Thread: Leeds FC

1,101 Posts

Leeds FC

Are they the City or County of Cork, where's their ground, any of ye know?

They are from Cork City, up the Northside.

They will prob play this game in Turners Cross to maximise revenue
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

They are from around the Glen on the Northside. It's a stupid name isn't it, calling themselves after an English club.

George O' Callaghan played with them for a while.

1,101 Posts
    Cheers lads. Always enjoy heading to Cork, whoever we play.

144 Posts
    Their pitch is in Ballyvolane, Big slope from one goal to the next.
    They might bring ye up there, tough team to beat at home and they had the best defence in the MSL Premier last season despite a mid table finish.

Quote Originally Posted by Snatch
    It's a stupid name isn't it, calling themselves after an English club.

It is kinda embrassing really .... like it was a pub team or something when they started up. In fairness though ... they are doing fairly well and this year they've shown it.

Could they change the name ?? Something that they could identify with.

Quote Originally Posted by Snatch
    George O' Callaghan played with them for a while.
    also John O'Flynn

Quote Originally Posted by cobhrambler 16
    also John O'Flynn

and greg o halloran

and kevin murray, and michael buckley..

its across from my house, in ballyvolane. if its played there i'll be there, attempting to wear something blue.

irish teams named after british teams isnt exactly rare, home farm everton, everton, any of the celtics... not saying its right but its not rare.

knew the fella who set them up, he was a big leeds fan, fair play to him for setting it up but the name is a bit **** alright

Smile leed's afc

were based bang in the middle of ballyvolane, we were started in 1986 as a junior team in the aul, the guy who started us was a leeds fan so hence the name, even though some dont like the name we couldn't change it now as we have firmly established ourselves in local/intermediate football. we are now one of the largest schoolboy clubs in the country with 18 schoolboy teams, 1 youth team, 2 junior teams and 1 senior team, i ont think the game will be played in leeds park (even though we want it there) and as for who ever said the pitch is a slope from one goal to another obviously hasn't been there, we have great facilities for a intermediate club, we have a clubhouse/dressing rooms, 2 pitches and an all weather pitch, even pat dolan complimented us when we played city in a challange game about 2 months ago, (city won 2 -1, it was fringe players to be honest), we have had a few cork city players play schoolboy with us, georgie, john o'flynn, greg o'hallorhan, kevin murray, micky buckley, so we must be doing something right, anyway were delighted to be involved in the fai cup and are looking forward to the visit of longford town, whatever the outcome.

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac
    named after british teams isnt exactly rare, home farm everton, .

i think they tie in with bigger clubs for dosh.

my eldest son played for them for 5 years.when he joined they were just called home farm,then home farm/everton,and when he left they were called home farm/leeds .

Quote Originally Posted by Yoda01
    were based bang in the middle of ballyvolane, we were started in 1986 as a junior team in the aul, the guy who started us was a leeds fan so hence the name, even though some dont like the name we couldn't change it now as we have firmly established ourselves in local/intermediate football. we are now one of the largest schoolboy clubs in the country with 18 schoolboy teams, 1 youth team, 2 junior teams and 1 senior team, i ont think the game will be played in leeds park (even though we want it there) and as for who ever said the pitch is a slope from one goal to another obviously hasn't been there, we have great facilities for a intermediate club, we have a clubhouse/dressing rooms, 2 pitches and an all weather pitch, even pat dolan complimented us when we played city in a challange game about 2 months ago, (city won 2 -1, it was fringe players to be honest), we have had a few cork city players play schoolboy with us, georgie, john o'flynn, greg o'hallorhan, kevin murray, micky buckley, so we must be doing something right, anyway were delighted to be involved in the fai cup and are looking forward to the visit of longford town, whatever the outcome.
    spot on Yoda.....was a leeds player back in the days around when it just started when they had to rent pitches every season...farmers pitches fuill of cow shiit too...we used to get picked up by Donie and Mrs B for the games...the progress the club has made over the last 15 years has been brilliant.....Had a nice view of the pitch until that new crappy housing/apartment estate was built.....Hopefully they'll play there,....better chance of progressing playing in Leeds park......

nearly forgot about another ex-leeds man

ken coleman

my cousins played for them years ago, great memories of those teenage summers down there
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

We played 'em last year in the cup and needed an 89th minute winner to beat them.

Look out for their goalkeeper - Matthew Stokes, top keeper and a sound bloke
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yoda01
    and as for who ever said the pitch is a slope from one goal to another obviously hasn't been there,
    I have been there many times and there is definitely a slope in the pitch.

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    I have been there many times and there is definitely a slope in the pitch.
    if there is a slop you're talking milimeteres....fcuk all slope there dude.!!!

you may be thinkint he old hegarty's picth on dublin hill....now that was a slope...

60 Posts
    I was down at Leeds Park to watch Drumcondra play Leeds in the Intermediate Cup this year. They have a nice set up and would meet the criteria of the FAI. They are a great bunch of football people and have training facilities that a lot of EL clubs don't have. They also have a couple of ex-cobh players. We drew with they down there and they beat us at home. A good session was had by all afterwards. We also beat Everton. What is it with the Rebel county's clubs being called after English teams,
    Always look on the bright side of life

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by NorthoftheLee
    spot on Yoda.....was a leeds player back in the days around when it just started when they had to rent pitches every season...farmers pitches fuill of cow shiit too...we used to get picked up by Donie and Mrs B for the games...the progress the club has made over the last 15 years has been brilliant.....Had a nice view of the pitch until that new crappy housing/apartment estate was built.....Hopefully they'll play there,....better chance of progressing playing in Leeds park......
    happy days 12 of us in the back of mrs b's golf going to a match, weve come along way since, the harps match was probably our best day ever, we gave them a good game and were unlucky to lose, that keeper malcolm stokes has since retired but weve replaced him with a great young keeper who's making a good name for himself and attracting a few ericom league clubs to look at him, as for drummerboy, who did ye get in the cup, and thanks for the great day out in the morton stadium.