Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Nacho's for Watford!

The Pope rewarded and thanked the allies for liberating Italy
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    The Pope rewarded and thanked the allies for liberating Italy
    That's exactly what Pope's tend to do best. They'd sleep with the devil if it meant that their privilages were secure. This may not have been the case with the Russians - although I'm sure you've read Animal Farm and see how the crow gets rewarded with beer by the pigs even though the pigs claim that the crow's superstition is the enemy of the animals - but it certainly was with either the Nazis or the Anglo-Americans. Pius probably kept a double sided portrait in his office of Hitler on one side and Churchill on the other for any eventualities. No wonder he 'blessed' them before ensuring that a load of Nazis escaped to Spain and then Latin America.

Popes are followers of realpolitik as is shown with their blessing of King William the fruit and their excommunicating of the Fenians two centuries later, and unlike the Danish (and Protestant) King Christian X who had some morality and at least stuck up for his Jewish subjects even if he was physically powerless to prevent their deportation (In the end Denmark lost only a tiny number of Jews to the gas chambers).

One should never of course mix the evil of certain individuals with the Christianity they claim to represent, and this is where I personally draw the line. If you are interested, John Cornwell's 'Hitler’s Pope, The Secret History of Pius XII' is a good examination of this evil little man, coming from what he describes himself as a former unconditional Catholic. No doubt Pius will be made a saint one day, though.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    That's exactly what Pope's tend to do best. They'd sleep with the devil if it meant that their privilages were secure.

Hey in amongst all this Pope dissing I hope you ain't dissing Pope Sylvester III cause if you are that's fighting talk, that bloke could party, he partyed so hard that he was banjaxed before his 24th birthday, apperently he was like a member of the Happy Monday's made Tommy F look like a newsreader on Ulster television.
    As for all this talk about the church, i've alway's felt that Ireland would be much better if the majority religon was Buddisim, and the minoraty religon in the country mostly situated in Ulster would be the Hari Krisna's, if that was the case they could still dress up in orange, march down the street's banging drum's and singing and shouting but instead of having David Trimble and Iain paisley and his puppy Iain jnr as leader's they could have Boy George and Ringo Starr, hari hari hari
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Quote Originally Posted by Pat O' Banton
    Sorry Liam can't agree with you here. All that happened on the 1st/12th July 1690 was that a Dutch King's army defeated an English kings army on Irish soil, a sort of FA Cup semi final neutral ground type thing, if you will. As for Irish independence whoever won would not have made the blindest bit of difference to Irish independence as I think that James Stuart cared little for that concept. James Connolly writes on this subject at lenght at the start of 'Labour in Irish History.' Indeed some would argue that the Catholic church has been one of the biggest backers of British rule in Ireland from the moment that the Pope gave his blessing on English invasion.
    As another point (I believe) the Pope (can't remember which one) rang out the Papal bells when news of Williams victory came through, he was delighted at the defeat of one of Louis of France's allies, wonder if anyones told big Ian (or little Ian for that matter)

Spot on, Pope Adrian IV other wise known as Nicholas Breakspear, who said that Ireland should be invaded.
    As for all this marching all summer by right they should be marching over here all summer if they want to wind anyone up seeing that it was an English king they defeted, so they should be trying to wind up the English middle and upper classes with their marches.
    As for old septic trunk's and his day of national pride on monday, i wonder will he take part in that other national event that happen's when all these lad's get together to celebrate their culture and that's the mass punch up and shoot out not over king Billy but over who's king of the ganjaa, Charlie and smack trade.

Quote Originally Posted by sylvo
    As for all this marching all summer by right they should be marching over here all summer if they want to wind anyone up seeing that it was an English king they defeted, so they should be trying to wind up the English middle and upper classes with their marches.
    Why do you think me and O'Loan broke into that old folk song and started strutting like we were Foghorn Leghorn walking into a Chicken farm. Apart from the noise, general incovenience and the intended slight on half the population I don't understand it. El Siete Trunks (for it is he, non?!): It was an English King getting beaten by a Dutch one (who also happened to be his son-in-law), stoopid! Happened now - as in King Sven I getting beaten by King Richard of Aadvocaat - I'd be out with my hi-vi chucking a broom handle in the air like a planter.

I'm pretty glad that ould septic w**k came along, cause there has been some serious jazz being talked. I'm sure if he stuck around long enough he would have found out that he ain't the only one with a gripe with some of the posse from the big sqaure by the river Tiber.
    I guess he's to busy for the next few day's swinging punch's with his homie's beside big bonfire's over who is king ganjaa, king Charlie and king smack, aahhh pure culture.

To paraphrase the fat bloke with the cigar and STILL the only British PM to have played at Celtic Park, W Belfast: 'Never in the course of human history has such an intellectual discussion been conducted by so many, been started by such a gimp.' Tiochfaid ar choo-choo as they say in 'garlic'.

He's not old el sietes or whatever his name was come back with another name change. I bet he'll be enjoying the game today involving his fellow Ulster men putting a ball over the bar.

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    'Never in the course of human history has such an intellectual discussion been conducted by so many, been started by such a gimp.'
    Me?
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    Me?
    Tranquilo Guillermo, I'm talking about our new friend Septic Peg. Happy Orangemans' day everybody!

I will have an orangeade for ye, boys
    They're red, they're black
    The hatchetmen are back.

We'll support you evermore
    Though you never score...

Quote Originally Posted by Duncan Gardner
    I will have an orangeade for ye, boys
    Enjoy your day. Just don't go trampling through your neighbours' gardens.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123