Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Weekend latest - 21-24th October

120 Posts
    I was a bit worried when I saw Galway's manager (interim manager?) John Brennan standing behind me at Drom tonight, as in, "Is he expecting Shels in the play off?" Well, I needn't have worried. I already touched wood (the fence around the pitch).
    He said 'wood'. Ha ha. Exciting match.

126 Posts
    He was also at our game vs Mons a few weeks ago. He's been to see the top 4 sides.

He says he wants Mons in the playoff, btw

55 Posts

struggle

if the first division outfit who plays in the play off doesnt win the play off they better off not in the premier. Lims if they dont make the cut could still be promoted if something happens with Bohs

If 2 teams go out of business, and any two of the galway teams amalgamate where does that leave the first division next year

2,346 Posts
    Tom has been a regular in Finn Park since he moved to Ballybofey, saw him trying to get a word out of Alan Matthews at Shels match earlier in the season at Finn Park.

On Harps last night...4 goals in about 20 minutes and the rest of the match was pretty horrible. Wexford were absolutely dire.

3,222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geezer View Post
    if the first division outfit who plays in the play off doesnt win the play off they better off not in the premier. Lims if they dont make the cut could still be promoted if something happens with Bohs
    In the past, teams going bust has saved the Premier side, not promoted the First Division side. So it seems Galway would benefit if Bohs go under (unless Galway win the play-off, of course)

If Galway are in the Premier Division next season I am going to give up and start supporting Linfield.

1,813 Posts
    Stu is right in one sense but would Galway get a Premier licence for next year?
    If not it would go to the next ranked premier licensed side which based on this season would be Longford Town!

55 Posts

think

of how it feels for the ever faithful 600 that turned up last friday to be getting thumped,
    One programme seller last friday left his standing spot10 mins before half time to make his way up to the clubhouse by the time he walked up to the clubhouse and having a leak on the way 4 goals were conceded. in 7 minutes.
    I wonder how much of this punishment a fan can take. Dont worry Charlie It would be lazurus like to win any play off at the minute. The club has got a major sponsor and close to closing 6 associate sponsors for the next 3 years regardless of what division we are in. But loads of work to build any sort of club from ashes. Jumbo & Murphs will need space to put their stamp on the playing side. Hard to do that in a premier getting thumped week in week out. Ya still have to try though, put 11 out and fulfill fixtures and take any break that may go your way.
    Last edited by geezer; 23/10/2011 at 1:14 PM.

Think

WThink how it feels for Monaghan United having our place in the Premier taken off us on the eve of the season in favour of this Galway outfit

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc View Post
    WThink how it feels for Monaghan United having our place in the Premier taken off us on the eve of the season in favour of this Galway outfit
    Ye had no right to be up there anyway ye lost the play off.

Ye were told ye were up pending an appeal by Galway so what was the problem? Its your own fault if ye were stupid enough to take it ye were up after being told it was pending appeal.

217 Posts
    Good win by Shels last night. Finn Harps had a similar impressive win by the same score. I think Shels will secure promotion on Tuesday night, it's where my money would go.

Predictions for the week:
    Shels 2-0 Harps

Athlone 1-1 Mons
    Limerick 2-1 Waterford
    Shels 1-1 Cork

My own predicted outcome:
    1. Shels 69pts
    2. Cork 67pts
    -------------------
    3. Limerick 66 pts
    -------------------
    4. Monaghan 65 pts

I wouldn't bet against Monaghan at all though. They are more than well capable of getting the win they require in Athlone. If I was given a free bet to put money on it, I'd say draw 1-1.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

2,346 Posts
    Meh, Harps to beat Shels on Tuesday. Just wait.

Oh, and theres no way Mons are going to draw in Athlone.

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post

You never know, they have struggled to beat Mervue on a few occasions and Athlone thumped Mervue 4-1 only two weeks ago. Athlone have a Limeirck manager and a lot of limerick players. They won't go down easy and we certainly had to slug it out against them in our last meeting.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Ye were told ye were up pending an appeal by Galway so what was the problem?
    The problem is that Galway appealed to take their place in a competition in which they clearly were not going to compete, denying a club who were going to at least try and compete

217 Posts
    I'm only catching the tail end of this and just this post really. If the point is Mons would have served the Premier better than Galway, I have to say I agree. Good luck to Galway and fair play to them for being able to secure their premier licence for the season. How were they able to get the licence though and then face the problems that they have? It's a shame for the premier that there was not a healthy battle at the lower end of the table. The Mons would've been a great club to have been involved this season. I'd imagine it would have boosted the clubs profile as well, bringing in more support.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

420 Posts
    Maybe Galway thought they could at least compete enough to stay off bottom.
    Maybe they thought they would get more sponsorship money being in the premier to help them survive as a club.
    Even if they didnt why would they give up a place they earned on the pitch the season before just cos ye thought ye could do better.

If things were the other way round i highly doubt Monaghan would have said its ok lads we wont appeal as we think ye have a better team then us.

19. Thanks From:

Galway should not have been the bottom club this season. They had a mid-range budget and are based in a city, which makes them a slightly surer bet than Monaghan. But obviously you can't legislate for a club being run horrendously and in hindsight Monaghan would have contributed far more to the league.

21. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Maybe Galway thought they could at least compete enough to stay off bottom.
    Maybe they thought they would get more sponsorship money being in the premier to help them survive as a club.
    Even if they didnt why would they give up a place they earned on the pitch the season before just cos ye thought ye could do better.

If things were the other way round i highly doubt Monaghan would have said its ok lads we wont appeal as we think ye have a better team then us.
    Totally agree with you,and as Charlie says Galway should have been able to compete, and the extent of their debt only came to light after the season started (so much for licensing).
    At the time I was more ****ed with Drogheda getting Fingal's place despite doing a Galway the previous season.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post

Bring it!

Cannot wait for Tuesday!
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

537 Posts
    heard a rumour in turners cross on fri last that all the clubs currently in the first division with premier division licences will be told to be on standby!

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast