Thread: Shels away (League)

Shels away (League)

This is going ahead as the league match and if we have to play them in the cup it will be set at a later date. A verdict on Shels appeal to be out tomorrow.

What do ye think our chances are. If we perform like we did last Friday we'll be well beaten but we are performing better away from home this season.

Hopefully Gamble can keep Cassidy quiet, he has always been a thorn in our sides for the last few years and we haven't had anyone put it up to him in midfield. I'd be worried at centre back, we need Purcell to have one of those games where he stops everything, especially with Hughes, at the moment I'm not too confident about White or McCarthy.

Big difference in the team that played Shels in Jackman a few months ago and the one this Friday.

I'm going to predict a draw 2-2.

It's an absolute must win, IMHO, they all are at this stage.

Cork are effectively four points ahead of us with six games left, 4 against dross and one against a Shels team that will be on the beer (possibly take) we need to win all our games and hope they somehow slip up twice.

The return of John Frost would be every bit as crucial to our chances as Paddy having a big game, wouldn't really fancy Bhandarkar or Treacy there.

Also any chance we can play Behan and Gaffney up front, worry them a small bit??

A team of:

Ryan

Kelly
    Purcell
    McCarthy
    Frost

Tracy
    O'Leary
    Gamble
    Judge

Behan
    Gaffney

While a bit narrow would be more than capable of winning up there provided Shane and Judgey put in massive shifts (which they would tbf)*

*I realise there isn't a hope in hell of the team lining out like that

Limerick to win 1nil

57 Posts
    Agree it is must win. Unless we win our last 6 games I can't see us getting a playoff. Even then we need another result for the loser of Cork v Monaghan (for either if they draw). I am assuming Monaghan get the points v Harps.

I think we can win. If we play well and get a decent game from the referee we can beat Shels.

For Cork Waterford away and Monaghan at home will be tough games. No love lost between Shels and Cork either but their season will be over at that stage.

Monaghan have to travel to Cork and Tolka. They also have to go to Mervue which has been a bogey for them. I also think Longford will make it difficult for both sides.

However in the 7 games so far v the top three we have 4 draws and 3 defeats. We also failed to beat any of last season's top three in 9 attempts. This has to change Friday.

420 Posts
    Id love to see the team LTID has picked but as he says there is no hope of that being it.

Stopping Casso is crucial if Joe can get to grips with him then we have a real chance in this one. We need to get at them from the star imo if you let them settle in they will start to control the game.

Behan could cause them real problems we have all seen how Stevo bullied them at times and Behan is far more physical then Steve. Id always be confident of Denis scoring after the start he has had but id have no faith at all in us keeping a clean sheet having Frosty back would really help that and he told me there is a good chance he ill be back.

Ill be optimistic and go for 2-1 Limerick.

Absolutely need 6 wins from 6. That team above might even do it....but we all could have picked teams this year that would have outperformed Scully's selection. Huge game, I think the players will put in the effort, lets just hope for a positive selection.

120 Posts
    If yis can't stop Casso you won't win. I wouldn't put Gamble on him though. Gamble would spend his whole game running around after him and Gamble's strength is as a playmaker. Put someone else on Casso - maybe even a sweeper - I see a very defensive approach from Shels - been a bit fragile at the back lately and Gaffney really made a dent in Shels in the first away game back in the spring.
    I wouldn't worry too much about Philly Hughes - not on a good run of form - if Purcell's awake he'll keep him in his pocket.
    Should be a great game - I'm really looking forward to it.
    As I said - Casso is the one you have to worry about. Will be interesting to see how Gamble copes with Kevin Dawson too (if he's played)

I think Gamble needs to show his class up against Casso more than anything. I don't necessarily meen for Gamble to chase him for 90 minutes but just not let him have it all his way like he usually does against us.

I hope Gaffney starts on the right, if not up front, and Tracey on the left. Scully seems to be playing them on opposite wings for about 60 mins then switching them.

I would go for the same team as LTID if they are all available with Brosnan coming on to take advantage of a few more tired legs near the end. Frost will be a huge boost if he comes back, another voice on the pitch.

120 Posts
    Can't wait for this match - I've got Barca Milan on the laptop and Arsenal on the telly and all I can think about is Tolka on Friday!

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by born2bwild View Post
    Can't wait for this match - I've got Barca Milan on the laptop and Arsenal on the telly and all I can think about is Tolka on Friday!
    You may aswell change your avatar go on let em go .

Have ye played Ian Ryan in midfield recently?

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    You may aswell change your avatar go on let em go .

Have ye played Ian Ryan in midfield recently?
    Yeah - against Wexford and also against Bohs in the Leinster Senior cup. He was trying to hold the line as if he was a centre half, god love him.
    He doesn't know the position but I would put him on Gaffney as a sweeper (don't know why I keep thinking of sweepers for this match - youse deffo have more strength in attack)
    No man, I haven't missed a single Shels match this year but I'll wait til next season before I out myself online.

According to today's Star, Gamble, Purcell and McGann have been added to the injury list.

Going to take that with a pinch of salt and hope to god it is wrong or we will be destroyed.

Won 2-1... wow. Dream is on for another week.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    Won 2-1... wow. Dream is on for another week.

Amazing result, fair play. It seems that win last week wasn't in vain. How high will confidance be after the last two wins.
    Your daddy works in porno
    Now that mommy's not around
    She used to love her heroin
    But now she's underground

Unbelievable result, was on a depression watching the updates. Was about to give up refreshing till Limerick pulled it back to 1-1.

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Unbelievable result, was on a depression watching the updates. Was about to give up refreshing till Limerick pulled it back to 1-1.
    its not over till the fat lady sings.Totally Amazing result.
    To be or not to be

Bad bad error by the shels keeper for the winner. I haven't been at a finish like that since the 99 champions league final. Totally undeserved result.. Game should have been over at half time... How sweet!!!

Never heard so much bile and hatred for a manager as I heard for Scully both during and after the game on the shels bar... Christ they really despise him!!

120 Posts
    Well done - yis never gave up.
    Shels played well enough to win - played better than they have since before the summer break, so no worries. If they keep playing as well they'll be promoted no bothers - in that case I won't mind tonight's result so much as I'd rather see youse go up than Monaghan.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    858 Posts
    I had given up on the updates on this at about 70 mins when it looked like we were going to set a record for bookings in a half, refreshed to confirm the season was over and hey presto, daylight robbery. Lovely. It had looked like Scully's H.T. team talk had set us on course for some red cards and little else, but we fight another week.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    1 Shelbourne 24 19 2 3 50 / 18 59
    2 Monaghan United 23 16 4 3 46 / 20 52
    3 Cork City 24 14 9 1 53 / 20 51
    4 Limerick 25 15 6 4 35 / 21 51
    5 Longford Town 24 10 3 11 30 / 30 33
    6 Mervue United 25 9 4 12 35 / 37 31
    7 Waterford United 23 9 3 11 27 / 22 30