Page 9 of 21 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI cup matches w/e 29/8/11

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    If a dog trained to cause serious injury was trying to maul me, I'd stab it too.
    They're not trained to cause serious injury. No reason for anyone to attempt to stab the dog, so you trying to justify it doesn't help your case on here.

There were people bitten.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

By Bohs fans?!?!

Yeah, we're animals. We've got weapons of mass destruction and the capability to launch an attack on abbotstown in 45 minutes.

Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    According to another one of our stewards one Bohs fan tried to stab one of the dogs with an umbrella!!
    What is it with LOI loopers and umbrellas? It's standard issue for them...

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    What is it with LOI loopers and umbrellas? It's standard issue for them...
    Come on, nothing sinister about bringing an umbrella to Longford.

I've already explained that most of the bannings are unjustified on the basis an individual on the board uses his power to hand out bannings to people he just doesn't like. The whole point I'm making is that the only justifiable banning is one where you have evidence of some wrong doing. It's difficult to get a majority of a general meeting attendance to agree with you when a significant section of people there are auld lads who don't go to away games and lap up everything Herr Maher tells them. We have been trying though and we are determined to get better organised to get him out of there.
    That's all very well and good but it shouldn't be Longford Towns problem.

Just a couple of points though:

There is undoubtedly an element among your support that is pure and utter scum and you don't seem half as pushed about righting that injustice.
    If the majority of Bohs fans cared half as much as you do about the poor unfortunate wrongly banned folk would they not become members and vote the auld lads down?

My main gripe is that there's a pattern with all football violence in this country and it goes as follows:

Trouble at a game where there are scum in attendance.
    Innocent people get hurt.
    People descend on foot.ie to claim its the clubs/gardais/masons fault
    Nothing ever done about small scum elements at clubs.
    Repeat ad nauseum
    Fade

If you want everyone to have loads of lovely rights how about everyone take some responsibilities??

Come on, nothing sinister about bringing an umbrella to Longford.
    Relax, owning an umbrella itself doesn't make you a looper

However every LOI looper seems to carry one. Best example being the Rovers lad who ran on the pitch in Inchicore last week

That's all very well and good but it shouldn't be Longford Towns problem.

Just a couple of points though:

There is undoubtedly an element among your support that is pure and utter scum and you don't seem half as pushed about righting that injustice.
    If the majority of Bohs fans cared half as much as you do about the poor unfortunate wrongly banned folk would they not become members and vote the auld lads down?

My main gripe is that there's a pattern with all football violence in this country and it goes as follows:

Trouble at a game where there are scum in attendance.
    Innocent people get hurt.
    People descend on foot.ie to claim its the clubs/gardais/masons fault
    Nothing ever done about small scum elements at clubs.
    Repeat ad nauseum
    Fade

If you want everyone to have loads of lovely rights how about everyone take some responsibilities??
    I agree it shoudn't be Longford's problem unless it was them who requested the police presence. The point is that if it was just the local gards policing the game and our stewards weren't being dicks none of it would have happened. The problem was caused by our club officials and the violence was instigated by the armed response unit. What are you basing your "pure and utter scum" theory on? If people are caught red handed causing trouble then a banning is justified, if someone is banned for wanting someone off the board and hearsay is used to justify it then it isn't. And yes, more people becoming members would be a help and we're trying to make that happen too.

1,104 Posts
    Nope, we didn't request any police presence except for the usual two guards and a sergeant. Guards cost money!
    Last edited by Longfordian; 29/08/2011 at 5:13 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Nope, we didn't request any police presence except for the usual two guards and a sergeant. Guards cost money!
    Yeah didn't think you did. Probably just an excuse for overtime.

does everyone anti rabbi injections if they play BOHS.
    To be or not to be

Quote Originally Posted by nosebleds View Post

does everyone anti rabbi injections if they play BOHS.
    Yes, otherwise you end up getting circumcised.

126 Posts
    Shamrock 1 up against UCD. Sheppard with the goal.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stevo da gull View Post
    fair play to adam mitchell for an amazing last ditch tackle tonight to keep the score at 1-0. Well done to the ref for sending him off for that amazing tackle, and to the linesman who had a perfect view but did absolutely nothing. I have been going to bray matches for many years, and to feel my knees shaking with anger at such awful officiating is not something i wish to feel again.

I know officials make mistakes, but these lads should not keep their match fee. They have not done their job.

Good luck to limerick in the next round. They restricted us before the incident and took their chance to lead 1-0 before they capitilised on awful officiating. Don't have any gripe with them. Congratulations.
    lol!!!

415 Posts
    Yeah, we're animals. We've got weapons of mass destruction and the capability to launch an attack on abbotstown in 45 minutes.
    What bus could you get?

Finito 2-2. Replay on Monday.

Dan Murray

220 Posts
    To answer your question BohsPartisan, no I wasn't the steward you requested treatment from. But out of interest the steward you asked, was he on the outside gates, sitting on the sidelines or one of the 2 stewards at the gate leading over to the stand?

Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    To answer your question BohsPartisan, no I wasn't the steward you requested treatment from. But out of interest the steward you asked, was he on the outside gates, sitting on the sidelines or one of the 2 stewards at the gate leading over to the stand?
    Well I first went to one near the gate leading over to the stand and he said he'd get someone so he walked over to the Longford side and brought back one of your stewards who was late 50's or early 60's I'd say, grey/balding. He wanted me to get people who were bent double with pain and were blinded climb across a wall, and walk all the way over to the other side to get treatment. When I asked him to at least open the gate so a few who weren't injured could help them around he refused. I told him if there was any permanent injury to anyone that he'd be liable. About ten minutes later, the civil defense, who were very helpful came over and sorted people out.

3. If a dog trained to cause serious injury was trying to maul me, I'd stab it too. 4. The five gallon drums of water weren't brought, they were provided either by the gards or civil defence or someone. 5. Threatening people was out of order but it was in the heat of the moment when people are lying on the ground and a cop is coming back in and re-spraying people already injured with pepper spray then yree on these pointsou can understand thing getting heated. 6. If you think that batons, dogs and pepper spray are a justifiable response to a few people pushing a gate then maybe you should consider a career in extreme right wing politics.
    Agree on these points, especially the last one. Like hoopy with experience of policing for Rovers games in the midlands, I won't be rushing to judge Bohs fans..

Even if Bohs fans "came prepared with gallons of water" and I think anyone with sense would say they wouldn't, there's not much use for them until the Gardaí decided to use pepper spray. It's the Gardaí's fault. If dogs were attacked, well there's no reason for dogs to be used at a LOI match whatsoever except the robocop mentality. It's the responsibility of the Gardaí to use them appropriately and it's their fault for using them. No sympathy at all for any dogs or robocops.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Page 9 of 21 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast