Page 5 of 29 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2011/12

Lifford game finished 5-1 in the end. Tage missing alot of players today. Rock won 2-0 against mountshannon also.

lads - all games off this weekend because of the OT yet Limerick have a full fixture list - whats going on , the league will run into next July at this stage - the power of 1 has affected so many - - i say lets get on with the league and stop entertaining a competition that we have no hope of winning anyway - - has the squad been finalised yet . surely not enough room for 13 subs in Jackman's dugouts - any comments ?
    CDSL Cup Champions 2008 / 2009 / 2011 / 2013 / 2014 - CDSL League Champions 2010/11 - - - - - - 2011 /12

members - TBC

Quote Originally Posted by Planners View Post
    lads - all games off this weekend because of the OT yet Limerick have a full fixture list - whats going on , the league will run into next July at this stage - the power of 1 has affected so many - - i say lets get on with the league and stop entertaining a competition that we have no hope of winning anyway - - has the squad been finalised yet . surely not enough room for 13 subs in Jackman's dugouts - any comments ?
    Totally agree with you Planners. Full round of games being cancelled to accommadate a midweek game. I am all for Clare doing well in the OT but Jesus have we to wrap players in cotton wool for the duration of the competition.

Does anyone know if the squad has been finalised?
    I'll update this next year.

Haven't heard about it yet so not sure. I think we should have game on the Sunday aswell as we have done it many times for our clubs. Its the managers decision and i m sure he wants to make sure he has his full squad available to him though. Strange that planners thinks we have no chance of winning, agreed its a tough ask but we have to believe or else we have no chance.

. Strange that planners thinks we have no chance of winning, agreed its a tough ask but we have to believe or else we have no chance.[/QUOTE]

believe i'll be a millionaire some day through hard work but i know its not going to happen - lets be realistic - - best of luck to them anyway
    CDSL Cup Champions 2008 / 2009 / 2011 / 2013 / 2014 - CDSL League Champions 2010/11 - - - - - - 2011 /12

members - TBC

There is a good squad for the OT and considering Clare got to the final 2 years ago surely there is a chance of doing very well. A bit of optimism wouldnt go astray Planners!! Very tough group but you have to beat the best teams to progress to the final stages. Its a pity there are no games this weekend. It will be October and some teams wont have played a league game

ok - best of luck to the management and the OT squad - fair play to them and hopefully they will do us proud and give us back that feeling we had of supremacy in 2004

members - TBC

That's better planners.

typical mentality
    knocking a team before it begins,
    2004 winners, 2009 runners up, and 3 or 4 q/f appearances n 1 semi have shown that yes, they have been somewhat of a force in this competion the last 8,9 10 yrs..
    ok from what ive seen its a weaker squad then the last few yrs but they seem an honest bunch of lads, with a very eager and commited manager..
    so if uve nothing good to say, dont say it, best of luck to them,, very tough task and will find it hard to pull off a win but at end of day its 11 v 11

and i agree there should be games sunday,,

I agree planners would be one of the first too come on here and slate someone who came out with that statement before a ball even kicked.

ok lads - hind site is always 20 / 20 - maybe the same might be said next Thursday morning ! - but i sincerely wish them the best - its a honour to represent your county and i suppose the support of clubs and players is a must but unfortunatly this year it dosnt seem to be the case - players have been asked / clubs have been asked - at the end of the day management can only work with the tools they have .

members - TBC

22 players in askeaton last Wednesday night shows that players and clubs are behind the manager. Not sure who was asked to play and refused but that's their own choice, everyone that's on the squad i m sure are behind the managers and who knows what might happen next Wednesday night, hopefully come on here to talk about a great result but it won t be for lack of effort if we dont get it. Underdogs maybe but its not impossible.

Come on the banner!!! Yeeeeooooooowwwwwwwwwwwww!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by mastermind1 View Post
    22 players in askeaton last Wednesday night shows that players and clubs are behind the manager. Not sure who was asked to play and refused but that's their own choice, everyone that's on the squad i m sure are behind the managers and who knows what might happen next Wednesday night, hopefully come on here to talk about a great result but it won t be for lack of effort if we dont get it. Underdogs maybe but its not impossible.
    who were the 22 players and what is the squad for the limerick game does anybody know.. it will be a big ask to get a win against limerick but im sure players will be up for it and the chance to beat our near neighbours should help them raise their game.

" football is a simple game "

Clare will play their first match in this season's Oscar Traynor against the Limerick League on Wednesday 5th October at 7.30PM in Jackman Park. The following squad has been selected for this match:-

John Healy (Avenue Utd)
    Joe Burke (Hermitage)
    David Russell (Avenue Utd) (Capt)
    Matty Nugent (Avenue Utd)
    Simon Cuddy (Avenue Utd)
    Darren Murphy (Bridge Utd)
    Darren Cullinan (Newmarket Celtic)
    Ritchie Fitzgerald (Hermitage)
    Shane Daniels (Ennis Town Rock)
    Con Collins (Avenue Utd)
    Packie Darcy (Lifford)
    Daryl Eade (Ennis Town Rock)
    Eoin Glynn (Ennis Town Rock)
    Eoin Hayes (Newmarket Celtic)
    Colin Ryan (Newmarket Celtic)
    Jay Regan (Shannon Olympic)
    Lunga Balman (Lifford)
    David McCarthy (Avenue Utd)
    Gary Collins (Newmarket Celtic)
    Ryan Boyle (Lifford)

David Russell - legend - captain and deservedly so - this man has served his club and county no end - must be a record at this stage - Roy Keane had a comment on players like this - cant think of it at the moment

members - TBC

No eoin o brien or stephen hickey. Thought one or two more of clare youths from last year would have been included with darren murphy..darragh corry the obvious choice, indeed his tulla team mate denis murphy is also very underrated. What about cheeky or steven kelly?

Quote Originally Posted by Planners View Post
    David Russell - legend - captain and deservedly so - this man has served his club and county no end - must be a record at this stage - Roy Keane had a comment on players like this - cant think of it at the moment
    legend over the top in terms of avenue player history ,, good player who has served avenue & clare well .. think he may still have a bit to go to match mannix at both club & county level.

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post
    Clare will play their first match in this season's Oscar Traynor against the Limerick League on Wednesday 5th October at 7.30PM in Jackman Park. The following squad has been selected for this match:-

John Healy (Avenue Utd)
    Joe Burke (Hermitage)
    David Russell (Avenue Utd) (Capt)
    Matty Nugent (Avenue Utd)
    Simon Cuddy (Avenue Utd)
    Darren Murphy (Bridge Utd)
    Darren Cullinan (Newmarket Celtic)
    Ritchie Fitzgerald (Hermitage)
    Shane Daniels (Ennis Town Rock)
    Con Collins (Avenue Utd)
    Packie Darcy (Lifford)
    Daryl Eade (Ennis Town Rock)
    Eoin Glynn (Ennis Town Rock)
    Eoin Hayes (Newmarket Celtic)
    Colin Ryan (Newmarket Celtic)
    Jay Regan (Shannon Olympic)
    Lunga Balman (Lifford)
    David McCarthy (Avenue Utd)
    Gary Collins (Newmarket Celtic)
    Ryan Boyle (Lifford)
    Don't understand how Darren Murphy can be in the squad when he's not playing for a team in the premier. Also where are the likes of Paul Cantillon?? Surely he should be getting a look in??

Quote Originally Posted by jenventuz View Post
    Don't understand how Darren Murphy can be in the squad when he's not playing for a team in the premier. Also where are the likes of Paul Cantillon?? Surely he should be getting a look in??
    Darren Murphy is a great player and deserves his place on the squad no matter what division he is playing in. I'm sure the managers are looking for the best players in the league and not just the best players in the premier.

Page 5 of 29 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast