believe me, we tried and tried against malmo but there is no getting them to stand up or even singOriginally Posted by Snatch
lazy fcukers
"Sing up for the Cork City" flyers in the stands would be a great idea. Maybe Dolan would put a quote of encouragement on it. Perhaps something about the benefit to the team of the vocal support in Holland. It would still require a determined group to get the chants started off though. The Corner has a pivotal role to play in helping chants roll off the Shed and into the serene Derrynane end.Originally Posted by Pablo
I'll volunteer to distribute them. If the flyers were green, they could serve a dual purpose too!
It was a pity the Family Enclosure was almost deserted against Malmo as it can create a bit of a racket up that end of the Cross. Perhaps something to do with the prices for childrens' tickets, but I'm not getting into that again!![]()
believe me, we tried and tried against malmo but there is no getting them to stand up or even singOriginally Posted by Snatch
lazy fcukers
We definitely have to pull it out of the bag for this game ...... everyone going for it 110%
Originally Posted by thecorner
would it be too late to do this,a face
I dunno ... i'd say not ...... need to sort out what goes on it though ..... green paper, songs etc. ..... The Banks would have to go on it ..... been singing it the last few games and it was brilliant, great hearing it at full voice.Originally Posted by thecorner
Anyway .... i throw in €20-€50 ... whatever, just need to decide what would be good.
Anyone with ideas .... get them down fast !!
We'll get it going if there are enough people to help... There was about 12 who helped with the small flags. We'd need even more for paper in the St.Annes and Derrynane I'd say. Twould be good though, lets get it going...Originally Posted by thecorner
Are we talking A4 sheet on every seat - green white and red...
if it aint broke, dont fix it...what was done for the last game v malmo was class....stay with that!
cant because we didnt get all the flags back and some we did get back were wrecked......we'll def have to do something with the A4 sheets.....anyone know how much the coloured stuff costs??
How about if it had a simple heading like "Your City needs you" or "Home Advantage?...", with a brief piece about the need to get behind the team tonight. Maybe a picture of the shed/ fans in Malmo singing with the flags would help.
Not that I'm suggesting that 451 have an image problem but I still think it would help if Dolan, Lennox, or a player had a quote to the same effect on it.
End it with "enjoy the game", and the 451 logo.
I'd say it would be better to keep them all green. Several songs could be printed on the back. It would be best to only put on pro-City and inoffensive songs, not that we have many anti-Nijemgan chants anyway! To get them singing the banks or the simplist City chant is the best we could hope for but that would be great.
Having seen the effort at the green sheets that was on display at Lansdowne road a couple of times I find it very hard to believe that it would work at the X next weekend. For a start A4 sheets would be too small and show up a lot of gaps between sheets which wouldn't really portray a 'sea of green'. Secondly I don't think everyone in the ground would make the effort to hold them up. The majority of people who sit in the Derrynane/Donie Forde stands very rarely get involved in this kinda craic so IMO it wouldn't work.
But as always if the lads decide to try something along the lines then I'll def help out
Having something green to wave was only an auxilliary benefit of the plan. It's really just an idea to get people to to sing throughout the ground. In fact, maybe half A4 sheets would be handier.Originally Posted by Eric
some sort of flyer needs to be done similar to the one done regarding the malmo match. but on a bigger scale. lets get the heads together lads. maybe tomorow night?
What about rolls of paper, something like wallpaper but not as expensive and cheaper made if possible.people at the back and front of the shed could hold it when its rolled out. Just an idea.
I'm on holidays![]()
When it worked at Lansdowne Road a sea of green around the stadium was amazing. A similiar move with red, white and green down the Donie Ford Stand and the Derrynane Road side would be class.
It's simple and cheaper than flags.
Simple ..... maybe, if there were enough heads to pitch in .... people seem to be scarce when needed to do stuff. Cheaper ... you might have a point !!Originally Posted by niamh
Lads I dont mean to pour cold water on your party but I think ye are losing the run of yourselves in fairness.How can ye claim this is the best thing to happen to the league in 20 years or to say the team will forever go down in history as legends????????What has it achieved or won?NOTHING!!Ye won in the 1st round of the Intertoto Cup and drew with an unheard of Dutch side.And fair play to ye for doing that but come on be realistic,its not like ye have come up against a Bayern Munich,Real Madrid,Man United,etc!!!!Its a third-rate European competition that most top level European clubs would scoff at taking part in.Come on lads cop on and stop lauding your team as legends in 2 seasons this performance in a thirdrate European competition will be all forgotten about!!!!!!!The display at the home game vs Malmo was spectacular but next weeks game nneds to be even better now.
There will be a hugh amount of interest now not just from the Cork media but nationwide, I think, so what a chance to show everyone what we have here at The Cross.........make no mistake this is something really special.
People will talk about this team in years to come like no other team in Irish soccer history.
Unbeaten in 3 European games!
Just 1 goal conceeded!
Comfortable in all 3 games!
Fantastic support home and away!
Everyone should wear their shirts, scarves etc and hopefully the FourFiveOne guys still have their red white and green flags.
These guys have done more for the League in the past 3 weeks than any of the muppets that run it have, in the past 20 years.
Legends one and all.
only becasue of what will be achieved in those two seasonsOriginally Posted by ConfusedBlue
A Bitter Blue Blah Belittling their Bordering Brethern?
How unusual to see a Waaherfurh fan moaning.
Fancy, considering their impending battle with relegation.
If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.
that's clever, Green and White should be dooable, I'll chip inOriginally Posted by dcnags
Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.