Thread: New cross border competition?

89 Posts

New cross border competition?

Rumours coming out of the AGM up here in Derry is that the FAI is set to announce the investigation of a cross border competition, subject to security issues
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

That is brilliant news ....... it is long overdue and fans on both sides have been suggesting it for ages. It makes perfect sense.

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    Rumours coming out of the AGM up here in Derry
    Anything else being rumoured or otherwise ? Whats the ska like ??

It was indeed proposed that there should be one

Nice one Dundalk V Newry
    Children in the dark cause accidents.
    Accidents in the dark cause children.

It would be great news if it were true!

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    Rumours coming out of the AGM up here in Derry is that the FAI is set to announce the investigation of a cross border competition, subject to security issues
    Nice one.Harps v Derry!

Quote Originally Posted by corkharps
    Nice one.Harps v Derry!

Some laugh, think its top 4 each league, so we would take a few years to enter but harps are just plain ****ed

Quote Originally Posted by Dazzy
    Some laugh, think its top 4 each league, so we would take a few years to enter but harps are just plain ****ed

touche

Exclamation

There has already been the North West cup a few years ago. That wasn't really successful, hence it doesn't exist anymore. Unless the two leagues are united it'll be a miserable failure. Another mickey mouse job!!
    Rocky

Fran said that he's secured an international company as a sponsor if it goes ahead. If there's prize money to be won to could be a good competition. If not it could end up like the league cup with reserve teams competing.

He might also just have a wee word with his counterparts in the IFA,before he spins to the media!Starting to worry a little about this character!

Quote Originally Posted by corkharps
    He might also just have a wee word with his counterparts in the IFA,before he spins to the media!Starting to worry a little about this character!
    On a similar theme, the Scottish FA don't seem to know anything about the jount Euro 2012 bid Fran is proposing.

Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student
    On a similar theme, the Scottish FA don't seem to know anything about the jount Euro 2012 bid Fran is proposing.
    The FAI said at the AGM they were going to investigate another joint bid, not that they had talked to the Scots.

Of course all of these annoucements have nothing to do with shifting attention away from the latest internal dispute...

The Scottish would be mad to go in with us again, absolutley mad. I can't see them being daft enough to make the same mistake twice.

This is just asking for trouble. If we can't have a Bohs v Waterford game without serious trouble, and let's not even mention Bohs/ Rovers, what chance have the likes of Linfield or Portadown visiting south without the usual rabble (and they're at every club) taking the chance to prove how tough they are? And what has the Northern League to offer us? From what I've seen on TV the standard is much lower than here.

Cool Bohs Knackers

The idiots behind that attack were mindless tossers. We have them in Dalymount just as rovers have them and Pat's have them too. Thankfully these are a very small minority at dalymount. Speaking as a bohs fan, I want that scum out of the club just as much as you want them out of football. North/south is one route to go and an improved "Irish" league would make it easier to make inroads into Europe. From what I have heard many fans north of the border are sceptical about security and they should know.

Quote Originally Posted by jim
    This is just asking for trouble. If we can't have a Bohs v Waterford game without serious trouble, and let's not even mention Bohs/ Rovers, what chance have the likes of Linfield or Portadown visiting south without the usual rabble (and they're at every club) taking the chance to prove how tough they are? And what has the Northern League to offer us? From what I've seen on TV the standard is much lower than here.
    Hang on a second ...... the rabble is a problem but it can be overcome. obviously it might be hard at the start but chríst if we're/they're/all of us are not going to put in the effort then we might aswell throw in the towel. I really wish people would stop playing that card all the fookin' time ..... maybe it would strike fear into everyone breathing a few years back but it aint working now. COP ON ... we can do without the dooms day factor FFS.

The competition should be looked at in footballing terms first .... it is practical, we are fookin' neighbours ..... up the fookin' road. It is one league competing against another, different teams, different players, different skill/tactics and the end result is it would benefit both leagues with the added interest.

The rabble that you mention .... fair enough, we have to deal with that. but what about the people that just come along because it is a game with a difference. Bear in mind the other team wont have two fookin' heads running around the park, it is just a team we have played before. Neutrals, barstoolers ... all watching a game of footie. What do you actually expect to happen, how many rabble will there but ..... tops a hundred mindless fúckwits running about acting the maggot. Sit the fúck down and get the **** away from the panic button, you're not up to it !!