I'm not looking at it from a black and white view, I'm looking at from different angles. IMO, the days of the Troubles are over. That's why we have the Peace Process, The Good Friday Argeement and Power Sharing. I don't see the point in being bitter towards the British government or the Royal family. For me it's better to work together and teach young people about the past so we don't repeat it. Show then that despite the horrible past we can move forward together and build a better future. That's just my views and beliefs.
James McClean has his and that's fine. I don't agree with him. He views GSTQ and the Union Jack and symbols of an oppressive state that terrorized his homeland. I can understand that. At the same time I realize that GSTQ and the Union Jack means everything to them. The homes, family etc. So I can understand how they'll feel insulted. Surely people understand that?
http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...-31392538.html
Tony Pulis tells him he has to face the flag like everyone else.
Last edited by GypsyBlackCat; 21/07/2015 at 2:21 PM.
Jaysus it made the huffington post!
http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2015...n_7830658.html
No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.
Firstly, I think he could have stayed facing the flag and just looked down, like the NI lads did in Danny's photo. It would have been far more discrete and I don't think anybody could have rationally accused him of anything, on either side. That said, it's his call really, if he felt uncomfortable facing it he was under no real obligation to do so.
No doubt, it's almost as if he feels more of an obligation to his friends, neighbours, family members and ancestors than he does to some hot headed strangers with internet access or the British press.
I'm sure he does too, but he's not asking anybody to stand respectfully in front of a tricolour while Amhrán na bhFiann is banging out. He's simply refraining from doing the opposite.
James couldn't have put it better himself, well maybe...
Originally Posted by James McClean
Wait....he's NOT a terrorist?![]()
No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.
mcclean has not been any more disrespectful to the english flag than those who follow England and scrawl their towns and local pubs name across their flag. its probably the same people jumping up and down about this.
all a fuss over nothing.
You really can't help yourself, can you? Several people already pointed out that I may have missed the point a little bit before I had a greater sense of the bigger picture - I even acknowledged so myself. There is no need for you to chime in with a daft passive-aggressive jibe that doesn't contribute anything to the discussion.Thank God you responded to that before I saw it. You've saved me a suspension!![]()
God knows I think some of your missives are a little bit long-winded and out there, but I don't insult you.
Grow up.
http://www.theguardian.com/football/...-james-mcclean
Just out of interest, do the Italians, Spanish, French & Germans play their national anthems before their domestic cup finals?
Seriously, this is a total non-story. He didn't insult their flag or anthem. A slow news week.
It is a none story really, he is as entitled to his opinion as anyone else, I mean this is West Brom ffs not North Korea.
I understand that. But he is under obligation to stand and face the flag when representing West Brom, as Tony Pulis stated yesterday
Respect is a two way street, if you want people to respect your views you have to respect theirs. Maybe he was maybe he wasn't. But from the pictures it did look like he was making a point and insulting the flag and anthem. I can see both points of views.“I had a chat with him and explained what we do as a football club and the way we are and I think he’s fine with everything.“He’s got to turn towards the flag like everybody else has and he recognises that. He thought he was OK to close his eyes and put his head down in respect of both anthems.
The matter has been handle brilliantly by Pulis. He didn't slated the player but made it clear where the club stands on this. He also gave the old 'He's not a bad lad' gem. And now the matter is put to bed.
Hopefully. Complete drivel in the media, on all sides.
Interesting that a writer from the Daily Telegraph stands up for McLean http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/foo...-offended.html
Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.
It seems to me like Pulis isn't even remotely fussed about the whole thing but realised he had to say something. He said James understands, relatively safe in the knowledge that this situation may never even present itself again, while McClean is a West Brom player or while he's managing at the club. I find it kind of hard to believe McClean, for all his principles, would just say, "oh right boss, I didn't realise it was insulting not to face the flag, I will in future". He really should have just faced it in the first place if he's that uncommitted to his stance.
I can only think of it in the terms of somebody doing the same to the tricolour over here. I don't think I'd be even slightly offended, especially if, as recently as last November, they documented their views in the public domain in a very respectful way.
I still think he should have probably faced the flag though overall, but I don't really think it was all that disrespectful, more unnecessarily drawing attention to himself.
Martin Johnson did something like that during an Six Nations game. I didn't find it offensive but it was disrespectful. I think Johnson was more of an ar$e than politic statement.
I'd imagine Pulis wants to keep what happened in house. He might of had a chat to him or he might have gave him the hairdryer treatment. I think he was more annoyed that the player let him down. He put some faith in McClean and then this thing blew up and he's getting attention for all the wrong reasons. I wouldn't say it was a 'rebuke'. But it's dealt with now.
Think that link's already up on here?
Tony Pulis: 'He’s got to turn towards the flag like everybody else has and he recognises that. He thought he was OK to close his eyes and put his head down in respect of both anthems.'
Does that suggest McClean actually argued that what he did was his way of respecting the anthems () or does it mean 'just get through them'?
Last edited by osarusan; 22/07/2015 at 10:36 AM.
big shock here where the English team entirely refuse to face their flag and instead set up to do the conga...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0yV0SoeEDuk