Well done to all at NCFC for retaining the lg. Tough lg to win but even harder retain. Lets hope the Newmarket management can replicate the winning mentality and success in the Oscar Traynor.
On a separate note I thought the Avenue assistant manager's 'instructions' to his centre forward were absolutely disgraceful. With 10 minutes left in the game and the scoreline at 5-1 he shouted from the sideline ''Mikey, break his leg'' (pointing at a Newmarket player) - sums up the individual really. Needless to say Mikey ignored the instructions.
Just updated our signature lads
CDSL Cup Champions 2008 / 2009 / 2011 / 2013 / 2014 - CDSL League Champions 2010/11 - - - - - - 2011 /12
members - TBC
Avenue have a lot of mouth on the sideline but I can honestly say knowing most of the lads that they are a good bunch and will no doubt have wished Newmarket every congratulations in winning the league. If those instructions were given by that particular person then I'm not too surprised but hope that the powers that be in Avenue remove him from management.
Well done to Newmarket. Its a great achievement to have gone unbeaten this far and I hope ye finish it off in style against Tulla. By the way that was some goal from Stephen Kelly yesterday.
Avenue United A 1 Newmarket Celtic A 5
Newmarket were crowned Premier League champions for the second year in succession when they defeated Avenue United at Lees Road on Sunday.
Attention now turns to their challenge to complete the league and cup double and all eyes will be on their cup semi-final against Bridge United A on Sunday week.
In the meantime, they will complete their league programme this week when they play Tulla United A after which the league trophy will be presented to captain Mark Donlon.
The title holders took the lead through Ronan McCormack midway through the first half and this goal separated the teams at half time.
Moments after the resumption of play Avenue were back on terms when Alan Roche found the target.
The title holders were back in front ten minutes later when a Darren Cullinan cross was deflected to his own net by Colin Smith. A superb volley from outside the box from Stephen Kelly saw them double their lead and they went on to add goals from Eoin Hayes and Eoin O’Brien to seal a merited victory.
Avenue United A: John Healy; Mattie Nugent, Alex Zmusko David Herlihy, Simon Cuddy; Alan Roche, Colin Smith, David Smith, Dave McCarthy, Con Collins, Mikey Mahoney.Subs: Barry Nugent for Mahoney; Pa Sherlock for Herlihy.
Nerwmarket Celtic A: Jason Casey; David O’Grady, Enda Kelly, Mark Donlon, Darren Cullinan; Mike Devitt, Stephen Kelly, Eoin Hayes, Eoin O’Brien; Ronan McCormack, Daithi O’Connell.
Subs: Seamus Lawlor for O’Connell; Paudi Hayes for McCormack; Alan Kelly for Devitt.
Courtesy of Clare Champion- The biggest game of the year and it gets a couple of lines. Shocking reporting!
Courtesy of Clare Champion- The biggest game of the year and it gets a couple of lines. Shocking reporting![/QUOTE]
Sure they are a gaa paper. like most local papers.
Wounder why Lazylegs posted that report ?
CDSL Cup Champions 2008 / 2009 / 2011 / 2013 / 2014 - CDSL League Champions 2010/11 - - - - - - 2011 /12
members - TBC
I don't know why anyone is surprised with the Clare Champions report. We are a minority sport in their eyes.
First off big congrats to Newmarket going the league unbeaten is a remarkable feat ... Secondly shame on avenue for not trying to finish season strong I heard they had a massively weakened team out today
First of all, congrats to Newmarket, always good to retain any cup, especially the league and they did it in style, going unbeaten for the whole season! Very good achievement and I hope no one in Clare begrudges them, they deserved to do it!
Secondly, fair play to Tulla, third place is a fantastic position for them and you can see the progress they've made and has, like Newmarket, put it up to the townie teams and who knows, could go better next year, if they've everyone back, few emigrated from what I hear.
Lastly, well done Mountshannon, they had to win to have any chance and win they did, albeit against a weakened Avenue side but you can
only beat what's in front of you! Here's to a good 2011/2012 and hopefully an even better 2012/2013!
We put out the best team we could get out. It was the day after some of the players had family members making communion, few other players were away and a few were injured. The youths had just played league title decider and youths final in the last few days. The b team have their onown big game coming up against rock on Friday night. We also hit the bar twice and had 2 cleared off the line. Just wasn't to be, good luck to mountshannon in playoff. Hard luck Olympic, if ye tried as hard against other teams like ye did against avenue recently ye wouldn't have been relegated.
again another classy reply from avenue bad enough olympic get relegated but you have to have a little dig at them are teams not allowed to try and win games against avenue .,, ye were beaten today 3-1 by a team that had only won one game all season ye are a club so in love with yourselves but at the end of the day no pride / heart and most important CLASS .
" football is a simple game "
That comment wasnt a dig at olympic, its an honest opinion of mine which i m entitled to. Heres a bit of class, mountshannon would have beat ye in de playoff regardless of today. Your knocking mountshannon for only having won one game before todayeary, yet Olympic have only won 2 games and lost 3 more than them. Good luck next