Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Shamrock Rovers v Derry City

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Gutted but at the end of the day, rovers were the best throughout the season. Fair play to them but we will be back next year

48 Posts
    Just back, what a 1st half Derry had. A few great chances and some decent football when rovers couldn't get out of their own half for long spells.

The injury to Mc Glynn changed the game IMO and I think Kenny got it wrong with putting Mark Farren on instead of either Higgins or Harkin (both came on later in 2nd half) as we changed our shape and it suited Rvrs.

The stand opposite ours was almost full and probably was with what looked like most sections being more like a terraces with most standing.

Rovers seemed very nervous and Derry looked like they were on a mission like no other for the 1st half but we missed chance after chance and just didn't get the rub of the green which could have had the season lasting a bit longer.

Ah well, we've had an amazing season which very few expected and showed that we can play good stuff at times.Our younger players have now a great 1st season behind them in the premier and hopefully next year we can keep out title hopes alive for just as long.

Throat is fecked right now but hey it's better than roaring at a TV screen in some bar watching some team which will never mean as much from a different island.

A great occasion and as much as I dislike Shamrock Rovers congratulations.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

64 Posts
    Great achievement by Derry to be in a position to be challenging for the league last night. However any sympathy from me is subdued when you see that ham(you all know what that means-it's not an anti Muslim jibe) Zayed diving. Derry fans were a credit to their club whether you could near them on tv or not.
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Good game last night, especially second half. Agree with Richardson that European football has definitely helped Rovers, much more organised, more confident and much better at passing it around now - looks like they could dominate the league for a while.

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monkey9 View Post
    So you hate Bohs and Derry City!! Is there any part of you that takes pleasure in a Shams victory??
    Don't hate either... for what's it worth I recently said I felt sorry for Bohs etc. and in the post above I praised the manner in which Derry played lat night. I do however have very little regard for Kenny and Zayed after their comments relating to Turner as despite the inquiry at the time finding Turner innocent of racism neither Kenny or Zayed had the decency to publicly withdraw their unfounded allegations.

So kindly don't make a comment that I hate anyone or any team as I don't... I do to repeat that I dislike the actions of both Zayed and Kenny as explained above.... as to whether I got any pleasure from last night, I like you are a fan so I really think both of us know I don't need to respond as we both already know the answer.
    Last edited by Calcio Jack; 14/10/2011 at 8:42 AM.

46 Posts
    Cracking game last night. I've been watching these games afterward on RTE player from over here and its never quite the same as a live stream. Only just found my way to watching the live streams on rte.ie and it was excellent last night. Derry deserved a share of the points.
    Find me on Twitter @ImRedLen

42 Posts
    The benefits of Renters playing in Eurpoe was totally over played last night by that gob****e Rico - the man has his head so far up the renters hole its unreal. They looked better than Derry because they have by far the best team and squad in the country having spent far far more than anyone else in the country. its not ****ing rocket science
    Last edited by desaintsno.12; 14/10/2011 at 8:38 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    Its UK City Of Culture and it's not until 2013. But I appreciate the sentiment!
    Oh right, it was a guy in work from Derry who told my that. I just presumed it was a Euro CoC.

Quote Originally Posted by desaintsno.12 View Post
    The benefits of Renters playing in Eurpoe was totally over played last night by that gob****e Rico - the man has his head so far up the renters hole its unreal. They looked better than Derry because they have by far the best team and squad in the country having spent far far more than anyone else in the country. its not ****ing rocket science
    Stop sitting on the fence and tell us what you really mean !!
    Last edited by A face; 14/10/2011 at 8:53 AM.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by desaintsno.12 View Post
    Well they def looked and played differently to the times I saw them at the start of the season. Playing in Europe has helped them, they are more confident on the ball, dont panic as much, and are more organised, its not rocket science!

42 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Well they def looked and played differently to the times I saw them at the start of the season. Playing in Europe has helped them, they are more confident on the ball, dont panic as much, and are more organised, its not rocket science!
    and playing a few games in europe (half of which they got spanked in) has all of a sudden developed this ? or is that alco MON sobered up for a few weeks and finally has them playing like they should have been doin at the start of the season considering the far far superior squad and talent, compared to everyone else, he had available ?

136 Posts
    The second half was far superior in quality. Would have been interesting if Zayed had scored in the first half instead of ball coming back off post...

63 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    Great achievement by Derry to be in a position to be challenging for the league last night. However any sympathy from me is subdued when you see that ham(you all know what that means-it's not an anti Muslim jibe) Zayed diving. Derry fans were a credit to their club whether you could near them on tv or not.
    I don't. Care to clarify what you mean by ham then? I've tried googling and theres a whole range of meanings from several racial/religious slurs to meanings that have no relevance?

675 Posts
    Very disappointing. The better side won. Feel for Graecen, he's had a great season but in some ways it's a karmic swing for Mannus' howler at the Brandywell.

Annoying having to listen to Rico on the TV though - I missed the first 15 minutes but from then we bossed the first half and easily could've gone in ahead. But he kept banging on about how both sides played better in the 2nd. Eh? We completely fell apart after Rovers scored.

Anyway fair play to Rovers. We'll be back next year.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by horton View Post
    I don't. Care to clarify what you mean by ham then? I've tried googling and theres a whole range of meanings from several racial/religious slurs to meanings that have no relevance?
    Abbey actor maybe?

Who's yer man there? A bitter Pats fan? For what?

Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    to all the mouthy sligo fans on here, and to our real rivals,de boez....
    THATS why wer'e Champions.
    Illiteracy?

70 Posts
    Cahmpoins.
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

1,552 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoops1 View Post
    Cahmpoins.
    Sounds sore.

19. Thanks From:

445 Posts
    Although their title challenge ended last night Derry fans must be delighted with how the season has gone so far, Hopefully they take their eye off the ball and drop a few more points
    Here on a technicality.

Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    Although their title challenge ended last night Derry fans must be delighted with how the season has gone so far, Hopefully they take their eye off the ball and drop a few more points
    Aren't Derry going to be barred from Europe for 5 years following the financial chicanery this time two years ago?

I hope to see Pats finish ahead of Bohs to get the 3rd league Euro spot!

Quote Originally Posted by Mario View Post
    I hope to see Pats finish ahead of Bohs to get the 3rd league Euro spot!
    We will. We're miles ahead on goal difference witha 3 point cushion. Even a loss to Derry, we should be OK with the alst game against Drogheda.

Bohs have to play Sligo at home, then Derry away.

We'll win the Cup so if Derry are barred, Bohs will get the next spot. or Bray if they're barred

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast