Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456

Thread: Weekend's latest Sept 23rd-25th

3,270 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    that's now our 4th clean sheet in a row (7 in the last 6)
    7 clean sheets in six games? Impressive.

Devlins an idiot. There was absolutely no way he could have seen why the bray player was sent off from the angle he was at on that side of the pitch. But as usual he went ballistic at the officials and gave them no choice but to get rid of him.
    Apart from that Bray have a few nice players, and dempsey is the kind of leader on the pitch that the likes of rice and turner could only hope to be. Kellys goal was superb too, but rovers were always going to destroy them in the second half with that wind, and whats at stake for us.

Dempsey is different class alright. I wonder if we're bottom (or should I say top) of the disciplinary league. Doesn't that carry a fine at the end of the season?

238 Posts
    7 clean sheets in six games? Impressive.
    Yeah, we're magic.

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudulika
    I have to say I'm not MON's biggest fan, as a person he's grand, as a coach and tactician he's grand, but he's too defensive minded for my liking and could have done so much more this season with the players he has - how is that for stupidity on my part. Rovers are in the running for the league again, made history in Europe and still finding fault with a top manager. I'd love to see him move to a league where his ability would be tested and valued.
    He did come from a Scottish League. Stephen Kenny did too, only with a big sack, and not so much as a "thank you for your efforts".

As the biggest club in the country, the expectation level at SRFC is very high, and that's why people are finding fault with the coach. In Europe he's done a great job, although relies too much on a 4-5-1 line-up for my liking, limiting the likes of Twigg upfront. In the league, we have by some distance the best team and squad in the country, and the league should have been a walkover, but it isn't, and that's where the main issue lies.
    Last edited by mypost; 26/09/2011 at 9:33 AM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

398 Posts
    Just a question that I suppose could be asked about many coaches - is he afraid of losing? By now he should be teflon, but I kind of get a vibe (like with Eddie O'Sullivan at the end of his Irish tenure) that he was more afraid to lose than to push on and win. I don't buy this - football should be entertaining bit - the 0-0 in Moscow was one of the most entertaining games I've witnessed live for a long time. If it was Slovenia vs Kazakhstan (on tv) I'd have switched the channel, but it was my country and I wanted them to do well. I just, in one way, don't know how Rovers are not more dominant in Ireland (barring the odd wobble).

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudulika View Post
    Just a question that I suppose could be asked about many coaches - is he afraid of losing? By now he should be teflon, but I kind of get a vibe (like with Eddie O'Sullivan at the end of his Irish tenure) that he was more afraid to lose than to push on and win. I don't buy this - football should be entertaining bit - the 0-0 in Moscow was one of the most entertaining games I've witnessed live for a long time. If it was Slovenia vs Kazakhstan (on tv) I'd have switched the channel, but it was my country and I wanted them to do well. I just, in one way, don't know how Rovers are not more dominant in Ireland (barring the odd wobble).
    Oh, mother of the Sweet Divine Jesus.

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    He did come from a Scottish League. Stephen Kenny did too, only with a big sack, and not so much as a "thank you for your efforts".

As the biggest club in the country, the expectation level at SRFC is very high, and that's why people are finding fault with the coach. In Europe he's done a great job, although relies too much on a 4-5-1 line-up for my liking, limiting the likes of Twigg upfront. In the league, we have by some distance the best team and squad in the country, and the league should have been a walkover, but it isn't, and that's where the main issue lies.
    Oh, dear. And they wonder why no one likes them?.

Quote Originally Posted by sundance kid View Post
    Devlins an idiot. There was absolutely no way he could have seen why the bray player was sent off from the angle he was at on that side of the pitch. But as usual he went ballistic at the officials and gave them no choice but to get rid of him.
    Great to see Devlin losing his cool. Haven't seen it often enough in Tallaght. He was behind Winters for the incident, called him and the fourth official w*nkers. He didn't take kindly to a couple of lads taking his seat during half-time either

Not a great Rovers performance, but against Bray you have to take any win you get..
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

433 Posts
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Great to see Devlin losing his cool. Haven't seen it often enough in Tallaght. He was behind Winters for the incident, called him and the fourth official w*nkers. He didn't take kindly to a couple of lads taking his seat during half-time either

Not a great Rovers performance, but against Bray you have to take any win you get..
    Hmm I didn't hear that...he certainly didn't call Winters a w@nker (not to his face anyway) and I was behind him more or less. The fourth official was being a tool; Devlin was annoyed and yer man was goading him, imo. I reckon he took his sending off well enough.
    Bray would have lost anyway, I think.

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post

As the biggest club in the country, the expectation level at SRFC is very high, and that's why people are finding fault with the coach. In Europe he's done a great job, although relies too much on a 4-5-1 line-up for my liking, limiting the likes of Twigg upfront. In the league, we have by some distance the best team and squad in the country, and the league should have
    been a walkover
    , but it isn't, and that's where the main issue lies.
    It seems your players have taken the same attitude. No league is ever a walkover, on paper you may have the strongest squad, but when is the game ever played on paper. Silly comment by you there!!

433 Posts
    UCD 2-0 Bohs FT

also

From RTEMNS twitter

There is an altercation between Pat Fenlon and a couple of Bohs fans as they have a go at Anto Flood. Fenlon sticking up for his players.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

821 Posts
    Bohs are fooked. Any hope of European football gone tonight with that result, unless the win the cup of course (hope not)

539 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Bohs are fooked. Any hope of European football gone tonight with that result, unless the win the cup of course (hope not)
    not a chance after that draw in the FAI Cup!

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Did you honestly think that European qualification was going to have even the remotest bearing on their financial situation at season's end?

not a chance after that draw in the FAI Cup!
    Bohs have played Sligo 3 times this season, won 2 of them and drawn the other....of course they have a chance.

21. Thanks From:

138 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GalwayRed View Post
    Bohs have played Sligo 3 times this season, won 2 of them and drawn the other....of course they have a chance.
    Exactly, absolutely no gaurantee we will beat them.

I'm not confident at all. The one team this year who always seem to know how to play against us and handle us.

96 Posts
    ^They rode their luck both times they beat us to put it plainly we threw those games away. We ought to finish stronger and hopefully get past them, Pats would heve been a worse away draw, they defend well then look to hit you on the sucker.

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456