Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Premier Division Play Off

122 Posts
    Eric Foley and Sean Gavin sent off. Both teams down to 10 with in or around 5 minutes left

2,446 Posts
    74' - Yellow Card - Yob Son booked for something more like a rugby tackle.
    Quality.

1,825 Posts
    JAysus. It's all kicking off. Come on the Mons!
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

122 Posts
    Sean Brennan 2-0, facing an uphill struggle now to retain our status

3,489 Posts
    2-0. Massive goal for Mons. Could have gotten a bit jittery going to Galway 1-0 up.

2,446 Posts
    7 Yellows and 2 Reds, madness.

53 Posts
    It was a funny one alright, the ref had a good first half I thought, but in the second half he got a bit carried away with himself. I think the reds came out of a bit of aggro when Monaghan put the ball out for a throw-in after a stoppage for a Galway injury when Galway wanted a goalkick. A few yellows came out of Galway fouling on the halfway line to stop Fabio or Byrne running straight through.

Galway were poor technically, I can see how they only got 6 points all season but to give them credit they worked hard and the second leg won't be as straight forward as I'd hoped. The Monaghan players had some touches of class (especially the first goal) but got a bit lazy/nervous if Galway picked the pace up. That said I don't think Galway had any real chances and our defence always looked in control. Sean Brennan was quality and deserved his goal.

Roll on Friday and next season!

Good cowd ?

1,104 Posts
    Both teams finished with 14 men according to Evanne Ni Chuilinn on RTE just now. Don't know what the hell Limerick are going to make of that...

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MagicMon View Post
    It was a funny one alright, the ref had a good first half I thought, but in the second half he got a bit carried away with himself. I think the reds came out of a bit of aggro when Monaghan put the ball out for a throw-in after a stoppage for a Galway injury when Galway wanted a goalkick. A few yellows came out of Galway fouling on the halfway line to stop Fabio or Byrne running straight through.

Galway were poor technically, I can see how they only got 6 points all season but to give them credit they worked hard and the second leg won't be as straight forward as I'd hoped. The Monaghan players had some touches of class (especially the first goal) but got a bit lazy/nervous if Galway picked the pace up. That said I don't think Galway had any real chances and our defence always looked in control. Sean Brennan was quality and deserved his goal.

Roll on Friday and next season!
    Happened to be in the area so went to the match (didn't travel by tardis)
    Second goal was sublime - the work on the wing before the cross was top class.
    I have total respect for Galway fans - That 'We'll win again, don't know where, don't know when' chant says it all - that you can keep following the misfortunes of what is effectively a pub team as they get beaten week in week out and still come back for more - well, it has made me see why people were put out by Stuey Byrne's 'not fit for the Premier' comments on MNS the other night.

Can't see Galway getting the goals and not leaving yawning gaps at the back that you could fit several cows through
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    7 Yellows and 2 Reds, madness.
    Have you not seen Mons this season? Filthy isn't the word. There'll be more in the second leg.

75 Posts
    Ref was atrocious sent off the wron Monaghan player and the Galway player never even touched their player.Tomney also made a major **** up for the 1st goal as the throw in was to Galway.Mons the better side we were toothless BUT ITS NOT OVER TILL THE FAT LADY SINGS
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

433 Posts
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Is right...and they've used a comma instead of an apostrophe, surely another admin error

Mons out Lims in

19. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by harpin View Post
    Is right...and they've used a comma instead of an apostrophe, surely another admin error

Mons out Lims in
    excellent!

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor View Post
    Have you not seen Mons this season? Filthy isn't the word. There'll be more in the second leg.

Filthy may not be the word, but bitter definitely is.

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor View Post
    Monaghan yellow cards: 57
    Limerick yellow cards: 57
    Monaghan United official site
    http://monaghanunited.tv/
    Monaghan United blog
    http://monaghanunited.tumblr.com/

23. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by monsexile View Post
    And reds?

Quote Originally Posted by monsexile View Post
    How many reds throughout the season??? 2 at TX the last time anyway. Ye lost the rag that night.

Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast