Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Our EURO 2012 Group Predictions

214 Posts
    Group of death a cert? Or can the Trap fluke Poland, England and Greece?

I cannot wait for the draw.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan
    It staggers me that you think this is in any way relevant to the next Euros.
    Germany got to the final that year, and the only team they didn't beat on the way was us.

We'll be playing Germany next year anyway. We rarely concede a goal, let alone lose a game.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    It staggers me that you think this is in any way relevant to the next Euros.
    Indeed. Some people also want to draw England over a less talented Italy on the assumption they will 'bottle it'.

85 Posts
    I dont know what to think!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The difference between the irish and english papers from newsnow

Attachment 1811
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

366 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Deckydee View Post

Attachment 1811
    Fabio Capello keen that England avoid Republic of Ireland at Euro 2012.

Only 5 hours until the inevitable 'Capello's joy at drawing Irish' headline.

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Germany got to the final that year, and the only team they didn't beat on the way was us.

We'll be playing Germany next year anyway. We rarely concede a goal, let alone lose a game.
    The Germany team of 2002 does not have a patch on the current squad. In the build up to WC 2002, that team was being touted as the weakest German side in a generation. Remember the draw was made? The Irish media were delighted with Germany, as opposed to drawing France, Brazil, Argentina, Portugal etc. It was an ageing side with little attacking flair. They started with that donkey Jancker up front for crying out loud.

They had a reletively easy path to the final, but don't let that fool you into thinking they were anywhere near as good as the current 11. If Ireland don't win Euro 2012, ironically it'll be our two group opponents for the WC, Germany and Sweden that will have my support.

446 Posts
    We're going out in the first round, narrowly, so who we draw is almost irrelevant.

Think would rather draw the shower though in a tournament and get our game/defeat due v.them out of the way.

Reckon we'll get 2 points overall, 2 draws and lose by 1-2 goals to them, Germany/Spain/Holland.

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Deckydee View Post

Attachment 1811
    Trap doesn't want England. The other Irish media sources have been saying that since we qualified. I don't want them either. Imagine the difficulty in securing tickets? That said, we would be able to deal with England's style of play, a lot easier than the technically gifted sides like Russia.

446 Posts
    The only game where it'd be difficult to get tickets is if it's Polska in the first game.

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    We're going out in the first round, narrowly, so who we draw is almost irrelevant.
    Speak for yourself. Lets see who we get first before making sweeping, uninformed statements like that.

The real issue for those who plan to travel is not really who we draw, it's what group and thus what country we are going to be based in. Have ye looked at the logistics of being based in the Ukraine? It's an absolute fcuking nightmare. Just pray that we're in Group A or C and Poland based

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Straightstory View Post
    I really, really hope not. It will bring out the very worst in the 'Joxer Goes To Stuttgart'/'Ole Ole'/'Fields of Athenry' super-eejits brigade.
    We'll eventually play them again at some point and if it's not in the finals it'll be in a friendly before then apparently.

772 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Straightstory View Post
    I really, really hope not. It will bring out the very worst in the 'Joxer Goes To Stuttgart'/'Ole Ole'/'Fields of Athenry' super-eejits brigade.
    # Ahhhhhh it was in the year of 2012 in the lovely month of June
    When straightstory was swarming and mypost’s howling at the moon
    With Rosary beads and sandwiches for Warsaw we began,
    Strutts packed his Polish phrasebook and Jump leads for the (camper) Van

Oh some of the lads had never been away from home before
    Twas the first time SwanVsDalton set his foot outside of Bogside road
    So before we left for Europe we knew we’d need a plan,
    So we all agreed that that osarusan was the man to drive the Van…..#

Best get back to work now........

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by French Toasht View Post
    Speak for yourself. Lets see who we get first before making sweeping, uninformed statements like that.
    Even if we get the weakest possible draw, 4 points will be a miracle...

Have you not being watching us in competitive games recently??

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    Even if we get the weakest possible draw, 4 points will be a miracle...

Have you not being watching us in competitive games recently??
    Yes. And I've only seen us beaten twice in 24 games. Your point is?

2,284 Posts
    BBC profile of our team: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/15843058.stm

No-one will relish an early meeting with the Irish, although tired, ageing legs may count against them as the tournament goes on - and a lack of pace at the back could be a worry at this level.
    Never really heard that one before. Richard Dunne is quicker than he looks. Besides, we're not the type of side to be caught for pace at the back as space is so limited with 7 or 8 men behind the ball.

FAMOUS FACE
    Sir Terry Wogan
    Wogan?!

19. Thanks From:

2,690 Posts
    Regardless of who we're drawn against I'd probably take 4 points right now.

We haven't beaten a higher seeded team under Trap. We'd need to do that once here. Both our defeats have been in Dublin though - so that's at least one disadvantage we won't be bringing!

21. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by French Toasht View Post
    Trap doesn't want England. The other Irish media sources have been saying that since we qualified. I don't want them either. Imagine the difficulty in securing tickets? That said, we would be able to deal with England's style of play, a lot easier than the technically gifted sides like Russia.
    It hurts to say this but let's face it - we wouldn't be able to deal with England man, anyone who thinks they wouldn't beat us 9 times out of 10 is being blindly patriotic. If the England squad was a club team they would be in the Champions League spots and we would be around 15th. A heavy defeat to them would be harder to take than anyone else so it's a big no no for me.
    Last edited by Jaysus; 02/12/2011 at 12:59 PM.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    They are starting with Pot 4, after Spain and Holland have been drawn. Wait a sec will you?

My only gripe with the draw procedure, is the UEFA Secretary doesn't announce the teams or numbers himself. Instead the attendants do it now, some of them don't speak English, or know what they're doing.
    Surely if they draw Spain and Holland then the draw has started. Ergo they are not starting with Pot 4. God Im being pedantic.

Probably want to be drawn in Poland, more fans will travel which will probably mean less accomodation but their transportation network is vastly superior.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaysus View Post
    It hurts to say this but let's face it - we wouldn't be able to deal with England man, anyone who thinks they wouldn't beat us 9 times out of 10 is being blindly patriotic. If the England squad was a club team they would be in the Champions League spots and we would be around 15th. A heavy defeat to them would be harder to take than anyone else so it's a big no no for me.
    Without Rooney they may not be the same force. Wales did a fine job against them in Wembley.

Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast