Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Connaught Cup 2011/12

Quote Originally Posted by shellyriver View Post
    Sorry meant Ballygawley and Tubber re Shield.

What Sligo Leitrim team has best chance of getting farthest in Connacht Cup.

Winners of St Johns v Calry face Athenry. Nice!
    Sure if ye(St Johns or Calry) win ye'll have Athenry at home.

I'm gonna tip Loughrea to win the Shield, they've travelled to and beat West Utd in the 1st round, although looking at the draw they'll have to do it the hard way. they're away to Clew Bay in 2nd round, winners away to Mulranny in 1/4ers, winners away to Medtronic/Ballyheane in semi.

Tubber and Ballygawley on same side of draw. I havent seen Glenview this year, but can be a handfull. I hear Leitrim Villa are very poor this season. We(Ballygawley) are very hit and miss and we havent faced Tubber yet in the league. Tubber seem to be always in contention for promotion from the Premier League.

Anyone care to to give some info on the Mayo and Galway teams left in the Shield??
    'I can live with disappointment, its the hope I cant handle'

Quote Originally Posted by badker View Post
    Was surprised to see Castlebar Celtic losing to Galway Hibs, was anyone at the game? Mervue and Castlerea should be a good game aswell.
    Roscommon title looks to be a shoot out between Castlerea and Ballinasloe. Galway title looks to be Mervues to lose. Should be the tie of the round

if ballyheane are still training they wont be bet

Quote Originally Posted by purplemonkeydis View Post
    if ballyheane are still training they wont be bet
    if they are still training fair play to them, be hard to keep going without regular games to play. I see Clew Bay finished a good bit ahead of Ballyheane in the league last year, how are their chances? What standard are Moy Villa at?

Quote Originally Posted by Longshanks View Post
    Sure if ye(St Johns or Calry) win ye'll have Athenry at home...
    Tubber and Ballygawley on same side of draw. I havent seen Glenview this year, but can be a handfull. I hear Leitrim Villa are very poor this season. We(Ballygawley) are very hit and miss and we havent faced Tubber yet in the league. Tubber seem to be always in contention for promotion from the Premier League.
    Yeah would love to play Athenry - saw them last year against Boyle Celtic -- good game.

Tubber played well against Galway Bohs, pretty much outclassed them throughout.

Glenview are a bit hit and miss also.

big win for Galway Hibs in Castlebar.

from what I can make out the 4th round is so far looking like:

Boyle v Barna
    Manulla v NUIG
    St Pats v Manor Rangers
    Salthill v Moore United
    Erris/Oughterard v Galway Hibs*
    Erris/Oughterard v Urluar*
    Cartron v Dysart**
    Ballinaloe v Achill
    Mervue v Castlerea

* two 85's in draw and no 83
    ** 67 v 67, imagine it should be either 67 v 87 or 87 v 67
    2 more 4th round ties:

Roscommon Town v Moyne Villa
    St Johns v Athenry

[QUOTE
    St Johns v Athenry[/QUOTE]

Should be interesting - St Johns had a nice win over Calry Bohs.

The upcoming game will most likely be on Cleveragh Astro-turf, Athenry will be favourites but a big game for the Carraroe lads.

What Sligo Leitrim team will go farthest in Connacht Cup do you reckon Longshanks?

only guess work Shelly, but given that they are in the 4th round already with a home draw against a mid table Galway div3 team(Barna-Furbo) I'd say Boyle Celtic. no disrespect to Barna

Yeah, I suppose with win over Yeats utd - top of Sligo/L league tussle, Boyle should be in a good position.

Although relatively early -- would you predict quarter-finalists?

westport united vs corrib rangers this weekend. is a tough one to call, but think corrib will do the business, as westport are out of season and form and fitness could be out the window!!!

Yeah, I suppose with win over Yeats utd - top of Sligo/L league tussle, Boyle should be in a good position.

Although relatively early -- would you predict quarter-finalists?
    I had a look at the draw and make it out as:

Manulla/NUIG v Cartron/Dysart
    (erris/oughterard)/Urluar v Mervue/Castlerea
    Salthill/Moore v (erris/oughterard)/Hibs
    S&F/(St Bernards/Ballinrobe) v (Ballymote/Ballina)/(MCR/City)
    Ballinasloe/Achill v Boyle/Barna
    (Renmore/Cloonfad)/(Westport/Corrib R) v (Carbury/East)/(Corrib C/Coolera)
    Roscommon/Moyne Villa v Oranmore/Cliffoney
    St Johns/Athenry v St Pats/Manor

so my guess at quarter finalists would be:

Manulla
    Mervue
    Hibs
    City
    Ballinasloe
    Corrib Rangers
    Roscommon
    Athenry

care to make a guess yourself??

Cheers Mate

Don't really know enough to give informed tip but seriously thanks for the above listing.

Personally I would like to see Castlerea and Boyle go through [I'd agreed that Mervue and Ballinasloe are favourites]. I would go along with fancing City. I wonder if Carbury might overcome Corrib Rangers?

My club is St Johns so obviously, whilst Athenry are big favourites, I am hoping for a big upset here. It's like the game will be played on grass at Cuilbeg, Carraroe the lads are looking forward to it already.

Shield Result:

Moy Villa 1 Ballygawley Celtic 3

pitch was barely playable and hardly even marked. dont think Moy Villa were too interested in it to be honest, they only had 10 players. Ballygawley butchered at least 3 2 on 1, one 3 on 1 and even a 4 on 1. If we had our shooting boots on it could've been 8 or 9 although Moy Villa could have got 1 or 2 more.

City battered MCR 7-1!

Well Shelly are ye all set for the visit of the champions??

Carbury beat East 3 - 1
    St Bernards beat Ballinrobe 7 - 1
    Cloonfad beat Renmore 1 - 0

I make the draw:

Manulla/NUIG v Cartron/Dysart
    (erris/oughterard)/Urluar v Mervue/Castlerea
    Salthill/Moore v (erris/oughterard)/Hibs
    S&F/St Bernards v (Ballymote/Ballina)/City
    Ballinasloe/Achill v Boyle/Barna
    Cloonfa)/(Westport/Corrib R) v Carbury/(Corrib C
    Roscommon/Moyne Villa v Oranmore/Cliffoney
    St Johns/Athenry v St Pats/Manor

Shield:

Leitrim Villa 8 - 6 Glenview Stars, all goals from open play
    Clew Bay Utd 1 - 4 Loughrea

Quarters are:
    Colemanstown v Real Tubber
    Leitirm Villa v Ballygawley
    Medtronic v Ballyheane
    Mulranny v Loughrea

Well Shelly are ye all set for the visit of the champions??

Cheers Longshanks, yeah looking forward to the game, going to take place at new Astro Turf in Cleveragh, should suit our more passing game.

Saw that Athenry, got beat by Milford in Donegal, they are now just in this Cup -- don't think they are in running for Premier in Galway.

Our lads are mostly kids, win or lose, it should be a good experience anyways. We have lost a few key guys due to emigration in last weeks but squad still strong enough.

Glad to see Carbury get through -- along with Ballymote in FAI Junior.

My club is St Johns so obviously, whilst Athenry are big favourites, I am hoping for a big upset here. It's like the game will be played on grass at Cuilbeg, Carraroe the lads are looking forward to it already.
    When is this game?

[SIZE=2]Connacht Junior Cup 4th Round K.O. 2pm
    Boyle Celtic v Barna/Furbo
    St Patrick’s v Manor Rangers
    Carbury FC v Corrib Celtic
    Cartron Utd v Dysart
    St John’s Sligo v Athenry Astro Cleveragh[/SIZE]

Connacht Junior Cup - Fixtures

Time Team 1 vs Team 2 Venue More
    22/01/2012
    11:00 Oughterard vs Hibernian Oughterard More
    Venue : Oughterard
    14:00 Boyle Celtic vs Barna Furbo Celtic Park Boyle More
    Venue : Celtic Park Boyle
    14:00 Carbury FC vs Corrib Celtic Lisheen Raysboro Co Sligo More
    Venue : Lisheen Raysboro Co Sligo
    14:00 Manulla vs NUI Galway Carramore More
    Venue : Carramore
    14:00 Oranmore vs St Bernards Oranmore More
    Venue : Oranmore
    14:00 Salthill Devon vs Moore United Drom More
    Venue : Drom
    14:00 St Johns vs Athenry Sligo More
    Venue : Sligo
    14:00 St Patricks vs Manor Rangers Caherlistrane More
    Venue : Caherlistrane
    14:00 Straide and Foxford vs Dynamo Blues Green Road Foxford More
    Venue : Green Road Foxford
    14:00 Westport United vs Corrib Rangers Sports Park More

[SIZE=2]Connacht Junior Cup 4th Round (2pm)
    Salthill Devon v Moore Utd
    Cartron Utd v Dysart FC
    [/SIZE]Boyle Celtic v Barna/Furbo
    St Patrick’s v Manor Rangers
    Carbury FC v Corrib Celtic
    Cartron Utd v Dysart
    St John’s Sligo v Athenry Astro Cleveragh
    Iorras v Urlar

Roscommon playing Oscar Traynor and Ballymote FAI Junior this weekend
    Last edited by Longshanks; 18/01/2012 at 1:30 PM.

@Shelly

I like the advertising hoarding ye've put up on the roundabouts for yer game against Athenry. I hope to get in to see a bit of it and then head up to Ballymote for their FAI tie with Carrick

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast