So a couple of idiots in the Bohs support should go without comment, but a couple of idiots in the Rovers support deserves the usual outraged email campaign from Reiteoir and co to the Evening Herald. Surely you can see that's a bit ridiculous, and trying to take the moral highground of your idiots being better than our idiots is pointless in a game where there were racist chanting from the Bohs section and at least twice Gardaí having to move in to the Jodi with at least one arrest made (or at least one chap being dragged out of Dalymount by four or five Gardaí)
I give up. Have fun with the email campaign.
Ye are as bad as each other. Trying to score petty points over each other on the internet on the back of a dead man.
Ye really should be ashamed of yourselves.
but he's right. Didnt Rovers always claim that there was no racist abuse at all wrt Ndo? Isnt that what your supporters and club claimed? At least our fans did the right thing and put a stop to it instead of the usual Rovers head in the sand denial thing that you guys do so so so well. It is a fair point if you are going to use this as an excuse to have a go. And as DeBowez says the noises would be inaudible from 2 kids in the midst of the Bohs support during the game (it didnt happen during the "minutes silence"). It is quite clear the issue was started by an honest poster on our messageboard and was just picked up by Rovers.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
and just as unsurprising is the fact that shouts of "we're glad he's dead" and "dig him up" and accompanying laughter from the majority have largely gone uncriticised on here and claimed to be unworthy of provocation. When a greatly loved and long standing member or fan of any of your clubs dies and is disrespected in such a fashion we'll see how blase you all are about it. No doubt abot it though, the Bohs fans shouldnt have sunk to the Rovers level.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
And now somebody who wasn't even at the game chips in with his two cents.
Whatever happened, the perpetrators shouldn't be glorified in any way by further childish discussion and tit for tat rubbish on here.
Have a bit of respect for the memory of the man who was being honoured in the first place.
so what if I wasnt there? Neither were you. Why are you chipping in over the last couple of pages then? I didnt make any comment about anything other than what has already been discussed and criticism of the way it has been discussed. Do you expect that Rovers fans can post what they like about Bohs fans and not have it rebutted? Get real. Or get over it.
you should have said that to your Rovers mates last night. Thats kind of the point.Have a bit of respect for the memory of the man who was being honoured in the first place.
There must have been more than two fans making monkey chants cos it was audible whilst watching the match on tv!
I've already said what happened during the minutes silence was a disgrace earlier on in this thread. What grates though is the hypocrisy Bohs fans always display when it comes to incidents like this even yourself in this post and reading the stuff on your forum today. All I can say is they have a very short memory. In 2007 a minutes silence for Terry Palmer's dad was disrupted by Bohs fans shouting abuse, Bohs fans tend not to remember these things though for some reason.
Here's a few quotes from our forum which might change your opinion. Like most right thinking people most of our fans were appalled last night.
I was disappointed at some of the Hoops fans not showing respect for the minutes silence for that Bohs fan who died during the week, I think the man should be afforded a lot of respect, whether he was a bohs fan or not. That man was the bread and butter of this league he supported his club through good and bad times, just like Rovers fans. I have been supporting the hoops for more than fifty years along with my friends, and I would be very upset if one them died and were not shown respect by other teams fans. i am sure some of that mans family were at the match last night and it must have been very upsetting for them.
All i hope is that these so called fans are holding their heads in shame today and I would love to see them rooted out and told where to go!!! We have the best fans in the world, we do not need these kind of fans, having none would be better than having fans like these.Its a pity the gloss was taken off a great night by what happened during the minutes silence as a Rovers fan I would apologise for any gob****es amongst our support and although a minutes silence can be an opportuniyt for mongo attention seekers it still should be possible to call for and receive, as the song goes a little respect.Agree 100%, that 2 lowlifes behave like that shows they have no respect for anything, including, themselves. It has given the namas in D7 a chance to take the focus off the huge gulf that is developing beween our clubs.there is some awful ****ing arseholes who "follow" this club... what sort of ****ing lowlife cant even respect a minutes silence for a fellow loi fan
bohs or not its illelevant..
no excuses they should be identified and banned"Dig him up" and "Glad he's dead" is a ****ing disgraceful thing to shout during a minutes silence at a football match. The two gob****es who did it should be locked in a room with the family of the dead man for a few hours. Plenty of other thicks thought it was funny too. All I can say is **** off out of Rovers you scummy *****.After a great few weeks of being a proud hoop both at home and abroad I was filled with shame and rage at the way some Rovers fans behaved during the minutes silence at last night's game. I'm not interested in hoops fans making excuses about the behaviour of some Bohs fans. The behaviour of Bohs fans is not my concern. However, how Rovers fans conduct themselves is. We all have a duty to each other as committed Rovers fans and the failure of some Rovers fans to observe the minutes silence let themselves and us all down last night. It showed a real lack of class on our behalf and my thoughts were with the relatives of the poor deceased person who no doubt were in the stand. Rovers fans should be above such mindless ignorance. We are better than that. We are Rovers and we should do things properly. It was in marked contrast to the great display shown by all fans a few days earlier when Kopehangen came to town. I'm reminded of the impeccably observed minutes silence by Celtic fans in the New Year Old Firm derby earlier this year to mark the 40th anniversary of the Ibrox disaster. Sadly we failed to live up to that last night. We must learn from last nights moment of shame, because undoubtedly that what it was, and endeavour in the future to be the outstanding club when it come to observing and showing respect during such occasions. We are Rovers, the best fans in the land, lets live up to that in the future and those responsible learn from last night. There is a better way to make our mark.The disruption of the minutes silence was disgraceful. No two ways about it. And what's even more petty is all this pathetic arguing about "it was them first, it was more them than us etc..."
The fact is, people on both sides disrupted it. It's bad form regardless of numbers. Whether they disrupted first or not, had nobody from our camp responded it would have died down. I was embarrassed when it happened.
Fair play, I was actually more appalled at the widespread laughter than at the 2 simpletons that shouted what they did.
If nothing else, it highlights the case for a minute's applause over a minute's silence. It's practically impossible for a few gob****es to disrupt.
The Model Club
Tell all the Bohs you know
that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
and it's not gonna be three
and it's not gonna be four
it's more likely to be 5-1.