Page 15 of 29 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2011/12

I've seen newmarket twice This season and in 1 of those games they had Enda Kelly Stephen Kelly eoin o brien Darren cullinan Daithi o connell and kieran devil had Colin Ryan Neil Ryan and eoin Hayes on bench that's 6 starters and 3 subs that play hurling.. Regardless of that every club has Gaa lads and Newmarket are top of the table cause they deserve to be..

I haven't seen any of Newmarket in the league so far so i can't really comment I was just saying that could be a potability as to why clubs are complaining about them getting so many games early before the hurling season get's properly underway. But yeah even at this stage the league table doesn't lie and if you're on top you're obviously doing something right so fair play to Newmarket.

[QUOTE=Bayern Munchies;1556692]I haven't seen any of Newmarket in the league so far so i can't really comment I was just saying that could be a potability as to why clubs are complaining about them getting so many games early before the hurling season get's properly underway. But yeah even at this stage the league table doesn't lie and if you're on top you're obviously doing something right so fair play to Newmarket.[/
    QUOTE]

I dont think clubs are giving out about newmarket only, i think its just in the interest of fair play that no team should get more than 3 games ahead. For instance tulla have 6 played to rock rovers 1 game. It just seems that the teams that are trying their hardest to advance in national competitions get left behind. Its not any clubs fault, its just something that should be looked at so it won't happen every year. Otherwise club are just going to get knocked out of national competitions early and this will leave Clare soccer even further behind than other counties.

Like I said i wasn't saying that was the reason why clubs were giving out, but it could be a possabilty. I don't get why it's such a big deal though because at the end of the day all clubs have to play the same amount of games? Unless the clubs are complaining because for them it's very stop start and hard to get going compared to the clubs who are playing week in week out I take it?

i only commenting on what i read and again it is simple, newmarket can only play the games they are fixed, but baffles me how they at the moment have more games played the the avenue yet newmarket have a fixture this week and avenue don't

Alot of interest in Newmarket on here and the Clare forum, I would love to have as much insight into what is going on.
    Anyway next year ye won't have to worry about the fixtures Newmarket are playing.
    I'll update this next year.

i heard a little rumour alright.

Inform us of this little rumour lads!!!

I dont think the issue is with Newmarket but rather with the Clare League fixtures. Newmarket are just being highlighted as an example of a club who have played several more matches than others and moreover are being highlighted because they are sitting on top of the league. I know thats due in part to their fantastic facilities but the fixtures should be transparent and fair and when some clubs have played considerably more games than others it turns the league table and the momentum of the league into a farce. Looking at the table, Tulla and Mountshannon have 6 played and Ennis Town only 1. The national competitions are an inevitable distraction but the league cup really threw the league out of kilter.

This isnt a personal crusade on behalf of any club or a personal criticism of anyone but Im sure we would all love a well organised league.

Well said 0030.....all we ask for is those in charge to do their best to keep the games each team has played on par! Nothing to do with any club in particular. We all know each team plays the same amount of games. Thats rather obvious!!!

A small bit of cop on with the fixtures and they would send the teams with least amount of games played to venues or fields that dont cut up easily and are usually playable. Then maybe send the teams with the most amount of games played to fields that are often deemed unplayable. As soon as the disparity in games played has been reduced to a reasonable level, they can set the fixtures as they please.

We're a'' involved with a club 3 times a week for ten months of the year. Ironically enough the league starts when the evenings are dark, cold, wet and windy. Games are also on of a Sunday morning which means anyone who takes it seriously doesnt socialise at the weekend. Not to mention the lack of commitment from most young fellas for the entire season. They all have balls and its tough to deny them a night out on the town, a taco chip & cheese and any bit of bootie they might stumble upon.
    We've all singed up for this and we can deal with it. But when someone asks how my wonderful league is going, i'd much rather give them a straight forward response as to who's on top and who is fighting for relegation, rather than explaining the fact that no one knows because one team had 13 games played and another has 5 (last year) or 1 team has a single game played and another team has seven under their belt (this will be the case next monday).

Summer soccer of a saturday morning please??? If not, at least let there be no more than 2 games played between each team. As 0030 said 'Im sure we would all love a well organised league.'

P.S. I know yer doing yer best with the fixtures.......Just do better.........please

Quote Originally Posted by The circuspony View Post
    Well said 0030.....all we ask for is those in charge to do their best to keep the games each team has played on par! Nothing to do with any club in particular. We all know each team plays the same amount of games. Thats rather obvious!!!

A small bit of cop on with the fixtures and they would send the teams with least amount of games played to venues or fields that dont cut up easily and are usually playable. Then maybe send the teams with the most amount of games played to fields that are often deemed unplayable. As soon as the disparity in games played has been reduced to a reasonable level, they can set the fixtures as they please.

We're a'' involved with a club 3 times a week for ten months of the year. Ironically enough the league starts when the evenings are dark, cold, wet and windy. Games are also on of a Sunday morning which means anyone who takes it seriously doesnt socialise at the weekend. Not to mention the lack of commitment from most young fellas for the entire season. They all have balls and its tough to deny them a night out on the town, a taco chip & cheese and any bit of bootie they might stumble upon.
    We've all singed up for this and we can deal with it. But when someone asks how my wonderful league is going, i'd much rather give them a straight forward response as to who's on top and who is fighting for relegation, rather than explaining the fact that no one knows because one team had 13 games played and another has 5 (last year) or 1 team has a single game played and another team has seven under their belt (this will be the case next monday).

Summer soccer of a saturday morning please??? If not, at least let there be no more than 2 games played between each team. As 0030 said 'Im sure we would all love a well organised league.'

P.S. I know yer doing yer best with the fixtures.......Just do better.........please
    I don't understand your reasoning here, isn't this what is happening, Tulla have 4 games played at home, Newmarket 3 so if you are going to send teams to play on the best pitches who are they going to play?

Circuspony what a ridicoulous statement. If the best pitches are being used all the time then the home teams will all have more games played than everyone else ... O wait that's what has happened ... Cut the league to 8 teams .. Everyone play eachother 3 times .. Once under the new lights that will be in doora next year.. Scrap the league cup until dec/jan / Feb also play this under lights like tuohy cup in limerick.. Make it knockout..Then teams should be on a par with eachother Up to Christmas ..

The Burren, Lifford, Newmarket and Tulla all have fantstic pitches. Ennis Town Rocks only league game of the season so far has been at home. Why not pencil them in to play one of these teams this week. Lifford maybe, or the Burren - both with 3 played.
    This weekend Lifford are at home to Newmarket. Shannon Olympic at home to Ennis town Rock. Surely its obvious that the Lifford game will more than likely be played and there is a good chance of Olympics pitch will be out of action. Would it not have made sense to put Lifford against Ennis town Rock? A small bit more care is all one asks for.

Lights in the county grounds would be a fantastic solution to several problems. Is this going to happen?

It has nothing to do with FAI Munster games look at the Lim league for example with 11/13 games played and there is no team with more then 2 games played on anyone else

Rock with 1 game played to Tullas 6 - the clare league is a shambles or someone needs help with the fixtures!!

Limerick League Table

Janesboro 13 12 1 0 57 15 37
    Pike Rovers 11 10 0 1 49 10 30
    Carew Park 13 9 1 3 28 19 28
    Fairview Rgs 12 7 1 4 42 20 22
    Regional Utd 13 7 1 5 23 24 22
    Kilmallock 13 6 0 7 25 26 18
    Ballynanty Rs 12 5 2 5 32 22 17
    Wembley Rvs 11 3 3 5 18 24 12
    Star Rvs 12 3 1 8 14 42 10
    Aisling Ann 12 3 1 8 17 43 10
    Corbally Utd 12 2 1 9 23 40 7
    Summerville 12 0 0 12 8 51 0
    Last edited by Ice-man; 01/12/2011 at 12:17 PM. Reason: Incorrect spelling

In all fairness ennis town rock have played 3 munster junior games and had 1 called off ..also had a walkover in fai and And played 1 game in fai.. Also had a premier game called off due to funeral.. So that accounts for alot of the weekends that ennis town rock haven't been playing in league..

Formerly: vidic-class
    Quote Originally Posted by The circuspony View Post
    The Burren, Lifford, Newmarket and Tulla all have fantstic pitches. Ennis Town Rocks only league game of the season so far has been at home. Why not pencil them in to play one of these teams this week. Lifford maybe, or the Burren - both with 3 played.
    This weekend Lifford are at home to Newmarket. Shannon Olympic at home to Ennis town Rock. Surely its obvious that the Lifford game will more than likely be played and there is a good chance of Olympics pitch will be out of action. Would it not have made sense to put Lifford against Ennis town Rock? A small bit more care is all one asks for.

Lights in the county grounds would be a fantastic solution to several problems. Is this going to happen?
    So you're saying that Newmarket, Lifford, Tulla and Burren should have to play the majority of their home league matches in the early part of the season just because they have the best playing facilities and other teams pitches might be ''out of action''?

Quote Originally Posted by MikeBassett View Post
    So you're saying that Newmarket, Lifford, Tulla and Burren should have to play the majority of their home league matches in the early part of the season just because they have the best playing facilities and other teams pitches might be ''out of action''?
    It sure sounds like it. Also regarding Doora, how many games do people think the pitch can hold there, is it made out of "magic turf"?
    I notice most of the moaning about fixtures is coming from clubs that haven't their own pitches. Ask any of the clubs that do own their pitches about the costs associated with keeping these pitches in good nick, it surprised/shocked me when I saw the annual bill. Large amounts of money are spent keeping pitches in a playable state during the year and moreso in the winter. Expecting clubs who have invested to sit around waiting on fixtures because clubs, who are tenants of facilities, can't get fixtures played is in my opinion going backwards.

Tulla have one of the best Junior set-ups in the country yet people are moaning that they are able to play games.
    Newmarket have the best playing surface in the county yet people moan that they have 4 games played by December in the league.
    Lifford, another lovely pitch, and the Burren (though I haven't seen this facility) will most likely be playable.

Second in his post has outlined the reasons for Ennis Rocks lack of league games. Avenue, all credit to them, went on a good run in the FAI and MJ last year, they are out of the FAI earlier this season so this should allow more league games to be played.

Moaning about the clubs who have invested money in their grounds seems ridiculous to me. Suggesting they play their home games at the beginning of the season is laughable, but even more laughable is asking them to go weeks without a game because the county council have closed other pitches.

Again some are judging the performance of the league by the lowest rung of the ladder. ML has a tough job, give him some credit.

[QUOTE=Ice-man;1556842]It has nothing to do with FAI Munster game look at the Lim league for example with 11/13 games played and there is no team with more then 2 games played on anyone else

Rock with 1 game played to Tullas 6 - the clare league is a shamples or someone needs help with the fixtures!!

Have a look at 1A.Hibs have not played a game for 3 weeks now because they were so far ahead

Div 1A P W D L F A Pts
    Geraldines 12 8 3 1 33 12 27
    Shannon Hibs 13 8 2 3 35 13 26
    Pike Rvs B 13 7 3 3 36 21 24
    Ballynanty Rs 12 6 2 4 24 25 20
    Caherconlish 12 5 2 5 19 23 17
    Caherdavin Cl 11 5 2 4 25 26 17
    Shannon Tn 12 4 4 4 20 14 16
    Mungret Reg 12 4 4 4 23 18 16
    Charleville 12 4 2 6 21 31 14
    Granville Rgs 11 3 2 6 17 24 11
    Fairview B 13 3 2 8 21 38 11
    Croom Utd 13 1 2 10 18 47 5

The reason the league is so advanced is that there is no league cup to suit the GAA areas getting their players back!!
    "Dont ask me what I think of you
    cause I might not give the answer
    that you want me to Oh Well"
    P.A.Green

While I agree with some of ye that it is unfair to ask clubs to play all their home games now especially considering that they went to huge expense in developing their facilities, I believe it is even more unfair to leave some teams languishing well behind in terms of fixtures. Every team makes a big commitment as Circuspony states and therefore some fairness in the organisation of the league has to be applied. You cannot run a league whereby some teams have 5/6 games played and some teams only 1/2 games. Over the winter I would imagine this imbalance will get worse!!

The League Cup had its first run out this year but it has to be scrapped or moved to the end of the season. Its distorted the league and the inevitable lack of fixtures over the winter will result in fixture pile ups come the late spring and early summer. We havent even considered that the Clare Cup has to be played too.

whats rumour bout newmarket? they hardly going into limerick? not good enough first of all an why would they.. gettting knocked out of fai n munster in the 2nd n 3rd round every yr just to concentrate on the league is hardly a basis for going to a stronger league where they would finish up 5th or 6th!

Newmarket are moving to the scottish premier league,they applied to play in the championship in england but were turned down apparently!

Page 15 of 29 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast