Page 8 of 21 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI cup matches w/e 29/8/11

Quote Originally Posted by RonnieB View Post
    Maybe all the Bohs fans who decided to run out to the gate to give their mates a helping hand should have concentrated on the match instead? I'm sure it was well meaning but it didn't exactly help the situation by the looks of it.
    This country needs more solidarity and less Mé Feinism.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

fact of the matter is, the majority of Bohs fans that got sprayed were initially let in to watch the game. Had they done just that, watch the game like the other GENUINE supporters, instead of running out and shouting obesenities at the gardai, then they wudnt have got sprayed. the civil defense people that came in to help the injured were also then subject to the same vulgar abuse by a (small minority of Bohs fans) and had to leave the Bohs area. I feel for the genuine Bohs supporters that pleaded with the stewards to leave the Bohs section, as they will get painted with the same brush as the troublemakers. The gardai may have over reacted, i dont know as i wasnt there. But i do know for a fact, that a female steward from LTFC was assaulted as was a Bohs steward who was threatened by supposedly one of his own fellow Bohs fans. Its a real shame to see this kind of thuggary in the game.

1,104 Posts
    Don't know the ins and outs of who the Bohs officials/stewards were but one man was pretty shaken up by all accounts. Not sure if he was hit or not but our secretary reckoned (whether she saw this or was just told I don't know) someone tried to hit him and were threatening his family. The lad brought to hospital was indeed a Bohs fan who got hit by a baton, fell back and split his head open on the ground.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Town legend wasn't there though, neither was the journalist but I actually was. Now, Town legend said it was a female Longford steward attacked. This says it was a Bohs steward attacked. Both the Bohs stewards there were male and I'd know them personally to say hello to. They were attacked - verbally. The Bohs spokesperson would be Denis Maher, hon secretary who is a cancer on the club and routinely lies about fans, and I will go on record right here in saying he is a liar. A filthy liar. He knows who I am too (by username, same as on thebohs.com) so I'm not being a keyboard warrior here). The article never mentions that the person who was taken to hospital with minor injuries is a bohs fan who was INJURED BY THE GARDAÍ!!! The only people hurt were Bohs fans. The only people attacking anyone were the Gards. This story is being spun by the Bohs board because they want to kill the club. This might sound strange but yes, they are trying to kill the club. They are trying to force out members and devalue the club so they can change the rules and end the membership structure. A board member resigned today in protest at what is going on, particularly what happened on Saturday. We are planning a boycott of Friday night's league game and will not stop until that liar parasite Denis Maher is not only off the board but banned from going anywhere near Dalymount Park. He is a cancer on our club. WE ARE BOHS!

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Sligo-Pats, Shels-Cork, Longford-bohs......

"the common denominator in crowd trouble is Shamrock Rovers"
    The common denominator is clearly those damned troublemaking hyphens!! They're always in the middle of bust-ups and involved with ne'er-do-wells!

305 Posts
    Quarter-f draw is live on MNS tonight.

Teams in Quarter-Final Draw (Provisional Numbers)
    1. Bohemians
    2. Cork City
    3. Drogheda United/Dundalk
    4. Limerick
    5. Saint Patrick’s Athletic
    6. Shamrock Rovers/UCD
    7. Sheriff
    8. Sligo Rovers/Monaghan United

65 Posts
    The draw for the quarter final of the FAI cup is on MNS tonight.

449 Posts
    i was bored so i pulled numbers out of a hat

obviously it won't end up like this but I got:

2 v 7
    4 vs 3
    6 vs 1
    8 vs 5

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    i was bored so i pulled numbers out of a hat

obviously it won't end up like this but I got:

2 v 7
    4 vs 3
    6 vs 1
    8 vs 5
    Easy one for Sheriff YC.

This country needs more solidarity and less Mé Feinism.
    How about the fans showing a bit of solidarity with the board in getting rid of the casuals and then worrying about (your admitedly fairly worrying) board afterwards?

Anybody acting the casual at a football match in Ireland is an utter, utter, mutant beyond contempt.

And before anyone comes on "but, but, but, they weren't casuals, the rozzers woz beating people indiscriminately so they woz", casuals were present, no casuals, less hassle, they're easily dealt with, help deal with them.

Calling a load of lads running out to a gate for a nose "solidarity"

64 Posts
    Unusual to see the usual suspects not commentating on the 'crowd trouble' on Sat and saying how terrible it was. Anyhow, I wouldn't be too quick to blame Bohs on this having seeing first hand on a few occasions what counts for security in Longford.
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

64 Posts
    We are planning a boycott of Friday night's league game
    Not going to make much difference to gate receipts
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    Unusual to see the usual suspects not commentating on the 'crowd trouble' on Sat and saying how terrible it was. Anyhow, I wouldn't be too quick to blame Bohs on this having seeing first hand on a few occasions what counts for security in Longford.
    FAI stewards along with a couple of Bohs stewards were doing the security for the Bohs fans inside the ground and the Gardai were in charge outside the ground.

164 Posts
    4 or 5 people were refused entry because of a personal gripe of one board member who has a habit of handing out arbitrary bannings. (most people who are banned at the moment are banned for vocally opposing his misrule, not anything to do with hooligan activity). I know these people personally. They are not "Scum". Most people thought they'd eventually let them in and some who were on their bus went down to the gate to see what was happening. At this stage myself and a few others went to see what was going on. People were shouting just let them in ffs. Someone grabbed the gate and rattled it at which point some stewards pushed back fairly aggressively.
    how stupid this was and if they were just let in there would not have been a bit of trouble.
    It does seem like there was a major overreaction from the Gardai and, going on what you said, the pepper spray Garda has an Ombudsman case to answer, but there's no way those people should have been let in. If they've been banned in the wrong, then they should take their case up with Bohs, but it doesn't mean Longford should let them into their ground. Just because people shouted to let them in and rattled the gate doesn't mean Longford stewards or the Gardai should just say "ah sure go on". If Longford are told by Bohs that these guys are banned, then there's no way they should let them in.

A lot of people who got sprayed weren't even up at the gate as he ran some distance into the entrance. He then withdrew and stood back, only to return - tried to get me again to stop me taking photos, re-sprayed people who were already on the ground in agony and people who were trying to help them up. I went to Longford stewards to ask for medical help for some of the people who were down. One steward who seemed alright went to ask the head steward who told me the only way they'd get any help was if they climbed the wall and walked around the pitch with him. These were people who were bent double with pain and couldn't open their eyes. It was another 10 minutes or so before civil defense were called down, fair play to them, they were great btw.
    I'm picturing the opening scenes of Saving Private Ryan.

How about the fans showing a bit of solidarity with the board in getting rid of the casuals and then worrying about (your admitedly fairly worrying) board afterwards?

Anybody acting the casual at a football match in Ireland is an utter, utter, mutant beyond contempt.

And before anyone comes on "but, but, but, they weren't casuals, the rozzers woz beating people indiscriminately so they woz", casuals were present, no casuals, less hassle, they're easily dealt with, help deal with them.

Calling a load of lads running out to a gate for a nose "solidarity"
    What constitutes "acting the casual"? Is it what you wear? Because these days there is not much in the way of what I'd consider hooliganism. If you're discriminating on the basis of what people wear, then you can throw a lot of people who aren't in the BSC, including myself into that category. The "casuals" weren't causing any trouble. The casuals and the NBB and a lot of other Bohs fans were drinking in Foleys for several hours before the game, there was no trouble there or in the town, there was no reason for anyone to be refused admission and most of the bannings are a joke. The club would have went to the wall ages ago were it not for fundraising efforts organised by both casuals and NBB and many of us have coughed up substantial amounts of cash out of our own pockets to keep the club going. To be treated in this manner is a disgrace.

220 Posts
    Sorry to tell you buddy, I was stewarding Sat night so yes I was there!! The Bohs troublemakers got everything they deserved. Rovers came down last season and packed out that section and we didn't have one troublemaker out of them. Bohs come down with a third of what Rovers had and cause trouble. Scum is too nice a word for them Bohs fans and I discount the real Bohs from that. The female steward I seen was knocked to the ground, she suffered no injury. Bohs fans there were threatening their own stewards and their families and were threatening to hunt them down!! What sort of ****s are they??!! According to another one of our stewards one Bohs fan tried to stab one of the dogs with an umbrella!! F*ckers like that should be locked up. They came prepared to cause trouble and even had 2 five gallon drums full of water to wash out their stricken colleagues eyes. It was hilarious stuff altogether seeing some of them sprawled out on the terrace rubbing there eyes!!!

220 Posts
    Thats just one of the 'hardmen'!!!

What constitutes "acting the casual"? Is it what you wear? Because these days there is not much in the way of what I'd consider hooliganism. If you're discriminating on the basis of what people wear, then you can throw a lot of people who aren't in the BSC, including myself into that category. The "casuals" weren't causing any trouble.
    Acting the casual would include impersonating Danny Dyer, picking fights in groups of 20, waving your arms around, putting on a mockney accent etc etc. It's nothing to do with what you wear, don't be so disengenuous, Bohs have these clowns, I'd wager you've a fair idea who a lot of these clowns are. They have no business in any football ground in this country.

The casuals and the NBB and a lot of other Bohs fans were drinking in Foleys for several hours before the game, there was no trouble there or in the town
    This reminds me of that Chris Rock bit about "n words wanting credit for some **** they supposed to do"

there was no reason for anyone to be refused admission
    I assume the people being refused admission were pointed out as having been troublemakers in the past?

and most of the bannings are a joke.
    Says who? You? Bohs is a members club isn't it? If the majority of members agree with you get it sorted. If they don't then tough. It shouldn't have to be Longford Towns problem either way.

The club would have went to the wall ages ago were it not for fundraising efforts organised by both casuals and NBB and many of us have coughed up substantial amounts of cash out of our own pockets to keep the club going.
    It doesn't matter if a million men raised a million euro each tbh.

Dipping your hand in your pocket doesn't entitle you to behave whatever way you please.

As a socialist I'm sure you can agree wth the sentiment.

Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    Sorry to tell you buddy, I was stewarding Sat night so yes I was there!! The Bohs troublemakers got everything they deserved. Rovers came down last season and packed out that section and we didn't have one troublemaker out of them. Bohs come down with a third of what Rovers had and cause trouble. Scum is too nice a word for them Bohs fans and I discount the real Bohs from that. The female steward I seen was knocked to the ground, she suffered no injury. Bohs fans there were threatening their own stewards and their families and were threatening to hunt them down!! What sort of ****s are they??!! According to another one of our stewards one Bohs fan tried to stab one of the dogs with an umbrella!! F*ckers like that should be locked up. They came prepared to cause trouble and even had 2 five gallon drums full of water to wash out their stricken colleagues eyes. It was hilarious stuff altogether seeing some of them sprawled out on the terrace rubbing there eyes!!!
    Are you the one who refused to get medical attention when I asked? If so you've got some neck. 1. That young lad with his eyes covered is not "One of the hardmen". 2. If you were stewarding for Longford you couldn't have seen how this started. 3. If a dog trained to cause serious injury was trying to maul me, I'd stab it too. 4. The five gallon drums of water weren't brought, they were provided either by the gards or civil defence or someone. 5. Threatening people was out of order but it was in the heat of the moment when people are lying on the ground and a cop is coming back in and re-spraying people already injured with pepper spray then you can understand thing getting heated. 6. If you think that batons, dogs and pepper spray are a justifiable response to a few people pushing a gate then maybe you should consider a career in extreme right wing politics.

23. Thanks From:

Acting the casual would include impersonating Danny Dyer, picking fights in groups of 20, waving your arms around, putting on a mockney accent etc etc. It's nothing to do with what you wear, don't be so disengenuous, Bohs have these clowns, I'd wager you've a fair idea who a lot of these clowns are. They have no business in any football ground in this country.

This reminds me of that Chris Rock bit about "n words wanting credit for some **** they supposed to do"

I assume the people being refused admission were pointed out as having been troublemakers in the past?

Says who? You? Bohs is a members club isn't it? If the majority of members agree with you get it sorted. If they don't then tough. It shouldn't have to be Longford Towns problem either way.

It doesn't matter if a million men raised a million euro each tbh.

Dipping your hand in your pocket doesn't entitle you to behave whatever way you please.

As a socialist I'm sure you can agree wth the sentiment.
    I've already explained that most of the bannings are unjustified on the basis an individual on the board uses his power to hand out bannings to people he just doesn't like. The whole point I'm making is that the only justifiable banning is one where you have evidence of some wrong doing. It's difficult to get a majority of a general meeting attendance to agree with you when a significant section of people there are auld lads who don't go to away games and lap up everything Herr Maher tells them. We have been trying though and we are determined to get better organised to get him out of there.

Page 8 of 21 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast