View Poll Results: When will we blow promotion?

Voters
16. You may not vote on this poll
  • Wexford (H)

5 31.25%
  • Mervue (A)

4 25.00%
  • Athlone (H)

1 6.25%
  • Monaghan (A)

5 31.25%
  • Waterford (H)

1 6.25%

Thread: When will we blow it

Question When will we blow it

Can a mod make this a poll.

In honour of Limerick fans and our legendary optimism the question I ask is simple:

Of the five must win games left which one will we blow it on?

Wexford (H)
    Mervue (A)
    Athlone (H)
    Monaghan (A)
    Waterford (H)

Monaghan is the obvious one but Mervue could be a cheeky outside bet.

I would have said Mervue but thinking of it we have a good chance of beating them, they will at least try play ball and not go all defensive . If we win all games up to Monaghan I think we can actually go up. Other teams have games in hand but I always say it's better to have points in the bag.

If it comes down to the last day of the season i don't think my nerves will handle it.

We now have 4 points from 6 in the last series of games against the other top teams. If we beat Monaghan then that's 7 from 9 and a great return in fairness.
    Last edited by Jofspring; 17/09/2011 at 7:48 PM.

Can a mod make this a poll.

In honour of Limerick fans and our legendary optimism the question I ask is simple:

Wexford (H)
    Mervue (A)
    Athlone (H)
    Monaghan (A)
    Waterford (H)

Next Friday we'll probably attract a crowd after that result last night......prays for rain

420 Posts
    Im going to be optimistic again and say we wont blow it.(And yes i am really a Limerick fan)

Just to be safe though ill do a little rain dance.

999 Posts

When will we blow it?

Poll added at LimTilIDie's request!.

Wexford (H)
    Mervue (A)
    Athlone (H)
    Monaghan (A)
    Waterford (H)

Last edited by osarusan; 17/09/2011 at 11:46 PM.

funboys at home
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

I like Mr. Ritchies style, you can tell he was a Pike regular, not a chink of light in his Limerick outlook.

Can we not vote for all the home games.. With them boo boys in the stand how can any home team ever concentrate ...I think if they weren't in the stand shouting like a--s we would have a better more confident side at home

Last game. I just have a feeling.

Stupid poll,by stupid people!!!
    Fail to prepare,prepare to fail--R.keane.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Second View Post
    Can we not vote for all the home games.. With them boo boys in the stand how can any home team ever concentrate ...I think if they weren't in the stand shouting like a--s we would have a better more confident side at home
    Weird how they play better away from home then when its only the lads from the Shed and a few more there wouldnt you think?

447 Posts
    you guys probably have the easiest run in. absolutely sickened.

Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    you guys probably have the easiest run in. absolutely sickened.
    Apart from Monaghan at home ye don't have to kick a ball!!

Quote Originally Posted by dutchie View Post
    Stupid poll,by stupid people!!!
    Ah no, it's all tongue in cheek in fairness.

I hope with all the hope I've left that we don't blow it, I think there's actually a good chance that we wont, you only had to see the reaction of the players and staff at the final whistle the other night, absolutely full of belief now and so they should be.

I just set this thread up at the same time as the "It's in our own hands thread" as a window into the psyche of your average Limerick fan. This one will run to 26 pages, the other one will barely get a reply.

Apart from Monaghan at home ye don't have to kick a ball!!
    Nonsense. Monaghan, Shels and Waterford(who's sole aim this season seems to be to beat us and do feck all else). All 3 will be tough. Fingers crossed Shels will have it officially won by then, like they should.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Nonsense. Monaghan, Shels and Waterford(who's sole aim this season seems to be to beat us and do feck all else). All 3 will be tough. Fingers crossed Shels will have it officially won by then, like they should.
    Think that's why he thinks mons are your only tough one. Shels will have the league wrapped up and certainly won't do us any favours. We had a tough run in but got Shels and ye out of the way with 4 points. Waterford certainly won't be easy for us either, have we ever in history won all our games against them in a season, I wouldn't think so.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    More or less what Jofspring says.

Mervue away is a tougher game than Waterford away IMHO. Waterford are terrible and getting worse, I know there's rivalry there but an early goal kills that. Plus it will probably be like a home game for ye crowd wise.

Shels will be gone on holidays for about two weeks by the time you come to play them. I fully expect them to roll over and have their bellies tickled.

447 Posts
    Waterford are terrible but they really want to spoil our season. That's all that they have left to play for. I agree that if we score early it would probably be game over, though our formerly stingy defense has been shaky in the last few weeks. The goals we conceded against your lot were criminally bad.

We have three "easy games" against Harps, Longford and Salthill that we should win - two at home as well. Monaghan will obviously be difficult, hopefully Tommy focuses on the game and not on Roddy.

Before this weekend I thought the Shels game would come at a time when they had won the league, now I'm not so sure. We need to beat Monaghan as much to get the three points as to ensure Shels aren't battling for the title on the last day.

Yeah, I wouldn't be so certain about Shels either. They're confidence is faltering and they're only 7 ahead of Mons and Mons have game in hand and play them. They could well need something on the last day.

I'll never write off Waterford in a game against us, no matter how bad their form is. Mervue is also slightly dodgy alright but simply a must win if we want promotion.

It's certainly going to be nailbiting!

Angry poll my arse

This is a ridiculous thread.Could anyone believe a limerick supporter set up this thread and didnt give an option
    for limerick not to blow it.Typical