Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: The Final Weekend - Season 2011

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geezer
    Its also worth remembering the champions were in the same position we were in 6 or 7 years back, not to mention shelbourne there long standing fans know all about what we are going through. The Licence is independent and GUFC will apply like everyone else.
    We were semi-competitive at least on the pitch during those years. We picked up 30-odd points on the pitch. Most years that keeps you up. But we were put in a playoff via a points deduction. When we lost our licence, despite the unfairness of it, we didn't appeal it, and paid the consequences on the pitch.

Galway United, rightly or wrongly, were refused a PD licence. If the people running the club were aware then of how things would be there this year, as I believe they were, they should have accepted that refusal. It would have been much easier, cheaper, and better for them to have accepted their fate and get their house in order downstairs. Instead they appealed, won it, and were promptly an embarrassment on the pitch. There's very little to be proud of when you're there simply to serve target practice for the opposition.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

2,770 Posts
    Congrats to Cork and Shels. Good to have you back (hopefully we will still be around to renew some rivalries). Now Mons to beat Galway and ill be even happier
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Wow, congratulations to Cork. Hard luck to Shels, although I'm sure promotion will soften the blow somewhat. Hopefully Mons can make it three fresh faces in the league next season.

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    We were semi-competitive at least on the pitch during those years. We picked up 30-odd points on the pitch. Most years that keeps you up. But we were put in a playoff via a points deduction. When we lost our licence, despite the unfairness of it, we didn't appeal it, and paid the consequences on the pitch.

Galway United, rightly or wrongly, were refused a PD licence. If the people running the club were aware then of how things would be there this year, as I believe they were, they should have accepted that refusal. It would have been much easier, cheaper, and better for them to have accepted their fate and get their house in order downstairs. Instead they appealed, won it, and were promptly an embarrassment on the pitch. There's very little to be proud of when you're there simply to serve target practice for the opposition.
    You havent a clue about whats gone on in Galway for the last 2 seasons. We couldnt go the Cork,Rovers or Derry Route. With 3 clubs in Galway the FAI didnt give a fiddlers if we went bust as there was 2 replacments. We were refused a licence in the wrong and the Appeals Committee found completely in our favour if they hadnt the end was staring us in the face.
    Would any clubs supporters let their club die without a fight. Get your facts right because like Stuey Byrne last night your talking through your ass.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

3,488 Posts
    When we lost our licence, despite the unfairness of it, we didn't appeal it, and paid the consequences on the pitch.
    Ye submitted fraudulent accounts, hiding hundreds of thousands of debt from the licencing committee. Where's the unfairness?

75 Posts
    Congrats to Cork and Shels 2 great Teams whose supporters have been through the ringer .

55 Posts

its mad but roll on mons,

mons have their big chance now and should take it, on the field, they are hot favourites.
    There was no choice but to appeal last january, we wouldnt have got a first div licence either without the issue that was appealed, Also the rule of last not being demoted to expand the division was agreed by rovers and all the clubs in the premier accepted it, must be the first time ever in the league where all we have to do is win one game at home to stay up (if a licence is attained).
    Last edited by geezer; 29/10/2011 at 9:29 PM.

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    You havent a clue about whats gone on in Galway for the last 2 seasons. We couldnt go the Cork,Rovers or Derry Route. With 3 clubs in Galway the FAI didnt give a fiddlers if we went bust as there was 2 replacments. We were refused a licence in the wrong and the Appeals Committee found completely in our favour if they hadnt the end was staring us in the face.
    Would any clubs supporters let their club die without a fight. Get your facts right because like Stuey Byrne last night your talking through your ass.
    exactly --at the start of this season the club was been run by nutcases ,the fans took it over just before it was about to fold mid season ---we let go all expensive players were left with 3rd grade local lads as the better ??? players wer with salthill and mervue ---- if we didnt have 3 teams here we would have had a better chance of been stronger ----this season nightmare is nearly over be it in 1st div or prem next year at least we can now regroup and try to build on what we have --the only way is up

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Ye submitted fraudulent accounts, hiding hundreds of thousands of debt from the licencing committee. Also, ye were just docked points as it transpired after the licences had been handed out, so ye didn't lose the licence.
    The previous board cooked the books. The 400 Club alerted that to the FAI, who duly thanked them with stripping away the PD licence and docking us 8 points, including the 3 points won after the old board had stepped down. The 8 points was the difference between survival in the division and a sabbattical in the other.

Ten Years Not Out

305 Posts
    Another thread turns into a Shams v /insert club name/ Bitchfest

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geezer
    There was no choice but to appeal last january, we wouldnt have got a first div licence either without the issue that was appealed, Also the rule of last not being demoted to expand the division was agreed by rovers and all the clubs in the premier accepted it, must be the first time ever in the league where all we have to do is win one game at home to stay up (if a licence is attained).
    Nobody seems to know what setup the league will be next year. Depending on who you believe, first it was going to be a 10-12 league, then no relegation, then a 16-team league, then 18. Atm it's going to be a 12-team league, but that could change again in the coming months. It's organised chaos.

Ten Years Not Out

Absolutely delighted with the result. Roll on premier next year. Best of luck to Galway and Sligo in the remaining matches of the season.

229 Posts
    Nobody seems to know what setup the league will be next year. Depending on who you believe, first it was going to be a 10-12 league, then no relegation, then a 16-team league, then 18. Atm it's going to be a 12-team league, but that could change again in the coming months. It's organised chaos.
    Word on a 16 Premier resurfaced in Waterford! I'd imagine we can only go by the fact that there will be a promotion/relegation play-off, that it will be a 12 team premier. The structure of the first division seems a bit more uncertain with Carlow, Cobh, Tralee and Fanad all hopeful of joining next year. Will they only invite one or will the FAI take the step of inviting 3?
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

55 Posts
    Agreed

GUFC supporters are honest, We have been told by everyone we are "naive" we purposely set out to be honest, Our core values are Honesty, Integrity, Player welfare and a partnership with the Galway FA/FAI.

i would prefer to be seen as "naive" anyday and honest. We probably better off in the 1st for a few years but we have to try and ensure Mons work a bit for it. Now all of a sudden some people in high positions believe we are "hiding" money for licencing, its truly laughable. We decided on the 6th of june to play the play off card. In Galway between the 3 clubs and the u19 we are looking for a pool of 140 players to compete at National Level. Id love to see Galway Footballers or Hurlers trying to get 140 top players its practically impossible, hence the league standings. We will all in Galway now over the next 5 years spend circa 2million and finish nowhere, We are appealing for leadership from the league
    At least now more than ever we have a 300 core supporters who will keep going. Its also fair to say that GUFC supporters are taking hope from what rovers supporters have achieved.

Nice to see GUFC on the town today in the shopping centres (over 10 at least) promoting the play off and selling lottos
    Thats what licenceing doesnt see, the work on the ground to promote the league
    stewy fookin byrne or the pfai wont be promoting the league only doing it down and stirring strikes, I have seen GAA club players train twenty times harder than loi players who are members of the radical pfai
    I watched harps tonight and i truly feel for them as well.
    Last edited by geezer; 29/10/2011 at 10:09 PM.

46 Posts
    A lot Athlone first team players refused to play against mons tonight over unpaid wages ye def picked the right weekend for it I hope ye go bust athlone. AS for LimeRick only lost four times all season the least amount in the top four and we still did not get promoted its unreal. GOt into a semi final of the fai and then taken back out of it,The fai gives mons 3pts after there 0-0 draw v harps costly two extra points it turned out to be for us. CORk and shels deserves there promotion well done best of luck to ye next season.

AS for us I reckon we will go up at a canter next season the chairman was talking to supporters before the game saying the club will be adding top players again for next season on top of what we have now also moving into our new home future is bright just a pity we are not moving into the new stadium with premier football.

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    A lot Athlone first team players refused to play against mons tonight over unpaid wages ye def picked the right weekend for it I hope ye go bust athlone. AS for LimeRick only lost four times all season the least amount in the top four and we still did not get promoted its unreal. GOt into a semi final of the fai and then taken back out of it,The fai gives mons 3pts after there 0-0 draw v harps costly two extra points it turned out to be for us. CORk and shels deserves there promotion well done best of luck to ye next season.

AS for us I reckon we will go up at a canter next season the chairman was talking to supporters before the game saying the club will be adding top players again for next season on top of what we have now also moving into our new home future is bright just a pity we are not moving into the new stadium with premier football.
    We only lost once. . Best of luck next year though.

53 Posts
    Ive rarely seen such a gulf in ability and desire as between Mons and Athlone tonight. Pity shels didnt win but United were full value for the win (apart from the stupid tackle for the red card). Well done to Cork for the title, that was some finish to the season.

Limerick fans, hoping a club goes under because they lost to another team? After all that happened the loi teams based in limerick? Cop on and get some perspective.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    We only lost once. . Best of luck next year though.

Enjoy prem and well done on winning the league.

Congrats to Cork and Shels. Good luck to Mons and Galway, an unbelievable opportunity for Mons, but if you can't beat them you'll struggle in the Premier..except against Dundalk maybe and Bohs
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post

Was wondering why there was no Athlone lineup on Extratime.

Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast