I would be more optimistic SR, although it will take a long time for some of the slower learners on both sides of the political divide here.
I think Her Majesty's visit to the Garden Of Remembrance in Dublin last year, and the visit of The Taoiseach and The Tánaiste to Remembrance Day Services in Northern Ireland on Sunday example how mutual respect can be shown and built upon.
There is much in our shared history to reconcile us, and I hope that can be explored in greater detail.
The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
And this is what we sang...
The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
And this is what we sang...
I accept in general terms that my opinions might be wrong, and I'm definitely open to changing them but as I said, at the moment, I'm convinced that the specific opinions I hold are right. That's sort of the dictionary definition. If you don't believe it, then it's not your opinion.
The problem isn't believing that your opinion is right, the problem is believing that it can't be wrong.
You sound like a man talking from experience there geysir.
Indeed. He was determined to sling the ball in the box at every opportunity but his crossing was poor, at least in the first half when I was watching.
Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?
Isn't debating - which you've asked me to do - a matter of convincing others of the accuracy of your opinions versus another opinion? It's not fundamentalism at all, it's just life. Either way, I don't know how different I am to most other people in the real world, never mind this forum.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
FFS, you don't half bleed something to death do you? Didn't I already admit that I didn't understand that the poppy had been hijacked over there by a bunch of nutters and therefore could somewhat more easily understand James' position? Im not the type of poster who's afraid to hold his hands up and be corrected. That said, I stand by my original general sentiments that controversy seems to follow McClean and if it doesn't stop or if he doesnt just wind his neck in a little bit, he'll find himself as a footnote sooner rather than later. Whether his opinions are right or wrong!
Last edited by SkStu; 15/11/2012 at 1:16 AM.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
That trait came in very handy when he wrote his dissertation on player eligibility, I'll have you know.
It hasn't been hijacked by nutters. It's simply that the wearing of the poppy has become more or less ubiquitous in Britain and as such any refusal to wear one attracts significant comment. The reasons for McClean's refusal are obvious, as was stated earlier in the thread. The reasons for the poppy's ubiquity, are for another thread.
Last edited by The Fly; 15/11/2012 at 2:09 AM.
Lads,
You know you are testing Tets' sanity by continuing this debate, he has even tried to steer this thread back onto football!
Last edited by The Fly; 15/11/2012 at 1:53 AM.
Some very interesting discussion in James' thread of late! But aren't opinions mere subjective statements of belief or interpretations of a personal perception of the truth/facts determined by one's perspectives and dependent on individual circumstances? They can't be right and wrong, by definition/nature (à la statements of fact, which will always have been true at some point); just different and diverse, surely, with all being as valid as the next? The words "right" and "wrong" bear no meaning when it comes to opinions. When an opinion is accurate, it is no longer an opinion, but a fact, no?
Philosophically-speaking, of course.
OK, OK... Controversy does appear to follow young James around, but let's not lazily hold him responsible for all of it before we properly understand the nature and primary cause of these episodes ourselves. That's akin to prejudice. You'll be happy to hear I'll leave it at that. For now...![]()
Last edited by DannyInvincible; 15/11/2012 at 8:41 AM.