Page 163 of 182 FirstFirst ... 63113153161162163164165173 ... LastLast
Results 3,241 to 3,260 of 3630

Thread: James McClean M Wrexham b.1989

2,081 Posts
    So why nominate GAA players at all then? And even if we are limiting it to international achievements, I still don't think McClean has any place there on the basis of, let's face it, one goal.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    So why nominate GAA players at all then? And even if we are limiting it to international achievements, I still don't think McClean has any place there on the basis of, let's face it, one goal.
    I guess RTÉ can nominate whoever they want. I'm not sure how that's decided or by whom, but I was just giving my own opinion in terms of what I would value more within the chosen field of candidates.

I'm just realising that the goal against Austria would have been outside the strict confines of the past year, seeing as it was last November. Still, I think a compelling argument can be made for James. I don't see his win as making a mockery of the award.

2,081 Posts
    I don't think a compelling argument is possible for McClean in terms of sporting performance or achievement in 2017. I'm sure all of the candidates and others that didn't make it love their counties & country, they're just not as vocal about it. He's not getting any extra points off me for wearing his heart on his sleeve (I'm sure he's devastated).

If he had done something really special then, yeah, I'd give extra weight to his specialised sport given its global audience/participation compared to GAA, but he didn't and therefore some of the Gaelic players' achievements are far more remarkable in my opinion. And obviously some of the candidates who actually became world champions in their respective fields. He has no place amongst them to my mind.
    Last edited by DeLorean; 17/12/2017 at 9:49 PM.

999 Posts
    EDIT: I keep editing/deleting posts, but I've finally decided what I want to say. When you look back at the last 10 years of the award, there was always some element of genuine success and achievement there, but not this time, not to anywhere near the same extent.

Aidan O'Brien just had an astonishing 2017. Winner of both British and Irish derbies, British and Irish St Legers, British and Irish 1000 and 2000 Guineas. In terms of group and grade 1 races, it was literally the most successful season in the history of the sport.

I know he won manager of the year award, but it seems a bit secondary and somehow doesn't quite suit the magnitude of his achievement.
    Last edited by osarusan; 17/12/2017 at 10:48 PM.

James has that quality a Politician needs to gather Votes . He may be Taoiseach or President some day .

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    779 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    He would be an Ideal Candidate to be A Sinn Fein First Minister and later a possible Taoiseach .
    I think we're a long way from ever having a Sinn Fein Minister, let alone Taoiseach.

As regards the vote, the GAA players will only get the vote from their counties and a sprinkling from elsewhere. The women nominations, other than Katie Taylor, wouldn't be household names nor would the Para Athletes. Horse racing and boxing - again not media grabbing event. So we're left with Katie Taylor, Paul O’Donovan, Conor Murray and James McClean. Katie hasn't had the same exposure since she went professional and O'Donovan needs the Olympics to keep him top of the sports billing. So we're down to Murray and James and football is still bigger than rugby, so James won it.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

2,081 Posts
    Spot on, so two points on that...

1) It shouldn't be a public vote (i.e. popularity contest). Can you imagine if a Manchester United or Liverpool player were in the running, they'd be virtually unbeatable regardless of what they've done.

2) McClean still shouldn't have been nominated in the first place. At least if they get that part right, we'd have a winner that actually achieved something significant or had consistently high performance levels.

2,346 Posts
    Is was sport personality of the year, not achievement of the year.

James suffered personal loss this year, brought Ireland to a play-off with his goal, showed immense pride in his captaining of Ireland on his 50th cap, displayed a great amount of dignity and generosity with a huge amount of charity work through the year, and on top of that, showed a serious amount of personality and pride in his country and where he's from on many levels.

I think he's a great recipient of this award to be honest.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    It was sportsperson of the year, not sports personality.

According to Wikipedia...

The winner is the Irish sportsperson (from the island of Ireland) judged to have achieved the most that year.
    And RTÉ's own website...

As well as acknowledging this year’s sporting achievements, the RTÉ Sport Awards recognised the 20th anniversary of his magnificent World Snooker Championship win as Ken Doherty was honoured with the Hall of Fame Award.
    Last edited by DeLorean; 18/12/2017 at 10:51 AM.

2,081 Posts
    James suffered personal loss this year, brought Ireland to a play-off with his goal, showed immense pride in his captaining of Ireland on his 50th cap, displayed a great amount of dignity and generosity with a huge amount of charity work through the year, and on top of that, showed a serious amount of personality and pride in his country and where he's from on many levels.
    McClean's personal loss was high profile enough for us all to know about it, I don't think it's something that should be taken into account. Are we to assume all the other candidates didn't lose relatives or friends in 2017, just because McClean's loss hit the headlines? I don't mean that to sound heartless by the way, I just don't think it's relevant.

3,308 Posts
    Let's not forget the numerous acts of charity he's performed this year, as well as signing the statement opposing a hard border in the north.
    I'm not saying that the other nominees haven't done anything charitable, but I genuinely haven't heard about them.

Also, wonderful player that he is, Murray's an utter ******.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    779 Posts
    No, the BBC one is SPORTS PERSONALITY, which makes little difference to be honest as such wonderful personalities as Andy Murray, Nigel Mansell, Lewis Hamilton and Ryan Giggs have won it. Imagine being stuck in a lift with them for 6 hours!
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

2,081 Posts
    I think it's telling how undeserving he was in a sporting sense that charity work and even a token captaincy is being thrown into the mix. Serious straw clutching with his anti-hard border signature too.

McClean is very generous with his wealth and his time, but he's in a really lucrative financial position compared to most/all of those other candidates. That's not taking anything away from him, but it's a lot easier to make grand gestures when you're earning Premier League wages. Anyway, it wasn't a humanitarian award and even if it was, McClean is hardly squeaky clean on that front either, often letting himself down with cowardly tackles and foul mouthed social media rants.

Joe Canning is one very obvious candidate who has recently engaged with high profile charity work - https://www.independent.ie/irish-new...-35261614.html

Katie Taylor certainly isn't lacking in that regard either - https://www.irishtimes.com/business/...1-2m-1.2655140

She is also engaged in a lot of charity work and is associated with Barnardos, Zest4Kids, Bray Lakers, and Wicklow Hospice Foundation.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Also, wonderful player that he is, Murray's an utter ******.
    What's your beef with Murray, Tets?

574 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Bono once tellingly said (whilst reciting in approval his father's supposed quoting of John Millington Synge at an earlier point in Bono's life) that Ireland was just a place that kept his feet from getting wet. In light of his tax-dodging, make of that what you will...
    That's as cheap a shot as Gastric's post about McClean.

You'll enjoy this piece on how Bono and other philanthropic capitalists like Geldof who push charity to defend property (or "philanthropic poverty", in other words): https://www.jacobinmag.com/2014/11/p...ropic-poverty/

Bono, a mascot for neoliberal capitalism, urges the impoverished to trust the economic system that directly causes their poverty - which he incongruously claims to oppose - and encourages the notion that charity rather than social reform is a credible fix.
    Someone has kept those marxist pamphlets from college.

Anyway, to bring this back on topic (somewhat ), here's a bit of Sinn Féin-related vintage Bono cringe:

It's Bono engaging in a sanctimonious rant (using a weird assortment of accents) against an unfortunate individual in the crowd during a 1987 U2 gig in San Francisco. Bono appears to assume in error that the fan's "SF U2" sign (obviously in reference to the city in which the gig is taking place) refers to Sinn Féin, who he quite clearly loathed with a passion.
    Massive facepalm moment indeed.

Luckily, he didn't spot the advertisement down the back for Bank of America individual retirement accounts or he'd still be there to this day ranting away about the IRA!
    See first reply.
    Last edited by The Fly; 18/12/2017 at 4:11 PM.

1,094 Posts
    I love Conor McGregor but I don't think receiving this award really registered with him. Whereas, I reckon James is utterly chuffed. I also think he's deserving. He had made it so far in such a competitive sport by dint of sheer determination, not natural ability. And he brought us such amazing moments over the past 18 months. Having been in the goal end that he slotted against Austria and Wales I can't say I'm but delighted for him.

574 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gastric View Post
    It's great that James can now write his own signature and is an expert on Brexit. I am sure Leo will value the petition and will certainly discuss it with Theresa.
    Thanks for that input Gastric. It's good to get views on the state of the nation from those over in Torquay, Australia.

Aren't you a teacher btw?

In a broader sense, I think it's another definite indication that the football team has well and truly re-captured the general public's attention/imagination over the past few years (in spite of the what happened in the play-off). The football team is respected again. That is a good sign. I've been critical of O'Neill, more so in latter times, but after the nightmare of Staunton and the anaemic lethargy of Trap, he has undeniably managed to bring the spark back.
    Agreed, and as you say it's a good sign.
    Last edited by The Fly; 18/12/2017 at 2:49 PM.

537 Posts
    if I were honest id say the award to McClean is a little dubious but that's the risk that the organisers take when they leave it to a public vote to decide. Id say its a reflection of the place that the football team has in the hearts of the country as a whole when compared to other teams.

McGregor winning it last year removed any belief I had in the process anyway. what a complete joke that was

574 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    McGregor winning it last year removed any belief I had in the process anyway. what a complete joke that was
    How so?

537 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Fly View Post
    How so?
    the two Olympic silvers for one thing