View Poll Results: What should John Delaney do about his wages?

Voters
52. You may not vote on this poll
  • He should leave them the way they are

1 1.92%
  • He should reduce it by half, €200k is enough

34 65.38%
  • He should step down as a result of this

7 13.46%
  • He should pay back the money he has extorted from the game

10 19.23%

Thread: John Delaneys €400k A Year Wage

63 Posts
    Was it not Delaney a few years ago that decided instead of members being given access to the accounts at least a week in advance of the AGM, that they only be issued the morning of the AGM instead, or am I talking ****? I'd love to know what kinda pension fund he's managed for himself. Probably more than most people earn!

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    I'm all for measuring the tangible and non-tangible but even when all that is said and done it still donesn't warrant €400k a year. Its off the wall no matter what argument is made in its defense.

There have been improvements since he filled the position, i wont deny that ..... but look at where we were, it was never going to be hard to improve upon it. He held the position during the best economical period the country has ever had and you would have to review the achievements bearing that in mind. And you also have to agree that achievements are part of his role, they should be a given. He shouldn't be rewarded for just doing his job.

"His salary is based on how much money he brings into the organisation" .... when people were throwing the money away. Celtic Tiger money was easily got for the last few years. Right now we are up to our eyes in dept and there is no solid plan in place to address that.
    Well the Celtic Tiger was part of it but even now the sponsorships deals are worth more than they were five years ago, and that against declining interest from the public. I have no idea whether he's actually worth the 400,000 or not, or how I'd even go about calculating that, but I think the people who are using on-field achievements or lack thereof to measure his salary are mistaken as to what his actual job is.

For the record, I think somebody who's enforcing job cuts and salary cuts across an association should have the humility to take the biggest hit himself, but I suspect John Delaney didn't get to the top of the FAI ladder by being humble.

Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs
    ..... The CEO of the Football Association of Ireland and his remuneration has nothing at all to do with football. Only in Ireland.
    You should check out who the President of the English FA is.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    You should check out who the President of the English FA is.
    Prince William? The President's role is nothing but ceremonial in the FA.
    Delaney's equivalents' would be David Bernstein (Chairman) or Alex Horne (FA General Secretary).
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Yeah, I was being tongue in cheek. Bernstein would be his equivalent and, like Delaney, doesn't really have much background in the mechanics of the game but he's a shrewd operator in business circles.

Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    The clubs both junior and senior
    Do we have names for these? Will have a look on www.fai.ie tonight to see who should fit the bill

the Dept of Sport
    Minister for Sport so

60 Posts
    Delaney is the main reason I won't buy a ticket to an Ireland game again. In these hard times I'm not going to contribute to his hugely inflated wages. I've spent a life time in grass roots football and this man sickens me with his greed.
    Always look on the bright side of life

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    His salary is based on how much money he brings into the organisation, not how the league is administered or how the national teams perform. And the man is brilliant at getting people to give money to the FAI. He's a snake but he's our snake.
    How much money does he bring into the country? The CEO of the IDA earns 'just' €200,000 pa. Does he bring in more investment than the IDA?

What terrifies me more is the thought of how much, if Delaney is on €430,000, his cronies and minions earn.

Quote Originally Posted by born2bwild View Post
    What terrifies me more is the thought of how much, if Delaney is on €430,000, his cronies and minions earn.
    There has to be a break down of this available somewhere.

who is the minister for sport actually?

1,813 Posts
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cornflakes View Post
    Delaney is the football equivalent of Bertie Ahern.
    Jaysus, that's harsh. I don't think €400k is the appropriate salary for an organisation of this size, but Delaney does not appear to have the streak of cynicism and alleged corruptability of Ahern.

There's no doubt that Delaney has some skills, notably in commercial deals and in administrative work within UEFA. His steering of the local game is less assured, although I do wonder how much he can do here. The FAI is littered with committee structures, and some of the people who sit on these (and I know one or two) are, frankly, eejits. And worse, they are intransigent eejits. Either which way, €200k would be closer to a reasonable salary.

60 Posts
    Delaney wages are a lot higher than what Ahern was earning from the job of Taoiseach.

96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy View Post
    Delaney wages are a lot higher than what Ahern was earning from the job of Taoiseach.
    I bet Delaney doesn't get as many "dig outs" though.

539 Posts
    just listened to the john delaney interview. it was pathetic of newstalk to have this discussion with him in front of a live audience.

398 Posts
    If this topic was discussed by almost any other medium than "off the topic" on Newstalk I'd be happy, but the morons who were "hosting" him and who give zero time to anything to do with Irish football (let alone the league) set up a lynching which failed and had them claiming he brought an entourage "P diddy style". Pathetic effort by them, the same goons who were able to claim that Paris Saint Germain were a small side who nobody went to watch, this being just one of many idiotic statements and efforts by them. It was Indo light on the air. Ridiculous.

I'm not a fan of how the FAI have handled the development of the LOI or football in Ireland, though to give them sole blame is to absolve the clubs, fans and everybody else. Picking on one mans salary is easy, he could earn less, yet if Ireland qualified for the Euro's would there still be a call for him to take a further cut? Only a couple of weeks back posters were slamming Newstalk for it's LOI coverage, how easily we forget.

55 Posts
    I would call for him to take a cut even if we qualify. It's nothing to do with him with we qualify, he doesn't take the blame when we haven't so why give him credit if we do. His salary is a disgrace, end of.

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gormacha View Post
    I bet Delaney doesn't get as many "dig outs" though.
    In fairness, he wouldn't need a dig out on that salary.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy View Post
    Delaney is the main reason I won't buy a ticket to an Ireland game again. In these hard times I'm not going to contribute to his hugely inflated wages. I've spent a life time in grass roots football and this man sickens me with his greed.
    Ditto

36 Posts
    just listened to the john delaney interview. it was pathetic of newstalk to have this discussion with him in front of a live audience.
    why? its what we are all thinking and what we all want to ask him

fair play to them

446 Posts
    Isn't it €430k p.a.?

Regardless of whether he's doing a good job, he wouldn't get the same rate now.
    Expect the next incumbent to get €100-150k 'reality check'...