Page 5 of 25 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Armenia - Tuesday, 11th October 2011 - Euro 2012 Qualifier

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Irish Times this morning pretty much flagged Cox's inclusion and also flagged his own disbelief that he gets picked ahead of others in form.
    As soon as I read the article I thought he must be playing. I might be wrong but I'm sure Cox got the OK from the management to give the interview.

161 Posts
    I can see the logic in picking Cox. He played OK against Macedonia. Played really well for about 15 mins when he came on against Russia. In fact looked our best player after Dunne and Given (for that 15 min spell). He believes on the pitch he is a much better player than he actually is. That type of arrogance can sometimes pay off in nail biters like this.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    I can see the logic in picking Cox. He played OK against Macedonia. Played really well for about 15 mins when he came on against Russia. In fact looked our best player after Dunne and Given (for that 15 min spell). He believes on the pitch he is a much better player than he actually is. That type of arrogance can sometimes pay off in nail biters like this.
    Goal shouldn't have been disallowed

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Kelly at left back is 'interesting', he filled in there against the Czech Rep? but had another game sometime at LB where where he struggled a bit?
    He's played quite a bit at left back for his clubs. I'm not too fussed. Armenia are going to come at us. He's better in situations when it's backs to the wall.

366 Posts
    As soon as I read the article I thought he must be playing. I might be wrong but I'm sure Cox got the OK from the management to give the interview.
    I think I read the same article. Mentioned that his missus picked up on his surprise at being included in the squad nevermind a starting XI! His selection ahead of Long looks a bit absurd on the face of it when you consider their respective positions (and performances) in the pecking order at West Brom but that would be doing an injustice to the inherent wisdom of a Trapism.

Of course this all means that he's now nailed on to score the winner tomorrow evening. He'll then make a triumphant return home where his wife will deliver a rousing monologue about the virtue of self-belief over a montage of Trap coaching Simon on the training ground to the sound of The Stunning's 'Brewing Up a Storm' before a slo-mo finish of said winning goal. Fade to black, roll credits and cue reflections on the moral of the story.

130 Posts
    just reminding it's an early kick off at 6.45pm tommorow

3,501 Posts
    Is it confirmed that Kelly will be at left full?
    Just wondering on the relative merits of the various combinations of full backs and wingers, eg Kelly + Duff and O'Shea + McGeady vs O'Shea + Duff and Kelly + McGeady

207 Posts
    . He believes on the pitch he is a much better player than he actually is. That type of arrogance can sometimes pay off in nail biters like this.
    Big time. He also seems to play with a kind of carefree attitude which I think could be ideal for this game. He won't be fussed it's our biggest game since Paris. When I saw him first up to collect his medal at the Aviva after the Scotland game and he only in the squad a week, I took an immediate shine to him :-)

446 Posts
    Maybe we should be stress how we do on the left up v. their right-back and their oldest outfield player at 37.
    That said, he's probably no mug?

2,284 Posts
    Hovsepyan is actually 38. I'm pretty sure he played against Derry City at the Brandywell in 2007 along with a few of their other players who were at Pyunik at the time, but I can't say I remember him/them especially well as individuals from then. As an outfit, not even Pyunik were the walkover everyone assumed they would be. With the exception of Hovsepyan and four other outfield players, their entire outfield squad is 24 years of age or under. The bookies have us as favourites, although I have a fear that the footballing world underestimates this current crop. I've watched their games against Russia away, Slovakia away and Macedonia at home - albeit not offering my fullest attention - and what I've seen of them in attack has me slightly apprehensive as I think they'll really have a go at us from the outset. I'm just hoping their defensive weaknesses will prove their downfall as I can see them passing and running rings around our worryingly anaemic midfield.

I can see us repeating a pattern of recent games and starting strongly, possibly bagging a goal ,before losing our way mid way through the first half and allowing them back in it.

386 Posts
    Bizarre selection of Cox ahead of Long. Hopefully the luckiest man in World Football can safely guide us to the playoffs tonight. At this stage, I require qualification as a minimum for Trap to be awarded a new contract.

Inspirational stuff out of our captain:

http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...n-2901551.html

3,493 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tommy_c12000 View Post
    Inspirational stuff out of our captain:

http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...n-2901551.html
    Shock as injured footballer enjoys himself. What do you want him to do with his evening off?

Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    Let Trap be lads, do ye really think any other manager would have us in with a shout at this late stage of qualification?
    The Armenian manager might.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Is it confirmed that Kelly will be at left full?
    It appears to be the accepted wisdom that Kelly will start at LB, as it says on the team sheet.

53 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by third policeman View Post
    If by some incredible miracle Trappatoni's mind-numbing obstinacy pays off against Armenia and gets through a play off against a European giant of the magnitude of Estonia or Montenegro, is there still a case for replacing him before his tactical shortcomings and perversely vindictive selction preferences are cruelly exposed this summer?
    Funny I think that if we did qualify for a tournament, that is when Trap would come into his own. International tournaments favour squads picked so that the players get along, without any 'trouble-makers' (think Holland 1996, England 2010, Saipan, Andy Reid).

Having the best part of a month to prepare would allow the tactics to be worked on better, making up for the weaknesses in the squad. The Italy game this summer was a good example of that, by no means the first choice XI but a really solid win.

And a major tournament would be win-win for expectations and pressure; the management and players would be up for the game in a way that they'd never be for Andorra away, while there'd be no real pressure (in the Ing-er-land we're gonna win the cup sense) to succeed from the public and supporters. Let's not forget that Ireland didn't outscore anyone in 1990 and that was our best ever tournament.

All this is academic though because the next game plus possible play-offs are as good as having to do a whole new qualification group.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Today is the day we need supporters/fans and not spectators. Hopefully, the plonker on the pa will play some stirring music instead of "Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, let's give a big Aviva welcome to Armenia".

Not sure my heart will make it if it's all square as we go in to the last 10 minutes and we are just hoofing the ball down the pitch. I worry about a sending off as well if we get too stuck in. Andrews in particular comes to mind after some of his tasty tackles in Andorra.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

386 Posts
    Shock as injured footballer enjoys himself. What do you want him to do with his evening off?
    I was just saying it was inspirational stuff out of our captain, that is all.

3,493 Posts
    What do you mean by that? Do you disapprove? (That's how it sounds) If so, why?

386 Posts
    No I'm just saying that he took me by surprise by his accomplished performance. Wasn't expecting it. Then his rousing chorus of, "Come on ye Boys in Green," mid song put goosebumps all over my body. It was 730pm and apparently he wasn't even drinking, not really a big deal really. A bigger deal is Long being on the bench for tonight

3,493 Posts

Anyways, back to tonight...

Page 5 of 25 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast