Thread: Salthill (Home)

420 Posts

Salthill (Home)

Should be winning this one Friday and with Cork and Mons having tricky enough games its a great chance to get into the top 3.

Anyone know how long Frost and Bhandarkhar are out for?
    If Gamble gets booked in this does he still miss Cork like if he got booked against Harps?
    Only changes id make to the team that played Harps is Bhandarkhar/Frost back in left back if any are fit and Judge in instead of Hynes.

Cant see them being able to handle us going forward at all and after taking a hammering against Mervue they should have no confidence think it will end up 4-0 Limerick.

I wonder does the suspension carry over into the FAI Cup game alright if he did pick up a yellow. If its a case he picks up another yellow is he available for Bray next week but out for Cork i'd prefer to see Gamble left out this Friday if that was the case. I think we should have more than enough for Salthill with Tracey, O'Leary and Judge there.

I'm going for a 4-0 win. Gaffney to get his first for us.

Can't wait for this match, seems like forever since I was at my last home game, over a month ago now nearly but back to business I think that we will beat Salthill easily enough with the quailty we now posses however I think they will come dolwn and try frustrate us and try park the bus and that we could struggle for awhile but once we get the first (hopefully) the goals will start to flow in

If there is any chance Joey Gamble could miss the cork game over a booking in this I wouldn't play him, as has been said we should have enough quality to beat Salthill even without Joey playing. Although saying that I really want to see him play as I haven't had the chance yet

3 or 4 nil to Limerick

420 Posts
    Ive been told now that Joe has to get another 2 bookings to miss a game he has 3 yellows and the limit is 4 but i was told that when he got sent off against Monaghan that suspension wiped out one of the yellows. Not sure of the rules myself but the person that told me would know.

If that is the case then stick with the same team for continuity.

I'm afraid that could be it now,terrible result,where do they go from here?Jaysus you were off the mark with that prediction jofspring,As a matter of fact bwa and bm were also way off it too.
    Last edited by theboywonder8; 19/08/2011 at 8:43 PM.

Great result holding Salthill to a draw.

We do not deserve promotion with an attitude like that tonight. Be positive Scully says with 4 mins to go, a joke.

420 Posts
    If he is not sacked before he leaves Jackman tonight its a disgrace.
    Attitude was a disgrace players should be ashamed of themselves.

Quote Originally Posted by theboywonder8 View Post
    I'm afraid that could be it now,terrible result,where do they go from here?Jaysus you were off the mark with that prediction jofspring,As a matter of fact bwa and bm were also way off it too.
    Me and pretty much the rest of the country boywonder

46 Posts
    i was standing behind pat o sullivan and i can tell ye he was fuming he fired his umbrella onto the ground at the end. i feel sorry for that man he has pumped alot of money into that club its just unfortunate he has *************as a manager. there is four junior teams in town that would beat that salthill team they are useless all they did was hoof the ball away or into touch.
    there is no point in sacking scully now might aswell let him finish out the remaining few games if cork beat us in a few weeks thats it 7pts will be the diff
    Last edited by joeSoap; 20/08/2011 at 10:47 AM.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    i was standing behind pat o sullivan and i can tell ye he was fuming he fired his umbrella onto the ground at the end. i feel sorry for that man he has pumped alot of money into that club its just unfortunate he has ************ as a manager. there is four junior teams in town that would beat that salthill team they are useless all they did was hoof the ball away or into touch
    there is no point in sacking scully now might aswell let him finish out the remaining few games if cork beat us in a few weeks thats it 7pts will be the diff
    Why so he can continue to get paid for doing an awful job?
    Last edited by joeSoap; 20/08/2011 at 10:48 AM.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Why so he can continue to get paid for doing an awful job?

lets be honest we are not going to get promoted and we dont deserve to either we cant beat rival teams these teams have not just beat us they destroyed us at home. let scully finish out the season and get a top manager in ASAP im sure the club would go after a top manager who is prob already with a club no point sacking him now with a hand full of games left by the time we get a new manager in the season will be over.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    lets be honest we are not going to get promoted and we dont deserve to either we cant beat rival teams these teams have not just beat us they destroyed us at home. let scully finish out the season and get a top manager in ASAP im sure the club would go after a top manager who is prob already with a club no point sacking him now with a hand full of games left by the time we get a new manager in the season will be over.
    Surely all that should mean he should be sacked...

Get a caretaker manger til the end of the season or until we get a new manager surely could get one in the next 8 weeks then he can get to know his players for 1st division next year.
    Cant see the point in keeping a manager that is clearly failing and definitely wont get us up just cos theres only 8 weeks left what good is it to keep him when hes going to be sacked at the end of the season anyway?
    At leasr if we get rid of him now the likes of Yellow might stay for next year.

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Me and pretty much the rest of the country boywonder
    i agree,if he's not sacked tonight he never will be,the buck stops with him,he has no excuses,the player's are there now.

lads scully should of being sacked weeks ago its just not working 4 him and never seemed to be im shocked that he has lasted this long....

Just can't see a change being made. If we win in Cork (I know, very unlikely) we still have a good chance. Even though there are 2 weeks to that game, we probably have a better chance of winning that game without a change. Scully should have been replaced last offseason but I think its too late now.

We should have been 3 or 4 up by the time Salthill scored with all the chances and they only scored from a bad mistake in us failing to clear.

the biggest budget and support network any Limerick manager has ever had and yet he continues to make an arse of it.. he has surrounded himself with yes-men not a former player or anyone that has done anything in the game on the coaching staff and he speaks about profesionalism.. my arse.. pat o Sullivan deserves better he has been a breath of fresh air to senior soccer in this town..scully great man to roar abuse at the kids but afraid of his life to question a senior player good riddance pat stick to the cabs!!

Pat's Time is Up

The supporters have been saying for a long time now that Scully isn't up to it. Abysmal record against the top teams in crunch games, and despite having the best Limerick squad and resources since the late eighties, he is absolutely and positively clueless as to how to use them. The "tactics" tonight were a farce. When he can't let the players loose on a team of no hopers like Salthill, well then you know it's never going to happen. Why weren't our full backs bombing forward? Why wasn't the formation changed? Too safe, too negative, no width and worst of all no game plan. Rolls Royce strikers in Behan and Gaffney yet clueless as to how to supply them. Gaffney on the wing is a joke, he's a striker not a winger. The big throw in to the box tactic is also typical of a manager bereft of ideas. Yes, let's have a dangerous striker throw the ball in to the box instead of being in the box himself to do what he does best.

Look at our goals for column, we're the worst of the pack. There's a reason for that, it's because our tactics are wrong and our build up play is too slow and too predictable. We don't stretch teams, we just pass or hoof the ball in to blind alleys. This is with a team containing players that would walk on to most Premier Division teams. It's not rocket science where the problem lies.

From the vibes tonight I think the penny has finally dropped with the club officials too. I'd just hope that they act fast and act now. We can still go up, but not with Scully. Liam Buckley, even Stephen Henderson, are twiddling their thumbs, and both are better managers. So the replacements are out there. Time for Pat Scully to go

O,M,G, words become me,dont no where to start so i wont.Completely unbeliveable.
    To be or not to be

122 Posts
    Is Barry Ryan usually ye're back-up keeper lads? Just noticed there on extratime that he wasn't in nets

1,025 Posts
    **** that.