Thread: Pat Fenlon to Hibs

Quote Originally Posted by Dan6189 View Post
    the way this ****ed up country gives out 1 year contracts
    The country doesn't hand out contracts. Clubs do. Clubs who have no security at all.

Good luck to Nutsy. Top bloke

136 Posts
    Best of luck to him. I hope he does well, although he might struggle to win another trophy any time soon. (So I don't think the 'more rewarding' observation in the rather snarky Herald piece is necessarily true).

Well he took the fifth best team in the league this season to an FAI Cup semi-final replay. Winning a cup isn't really out of the question.

77 Posts

Who is a potential new manager of BOHS?

Who are the front runners for the now vacant managers position at Bohs?

Or better still would anyone want the job considering the financial situation at the club.......!

All the best to him. I've always held him in high regards and find the accusation of him being a "chequebook manager" highly dismissive and simplistic.

Firstly, he doesn't set the budget, it's always down to the clubs to set the budget. He just worked with it. Secondly, anyone can spend money but only a few managers could spend money and build a successful team, something he did twice in the LOI.

He's had three jobs in the LOI. His time at Derry aside, most of it has been highly successful. For me, that Bohs team of 2008 was the best LOI side I've ever seen, amazingly organised and ruthlessly efficient.

What he can achieve at Hibs is quite simply relative success, though depending how that goes, he could get one of the Old Firm or bigger clubs in England calling after him. He'll still a fairly young guy, only 42. It seems like he's been around forever.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

55 Posts
    Reading that article he will have the Life O' Reilly at Hibs. Fair play he gave a dig out but he won't have that worry at Hibs.

Check out the pictures of the training centre Hibs built, top class. Class pitches, saunas, gym, conference rooms to analyse things, players lounge.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/TrainingCentre

427 Posts
    Best of luck to Nutsey at Hibs. Extremely commited and hard working manager and, for me, the best LOI manager in 20 years (since Jim Mc Laughlin - another "cheque book" manager ).
    Good deal for Bohs to get a large outgoing off the books (especially in close season) so win-win situation.

Apart from brief spell at Derry Pat has had an outstanding stint as manager in LOI and is well capable of competing at SPL level. never spoke to a player that did not enjoy working with Nutsey so he must be doing something right.
    Last edited by marinobohs; 25/11/2011 at 11:26 AM.

I wonder what players he'll look to bring with him. Brennan maybe? A couple of the younger lads like Dixon and Forrester too.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    I wonder what players he'll look to bring with him. Brennan maybe? A couple of the younger lads like Dixon and Forrester too.
    Not sure CD, but suspect he will have some LOI players in mind - not just Bohs (and probobly not just young players) depends on where he feels Hibs need new blood (and of course what budget he has).

Quote Originally Posted by nr637 View Post
    Who are the front runners for the now vacant managers position at Bohs?
    Can the league pool together a fundraiser to fund Roderick's appointment..?
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

All these jobs are passing Michael by..

I can't imagine he's had much time to dwell on it considering his season isn't finished yet.

53 Posts
    Ryan Brennan had a trial with Hibs earlier on this year, so the club must have some sort of LOI scouting done already

39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    All these jobs are passing Michael by..
    One job,

i think atm he's very happy with rovers . no doubt he will move to a higher profile league or possibly international management in the near or distant future. Just glad to have a manager capable of winning a league title at the helm and not one who throws the toys out of the pram when he doesn't get what he wants

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by askmehoop View Post
    Just glad to have a manager capable of winning a league title at the helm and not one who throws the toys out of the pram when he doesn't get what he wants
    Good point, when you consider the utter heap Bohs are in the little strop he threw when they wouldn't increase the budget this year sums up how selfish the man is. They finished fifth, so why the need to increase the budget when you've no hope of anything. What would they have got? Sixth instead of fifth if they didn't? Absolute moron of a guy sometimes.

At Shels I was told we have five players who weren't making the bench costing us €250k a year between them. He wouldn't get rid of them, he wanted a big squad. I mean ffs

Quote Originally Posted by TiocfaidhArmani View Post
    Reading that article he will have the Life O' Reilly at Hibs. Fair play he gave a dig out but he won't have that worry at Hibs.

Check out the pictures of the training centre Hibs built, top class. Class pitches, saunas, gym, conference rooms to analyse things, players lounge.

Jasus, I hope he doesn't have to clean that

53 Posts
    But would the FAI give them a Premier Licence???

186 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Straightstory View Post
    Best of luck to him. I hope he does well, although he might struggle to win another trophy any time soon. (So I don't think the 'more rewarding' observation in the rather snarky Herald piece is necessarily true).
    Thats the thing about Scottish football I suppose - teams outside the top 2 arent really expected to win much of anything. If he could just improve their league position and do Ok in the cups it would probably be looked on as a success. They have a strong Irish heritage too which might help him settle in with the club and fans. Best of luck to him.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

415 Posts

Bit nicer then the one Stokes frequents

I was watchin the goals roundup on sky sports news and it showed a clip of pat fenlon on his way into the game today at MacDiarmuid Park with Liam O'Brien so I dont understand the secrecy with Fenlon and his asst!