Any idea where final is to be played.

Mervue v Athenry is the home side according to the draw that was floating about on the early pgaes of this thread
    'I can live with disappointment, its the hope I cant handle'

So what does that mean? Terryland finals??? if it is Bsloe does that mean lecarrow, or if Westport does that mean Milebush???

I'd say final will be in Terryland

Semi Final Ballinasloe Town vs Westport United is fixed for Sunday 1st April @2pm

Best of luck Badker, should be a good game of Football, I will try and make it

thanks horse, see you then. It should be a good game.

Shield semi:

Real Tubber v Ballygawley Sunday 25th 2pm Sligo Astro Pitch

Shield Semi:

Real Tubber 2 Ballygawley 1

a good game Tubber were the better side and had missed 2 penalties at 0-0. Tubber got a very late goal, screamer from 25 yrds to go 1-0 up, I asked the ref when we were tippin off how long was left, he said 2 and a bit mins. We managed to win a free and score from the cross to make it 1-1. And somehow we let Tubber score again before the end, we had at least three chances to put the ball dead which I'm sure would've seen the game finish 1-1. But we didnt and Tubbers striker got the ball in the box, our lads stood off him(understandable after conceding 2 pens) a bit too much and he worked the ball to his right foot and buried it into the top corner. It was a sickening way to lose. But I think Tubber would've probably won it in ET, they were the fitter side.

All the best to the Tubber lads in the final

Well done to Westport on wining 1-0 and reaching the final.

51 Posts
    Congrats to Westport Utd on reaching the final

Great win in an edgy game with few clear cut opportunities. Ballinasloe had penalty appeals turned down. Calm finish from Fitzy following Spiderman's assist from the right. Defence was disciplined, marshalled by the evergreen Lovejoy. The 2005 veterans carried the experience through with some of the younger guys enjoying their football, though some nerves came through. Looking forward to a tantalising final on May 13th as we look to bring home the Connacht Cup for the first time in 25 years, the one famine we want to end. Talking about omens, Westport United won the Connacht Cup in 1961 (50th Anniversary)and 1986-87 (75th Anniversary). Factor this in: 2011-12 (100th Anniversary), so if omens are anything to go by on milestone years, the name is on the cup.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Congrats to Westport Utd on their win over Ballinasloe the weekend. I Think a lot of people had tipped the team with home advantage so well done again and best of luck in the final. No matter what you say it would be nice to see a Mayo team win it !.

well done westport on getting to final. Ballinasloe played all the football but couldnt break down a solid back 4. town had 2 definite penos waved away. referee totally bottled the 1st penalty decision. even the westport players were giving out to their own player in question and were telling him to keep his hands down. the ball hit him full on the hand in the box with the ref and lino ten yards away and both ignored it. second penalty claim was not as clear cut but ref had again no balls. town missed a couple of key players through injury. Ballinasloe will be back.

Westport will need to lift their game big time if they are to win this competition. My money would be on an Athenry win in the final providing they get over Mervue. Athenry will feel at home in Terryland. They will be hard stopped

@fatboy

Unlucky to lose out, but I see ye had linesmen at the semi. The semi of the Shield had no linesmen and the ref actually reffed our GAA club the day before, first time I'd ever seen him ref a soccer game. Dont get me wrong, the best side won the game with absolutley no complaints but I thought it was slightly bizzare.

@thunder

congrats on reaching the final, I'd imagine ye will be flying fit once the Super League kicks off in Mayo and will get off to a good start, best of luck for the final

longshanks you were better of with no linesmen as the ones that did the conn cup semi were terrible and the ref was no better.

Our supporters felt that The 'Sloe should have got a peno.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

[QUOTE=Longshanks;1585613]@fatboy

Unlucky to lose out, but I see ye had linesmen at the semi. The semi of the Shield had no linesmen and the ref actually reffed our GAA club the day before, first time I'd ever seen him ref a soccer game. Dont get me wrong, the best side won the game with absolutley no complaints but I thought it was slightly bizzare.

For a important match like a shield semi-fina of Connaught too have no linesmen is suprising,olso that game was played on an astro turf pitch in Sligo was it not,its just it was played during a period o good weather suprissing it was not played on a natural pitch.

Shield final set for the 22nd of April between Ballyheane and Real Tubber at 3pm in McSharry Park Sligo.

From the Athenry FC website:

Athenry senior team qualified for their third Connacht cup final in a row with a 1-0 win over Mervue United. Conor Cannon scored with a diving header after an excellent cross from Ray Moran. a dubious refereeing decision saw Athenry reduced to 10 men for the last 10 minutes. Athenry's excellent defence restricted Mervue to very few chances. Athenry now play Wesport in the final.

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast