Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast

Thread: The Final Weekend - Season 2011

120 Posts
    In fairness, paying for things is a fundamental fact of life, and how the world works. There's no point not liking it. I'm not sure what you mean by differentiating between personal preference and public necessity - you're under no obligation to have lights and gas, so that strikes me as a personal preference. And has nothing at all to do with LoI clubs paying players (which money they generally deserve)
    The phrase 'I may not like that players have to be paid' was a rhetorical device intended to express sympathy (for the purposes of argument) with those who criticise players for being 'mercenaries'. In truth, I accept that players have to be paid, of course they do, but the accusation that such and such a player is a mercenary implies that players should in fact be playing for something other than their pay cheque. What's the opposite of a mercenary? Someone who plays purely out of loyalty to his club? That's the GAA, not the LoI.

I'm not sure what you don't understand about the 'bills' analogy: I would like to live in a world where I got expensive things cheaper. Cheap gas, good; dear gas, bad....Cheap players playing for loyalty, good; Dear players having to be paid, bad.

But I don't live in that world, so, yeah, it is pointless not liking it. For the same reason, it's pointless and meaningless to call people mercenaries.

1,825 Posts
    Alan Mathews on Newstalk now.

Anyway, on last night. I'm very happy I wasn't able to post from my phone because I would have said a lot of bitter post-match things that were not really appropriate. See the GAA forum.

Still smarting from the loss especially considering the manner in how it happened. Once Cork scored though we took it to them and for the rest of the first half we were incredible. And were unlucky that we didn't go into the second half in the lead.

It was very clear with the score in Lissywoollen that Cork had settled on the draw.

And as is always the way it goes with us we switched off in the last minute.

Congratulations to Cork. Incredible atmosphere last night. It was unbelievable feeling to be there considering what was at stake and the memories of being at horrible pre-season games in Ashtown a few years ago.

Showed that the best 2 teams are deserved to be up and the quality of ball that they are capable off.

Praying that we can keep Casso next year.

Thought the ref had a great game to be honest bar the confusion with the injury time board which went kaput at half time. Hopefully Mons do the business against Galway. Roll on 2012.
    Last edited by BonnieShels; 30/10/2011 at 12:35 PM.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by born2bwild View Post
    I would like to live in a world where I got expensive things cheaper. Cheap gas, good; dear gas, bad
    Going way off topic, but that's far too simplistic a view. Things get cheaper mainly because the people supplying get downward pressure on their wages. That's not necessarily a good thing (look at Walmart for an extreme example, but there's plenty of other examples).

I'd also be fairly sure that your idea that paying E50 a week is the difference between a admirable, loyal, community-involved GAA player into a nasty, soccer mercenary is way too naive. (I know you didn't use most of those exact terms, but they're kind of implied by your repeated differentiation between GAA players and LoI players; I've used terms which would usually be thought of as the opposite of "mercenary" in extrapolating your view of GAA players)

126 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Alan Mathews on Newstalk now
    What's he on about 'we had the three highest goalscorers in the league'? Cummins was top scorer in the division.

448 Posts
    is Alan Mathews the biggest bottler in Irish football? Has he ever won a big league game. obviously hes done well in cups

Carlsberg don't do Magnanimity ....(or exceedingly good cakes)
    I wouldn't have been so magnanimous had I posted straight after the game. There's no point getting too worried about it though. The important thing was promotion and we got that.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    is Alan Mathews the biggest bottler in Irish football? Has he ever won a big league game. obviously hes done well in cups

Jaysus. Ye won the league.

Quote Originally Posted by adamd164 View Post
    What's he on about 'we had the three highest goalscorers in the league'? Cummins was top scorer in the division.
    I had made that assumption about Philly as well. But I think his point was well made about breaking up your season into smaller goals.

He also said that we had the meanest defence but Lims had that.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

137 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc View Post
    I saw their teamsheet, don't know why the ET reporter wouldn't have
    If ET had anyone in the press box, they got a teamsheet.

Quote Originally Posted by KUFCMan View Post
    Has anybody ot the Athlone team from last nite please?
    Michael Schlingermann, Damien Rushe, Jaime Carr, Mark Walshe, Paul Danaher, Roy King, Davy Ryan, Stephen Relihan, Kevin Williamson, Jason Hughes, Mark Sherlock. SUBS: Tommy Barrett for King (HT), Declan Fallon for Carr (62), Niall Boland for Rushe (63).

Just to point out, there was one change (McGee injured) in the line-up last night from the team that LIMERICK beat in our last game.
    Last edited by atfconline; 30/10/2011 at 2:52 PM.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

Carlsberg don't do Magnanimity ....(or exceedingly good cakes)
    They do do alcohol which makes people forget bad nights
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    I hope you won't need it for that purpose on Thursday.

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    whats MONs excuse then?
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MagicMon View Post
    Ive rarely seen such a gulf in ability and desire as between Mons and Athlone tonight. Pity shels didnt win but United were full value for the win (apart from the stupid tackle for the red card). Well done to Cork for the title, that was some finish to the season.

Limerick fans, hoping a club goes under because they lost to another team? After all that happened the loi teams based in limerick? Cop on and get some perspective.
    Limerick fans?

One Limerick fan says this and that makes it the view of all of us? I certainly wouldn't want any club to go bust. Rumour in Jackman Park last night was that Athlone played their u-19's last night as their first team players hadn't been payed. Not sure if this is true but disappointed if it is but im proud of what Limerick have achieved this season especially in the last series of games.

Quote Originally Posted by Shannonsider View Post
    Limerick fans?

One Limerick fan says this and that makes it the view of all of us? I certainly wouldn't want any club to go bust. Rumour in Jackman Park last night was that Athlone played their u-19's last night as their first team players hadn't been payed. Not sure if this is true but disappointed if it is but im proud of what Limerick have achieved this season especially in the last series of games.
    Looking at the lineup there, a good few players I'd know from the first team, not them all though so it is quite probable that a few under 19s had to be called up to replace those who wouldn't play having not been paid.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

137 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by atfconline View Post
    Michael Schlingermann, Damien Rushe, Jaime Carr, Mark Walshe, Paul Danaher, Roy King, Davy Ryan, Stephen Relihan, Kevin Williamson, Jason Hughes, Mark Sherlock. SUBS: Tommy Barrett for King (HT), Declan Fallon for Carr (62), Niall Boland for Rushe (63).

Just to point out, there was one change (McGee injured) in the line-up last night from the team that LIMERICK beat in our last game.
    As above.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

Ya the rumour going around was of some kind of strike the athlone players went on. The fact no team sheet was displayed extra time just added fuel to it.

Looking at the team sheet above that doesn't seem to be the story though.

Quote Originally Posted by atfconline View Post
    As above.
    Dave Ryan in for McGee and Tommy Barett on the bench are two changes off the top of my head from the Limerick. Gary Higgins came on and set up ye're goal against us too and he didn't play any part. Other than that it does look pretty much like the same team that played us alright.

Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Alan Mathews on Newstalk now.

Anyway, on last night. I'm very happy I wasn't able to post from my phone because I would have said a lot of bitter post-match things that were not really appropriate. See the GAA forum.

Still smarting from the loss especially considering the manner in how it happened. Once Cork scored though we took it to them and for the rest of the first half we were incredible. And were unlucky that we didn't go into the second half in the lead.

It was very clear with the score in Lissywoollen that Cork had settled on the draw.
    And as is always the way it goes with us we switched off in the last minute.

Congratulations to Cork. Incredible atmosphere last night. It was unbelievable feeling to be there considering what was at stake and the memories of being at horrible pre-season games in Ashtown a few years ago.

Showed that the best 2 teams are deserved to be up and the quality of ball that they are capable off.

Praying that we can keep Casso next year.

Thought the ref had a great game to be honest bar the confusion with the injury time board which went kaput at half time. Hopefully Mons do the business against Galway. Roll on 2012.
    Don't agree with that at all.

No doubt that Shels, who had been well on top eased off in the second half, for whatever reason. Cummins was booked for trying to get a Shels player to hurry up with a throw in.

If we were playing for a draw Derek would have headed for the corner rather than trying to cross in for the winner.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Quote Originally Posted by paudie View Post
    Don't agree with that at all.

No doubt that Shels, who had been well on top eased off in the second half, for whatever reason. Cummins was booked for trying to get a Shels player to hurry up with a throw in.

If we were playing for a draw Derek would have headed for the corner rather than trying to cross in for the winner.
    It definitely isn't anything close to the case. Cork were all out for the win, I was actually surprised by quite how gung-ho they were given the consequences if they did lose.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

21. Thanks From:

I hope you won't need it for that purpose on Thursday.
    I don't think there is a possibility of Thursday night being a bad night. 94th minute defeat or otherwise.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by MagicMon View Post
    Limerick fans, hoping a club goes under because they lost to another team? After all that happened the loi teams based in limerick? Cop on and get some perspective.
    As pointed out above, ONE fan. That's impressive perspective you're wielding yourself there.

Quote Originally Posted by gufc2000 View Post
    And Limerick's record against the top 3 was poor.
    I believe it was better than Shels against the rest of the top four as it happens. But Shels won 20 from 21 against the bottom seven I believe which is some going.

Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast