Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: pat scully signs two year extension

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    What about Shane Clarke, Conor Kavanagh & Pa Mullins??? (are you telling me none of them would make the current Limerick squad?), and what Scully is doing to Yellow Lyons is nothing short of a disgrace.
    Agree there is plenty of players in around Limerick that are better than some of what we have. In saying that though a lot of those players have played with us previously and we where no better than we are now and if anything we where worse off. Some of those players left of their own accord too even though the club wanted them to stay. We have only lost 4 games all season, thats some achievement and most years would be league winning/promotion form. I have no problem with the mix Scully has in the team of youth from Limerick and the surrounding areas and players with LOI experience from around the country. I agree about Yellow though, he is too good to be treated the way he has been and no player should be treated like that.

The main problem I have had with Scully is his bizarre selection choices and the inability to see where things are going wrong on the pitch and change them during a game. If we don't get promoted it is something fresh we need coming in. Just look at Shels, Keeley failed to get them up after a few years, they changed the manager and he brought a better approach to them and has used what he has well and look where they are now.

On the big budget thing, surely there is a maximum of 5 players that would be on in LOI terms big or decent wages (most likely Gamble, Behan, Frost, O'Flynn and possibly one or two more) the rest would be on alright wages or very small wages. If you look at the rest of the LOI a lot of teams, especially in the premier, would have starting 11's all on very good wages and some with even more than that.
    Last edited by Jofspring; 15/09/2011 at 11:15 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    What about Shane Clarke, Conor Kavanagh & Pa Mullins??? (are you telling me none of them would make the current Limerick squad?), and what Scully is doing to Yellow Lyons is nothing short of a disgrace.
    Clarke is a superb junior player, but that's as far as I'd take him. Mullins is decent, but in my opinion I think he'd struggle in LOI, and Kavanagh, fair enough I did forget about him, didn't he train with them last year though til pike came-a-knockin' ? You'd have to question the mentality to go back to junior football when you have a LOI chance.

No one knows the full ins and outs of what's happening with yellow, all anyone has heard is the players side of things which are going to be pretty one sided anyway. It's not like he's going to hold his hand up and say "I didn't do x, y or z" so there's probably a lot more to it. I'm not defending either of them like but if you got both sides the truth probably lies halfway between them..

Quote Originally Posted by kingpin4 View Post
    Clarke is a superb junior player, but that's as far as I'd take him. Mullins is decent, but in my opinion I think he'd struggle in LOI, and Kavanagh, fair enough I did forget about him, didn't he train with them last year though til pike came-a-knockin' ? You'd have to question the mentality to go back to junior football when you have a LOI chance.

No one knows the full ins and outs of what's happening with yellow, all anyone has heard is the players side of things which are going to be pretty one sided anyway. It's not like he's going to hold his hand up and say "I didn't do x, y or z" so there's probably a lot more to it. I'm not defending either of them like but if you got both sides the truth probably lies halfway between them..
    Alot of junior players are reluctant to go play league of ireland with limerick because its so easy to sign and give it a go but its not so easy to go back playing junior, the Chairman has stopped players going back to junior.

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Agree there is plenty of players in around Limerick that are better than some of what we have. In saying that though a lot of those players have played with us previously and we where no better than we are now and if anything we where worse off. Some of those players left of their own accord too even though the club wanted them to stay. We have only lost 4 games all season, thats some achievement and most years would be league winning/promotion form. I have no problem with the mix Scully has in the team of youth from Limerick and the surrounding areas and players with LOI experience from around the country. I agree about Yellow though, he is too good to be treated the way he has been and no player should be treated like that.

The main problem I have had with Scully is his bizarre selection choices and the inability to see where things are going wrong on the pitch and change them during a game. If we don't get promoted it is something fresh we need coming in. Just look at Shels, Keeley failed to get them up after a few years, they changed the manager and he brought a better approach to them and has used what he has well and look where they are now.

On the big budget thing, surely there is a maximum of 5 players that would be on in LOI terms big or decent wages (most likely Gamble, Behan, Frost, O'Flynn and possibly one or two more) the rest would be on alright wages or very small wages. If you look at the rest of the LOI a lot of teams, especially in the premier, would have starting 11's all on very good wages and some with even more than that.
    You sure your not the manager.

Quote Originally Posted by hotspur View Post
    Alot of junior players are reluctant to go play league of ireland with limerick because its so easy to sign and give it a go but its not so easy to go back playing junior, the Chairman has stopped players going back to junior.
    Barr Tierney and maybe yellow (don't know the story there) I don't know of any other players that have had trouble dropping back to junior. I even remember a Boro lad on this saying fair play to Michael O Sullivan for sorting out Jason Hughes going back to junior and the manner in which he went about it.

Quote Originally Posted by hotspur View Post
    You sure your not the manager.
    We'd be top of the league if I was

Kavanagh and Mullins in particular are players that I have no doubt would make a huge difference to the team. Mullins, taking into account his lack of height, is a brilliant footballing centre half and his ability to read a game is so good its scary. Kavanagh is by a country mile the best central midfielder in junior football at the moment in my opinion and with a little bit of improvement to his first touch would be a fantastic addition to the midfield.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by capello View Post
    NAG NAG NAG, thats all the lot of ye do on this site, it seems to me that all these so called great JUNIOR SOCCER players would rather be a big fish in a small pond in the local leagues than test themselves against the best in the LOI.
    As for this great Tierney chap, i have seen him enough times to know that he will never make it in the LOI, sur didn't Ski take him to Cork City with him and he made NO impact there and I still hear his name being posted and one of these great players Scully is ignoring and i am sure the rest of these great junior players in Limerick are no better. If ye want to follow Junior players that follow the junior leagues, if u want to follow LOI soccer and Limerick FC then grow up and enjoy the experience.
    Having an opinion is one thing but ye are the most depressing shower of supporters I have come across, its like looking out the window every morning and wishing for rain so that ye can complain about the weather.
    The good facts.
    (1) Best season in years
    (2) No Cash worries
    (3) A respected Manager who works on all aspects of the club.
    The real facts
    (1) Supporters that always complain
    (2) Show no support to the manager
    (3) supporters that will not go togames in enough numbers to make the club viable
    Well said PS
    68, 99, 08

Pat Scully

420 Posts
    Everyone knew i was joking when i said he shouldn't have got the deal ya

For one more week anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Everyone knew i was joking when i said he shouldn't have got the deal ya
    Likewise I was confused that he hadn't gotten a new deal sooner.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123