for the Northern boys.

Is James' surname pronounced as its spelt Mac Clean or is it pronounced Mac Clane (as in Bruce Willis Die Hard)?
    Two mates of mine were having this argument last night in the pub and I didn't know myself.... It's not a surname we get in Connacht

The latter, confirmed by the man himself.

2,284 Posts
    The pronunciation is derived from the Scots Gaelic 'Mac Gille Eathain'.

199 Posts
    Cheers lads

I've penned a few songs for the Euros and included a James McClean song...

There is the radio version which goes like this....

He wouldn't sing god save the queen
    McClean McClean
    So he told the north they could keep their team
    McClean McClean
    But now he plays for the Boys in Green
    He always chants Amhrán na bhFiann
    Jame McClean..Derrys Golden Boy

The non radio version is on this link...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=oModUb-NbdI

I've never know a football crowd not to enjoy the odd curse word so I hope people are not easily offended!

My only reason for writing them is so we are not singing (as much as I like it) 'Come on You Boys in Green' for the whole tournament!

See what ye think and......Come on Ireland!!!
    “I’d always play Pirlo but Trapatoni says his first concern is to avoid losing goals. The truth is that we didn’t know what we were doing out there" Gennaro Gattuso, June 2004.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LFCSixty/Eighty View Post
    I've penned a few songs for the Euros and included a James McClean song...

There is the radio version which goes like this....

He wouldn't sing god save the queen
    McClean McClean
    So he told the north they could keep their team
    McClean McClean
    But now he plays for the Boys in Green
    He always chants Amhrán na bhFiann
    Jame McClean..Derrys Golden Boy

The non radio version is on this link...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=oModUb-NbdI

I've never know a football crowd not to enjoy the odd curse word so I hope people are not easily offended!

My only reason for writing them is so we are not singing (as much as I like it) 'Come on You Boys in Green' for the whole tournament!

See what ye think and......Come on Ireland!!!
    It's a shame McClean doesn't rhyme with any of those words though. :P

Unless you sing it in a Belfast accent... Maybe...
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

711 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    It's a shame McClean doesn't rhyme with any of those words though. :P

Unless you sing it in a Belfast accent... Maybe...
    Some of the rougher Dublin accents too.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts

McClean should of started.

78.00 Mins McClean cleverly cuts out a Spanish pass, yes!!!
    A pass from a Spaniard who was under no pressure is cut out by McClean!!
    So why didn't he start?
    Last edited by tricky_colour; 15/06/2012 at 1:12 AM.

2,611 Posts
    Should *have* started.

621 Posts
    80.12 McClean forces a classy Spanish player into making a pass back to the goal keeper.
    Yes, for a few minutes I wonder had the teams swapped shirts because The Spanish were looking
    like the Irish and the Irish (one of) were looking like the Spanish!!

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Should *have* started.
    Yes he definitely should of - glad someone agrees with me!!

621 Posts
    82.26 Spain have a corner, 6 Irish player in the box, and 1 (unmarked!!) Spanish player, the Irish seem to me marking the penalty spot.

3 Irish player in view outside the penalty box, and 2 Spanish, only one Spanish players, one marked the other isn't.

Corner is made to the unmarked Spanish player in the box who says thank you very much and hammers it into the back of the net.

So there you have it, schoolboy defending you might say but I have never seen a team of schoolboys defend that badly.

I thinks some said that on RTE that Paul Green was culpable for that goal but of course basically the whole team was.

How we managed to keep it to 4 is a miracle!!

Just ridiculous. Again the fundamental problem is we do not mark players, no, we appear to have a far more sophisticated system then that!!

It really is quite staggering!!

48 Posts
    It was ridiculous the first time you suggested this and it's still ridiculous. There is no combination of Ireland's 23 man squad that could have dealt with that Spanish team. McClean would have fared no better than Duff or McGeady, and, most likely, would have fared worse. Duff in particular was making tackles back in his own box.

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Serb View Post
    It was ridiculous the first time you suggested this and it's still ridiculous. There is no combination of Ireland's 23 man squad that could have dealt with that Spanish team. McClean would have fared no better than Duff or McGeady, and, most likely, would have fared worse. Duff in particular was making tackles back in his own box.
    Yes there is!!!

IF I were in the team we would be better for a start!!

I would have said to the other 6 Irish defender, "Look mind if I go and mark that Spanish guy over there while you have a chin wag?", even if they said no I would have marked him anyway.

I would have stood between him and the goal, when he started running toward the corner I would have gone with him, that might have stopped the attempted pass, if it didn't he would at least be under pressure and the chances of him turning, slim to none existent (even now).
    In my younger days I would have got to the ball first!!

Then after that the commentator says "Green doesn't react near post", well of course if he had been marking the guy, as *someone of the six* should have been, it would not have
    been a case if reacting, you are already in the right place.

It was not ridiculous the first time I said it, it was bang on correct, as it was every time I said it. What is ridiculous is your apparent belief in a system of defence which is totally ineffective against any team with half a brain.

Even totally unfit people who had never played football before could have made a better job of it. Our defence revolves around parking the bus and anyone with half a brain can see it is
    easy to go round the bus.

Even as the player makes his run one or two players point to him as if to say he is unmarked!! I guess they would not see him until l he started moving or something like that!!

Have you even looked at the goal I referred to?

621 Posts
    Here it is

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IeGLnJBnVzY

Pause on 7 seconds. Look at the "marking" or rather lack thereof. It really is bazarre!!

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    581 Posts
    That's utterly shocking.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

621 Posts
    85.14 McClean wins the ball by getting where he should be, between the player and the goal.
    He then goes past 2 players before hoofing it up-field. Spain get the ball but try another attack but have to regroup
    as he has driven their players away from our goal!!
    They end up kicking it around their half like a bunch of eejits!!
    86.22 again he get's the ball, under pressure from to Spanish, but he does not back pass, he carefully hoofs it up the field and
    out of play, putting to an end and hopes Spain have of getting another scoring chance.
    Throw in is taken but Spain have been pushed back, they try their luck the other side, by now weary of McClean but they had
    so many player tied up by McClean it comes to nowt.

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    That's utterly shocking.
    It is isn't it? I player basically beats the whole team single handedly because nobody even notices him before the ball is basically in the back of the net.

Sure you wouldn't even see that (wait for it)...in the League of Ireland!!