Page 55 of 181 FirstFirst ... 545535455565765105155 ... LastLast
Results 1,081 to 1,100 of 3615

Thread: James McClean M Wrexham b.1989

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    162 Posts
    Come on lads, we could have had Pele at his peak in the team tonight and we still would have been trounced.

999 Posts
    What I saw of McClean was him receiving the ball twice, gathering pace and running at a Spanish player, only to be easily dispossessed both times.

he did some decent defensive stuff though.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    What I saw of McClean was him receiving the ball twice, gathering pace and running at a Spanish player, only to be easily dispossessed both times.

I noticed a distinct reluctance to pass him aswell.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants View Post
    I noticed a distinct reluctance to pass him aswell.
    I noticed a distinct inability to complete more than one or two passes in a row the entire match, from the entire team. I highly doubt the rest of the team were refusing to pass to him.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    Come on lads, we could have had Pele at his peak in the team tonight and we still would have been trounced.
    Were Spain really that good tonight though? Yes they played well but basically we gifted them the goals and possession all night so I am struggling to really evaluate how good they were.

Agreed. He had 10 minutes 'fresh' alongside team mates who had ran their legs off for 80 minutes already and against opposition who were strolling it. He had a couple of runs basically down blind alleys from all I can remember

Im too emotinally drained to try and evaluate those two performances now and where we go from here. Just gonna try and enjoy the last game and a bit of craic with the fans and worry about it before the WCQ's begin......
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

1,912 Posts

What I saw was McClean receiving the ball from McGeady (?), ran into a couple of Spanish players, blatantly failing to do what he should have done - pass the ball back to McGeady (?) who was waiting to receive it in a good position. The second time was similar, from Ward I think.
    He has the capacity to learn - I hope.

I'm not sure what's worse, Trap springing him 76 minutes gone in our second game, or people actually judging him and/or justifying leaving him off for so long, under such circumstances.

1,912 Posts
    It remains to be seen what positives come from McClean and what positives come from being put into that game which was totally lost at that stage.

Duff was thrown in as sub into the cauldron against Turkey in the play-off at Bursa. Afair, he did everything very tidy, it was not difficult to see that he would make the transition which came gradual over the course of the subsequent campaign.

118 Posts
    This is basically McClean in a nutshell, he almost gave away a penalty as well.

He's tied to us now. Hands off our boys IFA!!!

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts

He only had 10 minutes, he had to give it a go, he did go past 2 players taking the ball out of defence. He didn't have much
    space when he was up front to get a good run at them.

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    He's tied to us now. Hands off our boys IFA!!!
    You are more than welcome to him.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

2,284 Posts
    James McClean dubs his Euros experience a "shambles":

And no other journalist heard this? And he kept it to himself for 6 days?

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    And no other journalist heard this? And he kept it to himself for 6 days?
    They were my thoughts after reading it in the Gibson thread. Utterly bizarre.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    James McClean dubs his Euros experience a "shambles":

Do you have page 65?

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    Do you have page 65?
    Don't, sorry. As I said in the Gibson thread, I got the scan off Twitter.

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Don't, sorry. As I said in the Gibson thread, I got the scan off Twitter.
    Did you notice the Duff: "I can't walk away" at the top?

Also there is a bit more on his blog "Stephen Hunt angry & in tears as he storms out after Italy defeat, Darron Gibson considers future."

Not surprised Hunt was upset, he never got a run out at all.

I have a feeling trap will have to go.
    Last edited by tricky_colour; 25/06/2012 at 2:28 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    Did you notice the Duff: "I can't walk away" at the top?

Also there is a bit more on his blog "Stephen Hunt angry & in tears as he storms out after Italy defeat, Darron Gibson considers future."

Not surprised Hunt was upset, he never got a run out at all.

I have a feeling trap will have to go.

We had a chat with Hunt in Sopot before the Italy game and he told us he was promised that he would get a run. I'm sure there were several other similar cases.

Trappatoni made an absolute balls of this tournament. It's such a pity because I'd love to have seen us have a right go. Only 16 players used and we are getting hammered? You are having a laugh Trap.

2,627 Posts
    Although the article is a bit strange in terms of timing etc, the contents are believable. If this does lead to more withdrawals or omissions then I think Traps position will have become untenable. I personally believe it already is untenable.