Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Title / Promotion Run In

worth noting btw that the broadsheet newspapers have not given the mons the two extra points yet as know one has been notified.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    League play-offs scheduled

by Extratime Team
    Wed, Oct 12 2011

The FAI have announced the details of the Airtricity League promotion/relegation play-offs. According to the press release, the third placed First Division club will face a two legged clash with the tenth placed Premier Division side. The first leg will take place on Tuesday 1st November with home advantage to the First Division club. The second leg will play three days later, on the 4th November.

This confirms the fact that the top two sides in the First Division will gain automatic promotion, resulting in a 12 team Premier Division next season. For the 2011 season, the Premier Division featured ten clubs. The First Division had been planned to contain 12 teams but with the withdrawal of Sporting Fingal from the league with no replacement selected, the division had to run with 11.

Should the play-off be level scores after the two legs, extratime and penalties will decide the game. As Shels currently are competing in the FAI Cup semi finals, should they finish third in the league and reach the FAI Cup final, the second leg game will be moved to the 9th November.

The match order and dates have been confirmed as follows by the NLEC (all matches to kick-off at 7.45 pm):

First Leg - Tuesday, 1st November:
    Third placed First Division Club v Tenth placed Premier Division Club

Second Leg – Friday, 4th November:
    Tenth placed Premier Division Club v Third placed First Division Club
    68, 99, 08

....at this stage.

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    ....at this stage.
    No. Youse have got to crucify them semi-nordie ba$tards next week. I'm going up to Monaghan to watch it.

420 Posts
    Its over now i reckon.

Fukn sickened. Hard to compete with pure good luck and roddy's getting it in spades. Still, you make your own luck I believe and this is scullys karma for being a negative tactician all season.

Another Mons late late sickener.....we've all had some but they are ridiculous. Going up to the game anyway on Friday, if we're still alive on the last day then you never know. Really want to see a performance from us and take the 3 points.

44 Posts
    What an absolute sickener last night. I knew it was coming but it still hurt. Particularly because Mervue had two glorious chances to equalise in injury time.

Reading on other forums, everyone seems to hate Mons. They're viewed as a cynical side who don't deserve to be in the position they're in. Now personally I believe the table never lies, but they have had their luck, what with the Harps debacle and copious last minute winners.

But like I've said before, we've been the architects of our own downfall. 9 goals in 2 home games shows what could have been done in Jackman earlier in the season. Shame.

420 Posts
    Big thank you letter from Mong U to Delaney and Fran if we win our last 2 it was the FAI that got em up....UCD at least will be thrilled that their support will look fantastic if Mons are up.

86 Posts
    You seem to be ignoring us. If we fail to beat Longball on Friday, we could be in a spot of bother!
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo Escobar View Post
    You seem to be ignoring us. If we fail to beat Longball on Friday, we could be in a spot of bother!
    Ye wont imo ye are the best team in the league wouldnt hold out any hope of ye dropping points.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Ye wont imo ye are the best team in the league wouldnt hold out any hope of ye dropping points.
    We're certainly playing well, but this is Cork City and I certainly won't be counting any chickens until we have 3 points on the board next Friday!
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

448 Posts

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by el-pietro View Post
    ffs :d
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

86 Posts

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by el-pietro View Post
    Ah FFS!!
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

57 Posts
    2 wins and there is still a chance one of Monaghan, Cork or Shelbourne could slip up.

Still possible albeit unlikely.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    2 wins and there is still a chance one of Monaghan, Cork or Shelbourne could slip up.

Still possible albeit unlikely.
    It's just torture at this stage.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    It's just torture at this stage.
    Ive accepted now we wont go up so im just happy to enjoy the last 2 games get 2 wins and if that ends up with us in 3rd its a bonus.

If we win the last 2 we are unbeaten in last series of games (i think) as much as ill be gutted we are not up ill be happy with the lads couldnt have done much more in last series just unlucky results didnt go our way. And if we win those 2 it means it was the Harps thing that kept us down so cant be annoyed with our lads.
    Last edited by bluewhitearmy; 17/10/2011 at 2:26 PM.

We can still win the league

....agree with bwa resigned to the fact we will finish fourth

Limerick FC have had their claim in relation to the decision to grant Monaghan three points for their nil-all draw with Finn Harps dismissed this evening by the Independent Arbitrator as they appeared not to have valid grounds in which to claim.

The claim was in relation to the three points forfeited to Monaghan by Finn Harps following their fielding of an ineligible player in their September 3rd matchup. After an initial rejection from the Appeal Committee, Limerick sought the arbitration as a last resort.
    http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/6906/

As a result, Monaghan have been awarded the three points, and the league table has been fixed accordingly.

This is the second time Limerick have challenged the FAI in a legal battle this season, winning the first case regarding the FAI’s refusal to grant them permission to host F.C. Barcelona in glamour friendly back in July through a process of arbitration.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast