There were people bitten.
TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY
The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!
All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.
That's all very well and good but it shouldn't be Longford Towns problem.
Just a couple of points though:
There is undoubtedly an element among your support that is pure and utter scum and you don't seem half as pushed about righting that injustice.
If the majority of Bohs fans cared half as much as you do about the poor unfortunate wrongly banned folk would they not become members and vote the auld lads down?
My main gripe is that there's a pattern with all football violence in this country and it goes as follows:
Trouble at a game where there are scum in attendance.
Innocent people get hurt.
People descend on foot.ie to claim its the clubs/gardais/masons fault
Nothing ever done about small scum elements at clubs.
Repeat ad nauseum
Fade
If you want everyone to have loads of lovely rights how about everyone take some responsibilities??
I agree it shoudn't be Longford's problem unless it was them who requested the police presence. The point is that if it was just the local gards policing the game and our stewards weren't being dicks none of it would have happened. The problem was caused by our club officials and the violence was instigated by the armed response unit. What are you basing your "pure and utter scum" theory on? If people are caught red handed causing trouble then a banning is justified, if someone is banned for wanting someone off the board and hearsay is used to justify it then it isn't. And yes, more people becoming members would be a help and we're trying to make that happen too.
Nope, we didn't request any police presence except for the usual two guards and a sergeant. Guards cost money!
Last edited by Longfordian; 29/08/2011 at 5:13 PM.
Shamrock 1 up against UCD. Sheppard with the goal.
Finito 2-2. Replay on Monday.
Dan Murray
To answer your question BohsPartisan, no I wasn't the steward you requested treatment from. But out of interest the steward you asked, was he on the outside gates, sitting on the sidelines or one of the 2 stewards at the gate leading over to the stand?
Well I first went to one near the gate leading over to the stand and he said he'd get someone so he walked over to the Longford side and brought back one of your stewards who was late 50's or early 60's I'd say, grey/balding. He wanted me to get people who were bent double with pain and were blinded climb across a wall, and walk all the way over to the other side to get treatment. When I asked him to at least open the gate so a few who weren't injured could help them around he refused. I told him if there was any permanent injury to anyone that he'd be liable. About ten minutes later, the civil defense, who were very helpful came over and sorted people out.
Agree on these points, especially the last one. Like hoopy with experience of policing for Rovers games in the midlands, I won't be rushing to judge Bohs fans..
Even if Bohs fans "came prepared with gallons of water"and I think anyone with sense would say they wouldn't, there's not much use for them until the Gardaí decided to use pepper spray. It's the Gardaí's fault. If dogs were attacked, well there's no reason for dogs to be used at a LOI match whatsoever except the robocop mentality. It's the responsibility of the Gardaí to use them appropriately and it's their fault for using them. No sympathy at all for any dogs or robocops.
The Model Club
Tell all the Bohs you know
that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
and it's not gonna be three
and it's not gonna be four
it's more likely to be 5-1.