Thread: The game, ratings and highlights

Quote Originally Posted by NorthoftheLee
    eh no he wasnt.......he was up there tho..
    Yes, and a lot of his goals were in fact penalties. Good to know you have a penalty taker though.

Congrats and best of luck against Nantes...

Fly the Irish flag proudly in Europe!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Schunter Netz
    If only he had another yard of pace...but theres nothing anyone can do about that, and he makes the most of the talents he has.
    That's another thing that struck me yesterday, there was no City forward / winger with a magic burst of pace. My friend tells me John O'Flynn used to have that but hasn't regained it since he was injured.
    Fair play to the City players anyway, there was only once team out there that wanted to win the games and it sure wasn't those NEC Nancy Boys!!! Another thing, Nantes don't have their first league game until August 7th so I fancy City to create yet another upset!!! If they can avoid defeat away I think they'll have a very good chance in the 2nd leg. I'd love City to get a top Italian or German team in the semis!

eastcork
    Fenn would have got a rating of 7 yesterday. He was good but not great. JOF did a pile of running and put himself about like never before. He missed that sitter all right but he should never have gotten into that position as it was a blatant free! Colin T was my man of the match. All 4 backs would get a rating of 8 as well. Doyle worked his ass off too. Class result and who knows now...if we beat nantes (tall order in fairness), we have either liberc or some other dutch side, and then if we win that one (!!) we will probably have FC Schalke....If carslbeg did Intertoto dreams

Quote Originally Posted by Shelsman
    ... there was only once team out there that wanted to win the games and it sure wasn't those NEC Nancy Boys!!!
    I suppose as a Shels supporter you'd consider the physical side to NEC to be on the soft side

NEC wanted to win that game, make no mistake about that. Cork City were simply a better footballing team and showed just what they can do away from the thuggery of some of the other eL teams.
    don't worry, they couldn't hit an elephant at this dis......

Brilliant performance by every player on the pitch yesterday.I think u were your own there shelsman when you were applauding the Fenn sub at the end because I thought he was outstanding again and so did every1 I talked to and he is getting better every time I see him play.Kearney is another player who is really starting to impress me.George was great again and Colin is our player of the season by a mile,the man runs the team and if Dan got injured for any lenght of time I think Colin would get the captians armband and he would be even better with the added responsibity(if it was possible for him to be any better).Talking of Dan,our whole defence was excellent again and Micky didn't put a foot wrong although he had fcuk all to do until the last minute.

Dolan got it right again and I'd say Nantes will be watching our performances against Malmo and Nec very carefully and they will go into the game with a lot of respect for us.

Quote Originally Posted by eastcork
    ...if we beat nantes (tall order in fairness), we have either liberc or some other dutch side, and then if we win that one (!!) we will probably have FC Schalke....If carslbeg did Intertoto dreams
    Beating Nantes and then whooping another Dutch club would be the cream on the cake! A double-dutch for me please!

I German guy I was in college with is a FC Schalke supporter and he is always on about how they are so brilliant and all, so for City to play them and get a good result would shut him up BIG TIME.

Liberec would be tricky so I think drawing ( and beating ) another Dutch club would be fantastic, City really showed up NEC and I think they can do it again. At last Irish Teams have the self-belief to play at their best and believe they can win, the rest of Europe still believes we are part time / amateurs so we have a big advantage and can catch them on the hop. If I had a bit more cash I'd be off the Nantes to support the lads.

Quote Originally Posted by Shelsman
    One thing that struck me was that there was no quality striker on the bench that City could bring on -If City want to continue to progress as a club and keep this squad together, they need to strengthen it even more.
    with doyle on the pitch, all we have to do is push him up front and bring on another midfielder- so its not a problem at all. as for fenn, I thought he was very good. Colin T was the star again, what a player

106 Posts
    I think Kevin Nurray deserves 10/10 for his windmill impression.
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes for his friends.

I have never seen a more comfortable 1-0 win in my life. Great team performance.

Colin really is doing the business at the mo. Best midfielder in the country.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Smile Respect?? l hope!

Yesterday was outstanding,great performance,great atmosphere and every Cityfan enjoyed it.Now let's hope that the barstool supporters and the "WE" (premiership) brigage will give Cork City the respect and credit that they deserve.We have a team that play attractive football and at last a chairman who respects the paying supporter and he lets us know what is happening.We have a outstanding manager who wants to improve the structure and facilities of the club.We will always have the knockers who live for sky sports but even they should know now that the standard of football on their own doorstep is better than they thought.The Gaa/Rugby faternity should gives us credit too.l am proud to be a member of the Rebel Army.Roll on Nantes.