Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Dundalk FC up for grabs!

Most teams train on Astro turf I would imagine.

We played all our games on a grass pitch and our injury list through the season was:

Gary Sheehan
    Stephen O Flynn
    Dave Ryan
    Brian O Callaghan
    Shaun Maher
    Shane Tracey
    John Frost
    David O Leary
    Chris Breen
    Thomas Lyons
    James O Brien

Most of those where out for either most of the season of for weeks at a time so its not just playing matches on synthetic surfaces that picks up injuries. Luckily though we had some good A players to call upon when needed.

433 Posts
    who do ye want lads to be the new Dundalk manager? I know Tommy Johnson has being linked with the job along with Sean Connor. Would Connor be welcomed back with open arms?
    As I said before, if Sean Connor is appointed again I will not step foot in Oriel.

Buckley and Mahon are the favourites it seems. 30 applications.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

125 Posts
    I wasn't Connor's biggest fan but sometimes we played good stuff under him.
    i'd take him back only without the baggage that comes with him.
    Long Live King Kenny

958 Posts
    Training methods can also be responsible for extensive injury list never mind surfaces played on .Spurs had major problem until backroom staff were changed and it was implied then that a change in pre-season intensities improved the 'robustness' of the squad. We signed players that had histories of spells out injured with previous clubs. The major reason for our injury list was that the injured players were rushed back without sufficient rehab or rest time. Injuries were not fully healed and then exaccerbated not by the pitch. Foster had little choice maybe. As mentioned before the most severe soft tissue injury (to Sam) happened in Tallaght. The pitch has once again been awarded 2*status which to at least some extent refutes info that was given to St Pats on the longeivity of the surface. Maybe not a good thing lol.
    Public meeting with the trust could help to clear up a lot of the misinformation being spewed from various parties throughout this messy process.

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    Ok Sean Get to a hospital asap.
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    There is a whole bunch of contrary opinions and research about this, but it was the same pitch without the long injury list in 2010 and 2009.

If a manager really believed that the pitch would cause more injuries, then surely the logical actions would be to assemble a larger squad pre-season, and to do the bulk of the training on grass during the season itself
    He had Hiney Park available to him so if he was so concened about the injuries then it was logical to train there.(For anyone that dosnt know,Hiney Park is a grass pitch that belongs to GM & is next door to OP and id available to DFC for training on at all times)
    Also,he was very poor in his use of the bench ALL season!! Subbing injured/recovering from injuries players in the last 2 mins with a game won/lost is just naive.
    He deserved to get the chop.
    Last edited by bullit; 27/11/2011 at 7:01 PM. Reason: Hiney Park location clarification.

Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    Maybe Trevor Anderson could come in as his number two.

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eelmonster View Post
    Maybe Trevor Anderson could come in as his number two.
    maybe or john hewitt, eddie may and martin murray. lol.
    there are worse managers out there than Connor and if we could control the off the pitch antics and with a strong chairman to keep him in line I would take him back but we dont have a strong chairman who would do that and seanie would be up to his old tricks
    Long Live King Kenny

65 Posts
    South America is starting to love plastic pitches. I don't think they are as much to blame for the injuries than Ian Fosters insistence on playing players that were already carrying an injury....both seasons that he was in charge!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-15965082

Loads of countries have platic pitches, but they look after them. Dundalk's is awful

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Loads of countries have platic pitches, but they look after them. Dundalk's is awful
    Is that why it got the same stars required for it to be used in Europe again this year???? Jaysus Dodge, you are really coming across as bitter.

65 Posts
    If Pats want to come up and train on it so that they can't complain that Dundalk have an unfair advantage, I'm sure Dundalk will rent it to them.

Quote Originally Posted by Quayman View Post
    Is that why it got the same stars required for it to be used in Europe again this year???? Jaysus Dodge, you are really coming across as bitter.
    How is that bitter? We've a brilliant record in Oriel in recent times.

Fair play on the Stars. your pitch is still awful

82 Posts
    Maybe, but it has passed rigorous testing that most cabbage patch pitches in this country would fail horribly.

How is that bitter? We've a brilliant record in Oriel in recent times.

Fair play on the Stars. your pitch is still awful
    Because your club seems to be going tits up atm and all you have to moan about it the "plastic" pitch at Oriel Park. The pitch has passed extensive testing since we came up and has never failed. So both Uefa and the FAI have no problem with it, so stop coming on here crying about it.

Just to highlight, we picked up one bad injury at Oriel all last season, Maher going over badly on his ankle. All other injuries were picked up away from home, esp Tallaght were we seemed to suffer the majority of our "bad" injuries.

Quote Originally Posted by Quayman View Post
    Because your club seems to be going tits up atm and all you have to moan about it the "plastic" pitch at Oriel Park.
    My club is fine, and this is a thread about Dundalk.

Still fail to see how I'm being bitter

433 Posts
    No need to go off on one Quayman, people are entitled to an opinion. Most Dundalk fans hate the bloody pitch!
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

958 Posts
    You imply that Dundalk dont look after the pitch, where did you get that from? Dont get either why you think Dundalk's pitch is any better or worse than other similar surfaces considering it is up to required standards and the considerable use it gets? The info you posted in a previous thread some time back on Pats consideration for an artificial was obviously misinformation!

305 Posts
    The pitch looks a bit drab right now,prob needs a bit of remedial work done on it but otherwise it plays perfect and will remain an asset to the club.As has been said, it has retained the 2 star UEFA status(FIFA RECOMMENDED 2 STAR).
    'Nuff said.

Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    The info you posted in a previous thread some time back on Pats consideration for an artificial was obviously misinformation!
    Clearly. Only reporting what a Pats board manager told an open meeting of fans.

I've seen rubbish grounds past UEFA tests, that Oriel's passed doesn't surprise me. You're happy with it, and Dundalk are happy with it. Thats fine

I think the surface is awful

123 Posts
    Clearly. Only reporting what a Pats board manager told an open meeting of fans.

I've seen rubbish grounds past UEFA tests, that Oriel's passed doesn't surprise me. You're happy with it, and Dundalk are happy with it. Thats fine

I think the surface is awful
    So you're saying you won't be signing??

24. Thanks From:

Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast