Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Bohs v Rovers, 05/08/11

89 Posts
    Returning from the land of make believe for a moment, will Bohs do anything to improve security next time? Seemed to be awful rucks going on with the police at their end of the Jodi as fans tried to get at Rovers fans (though the segregation was easily big enough so they would have known they were getting nowhere and just acting up)and there were a few arrests. Meanwhile in the Des Kelly stand there's a little step behind the goal for usual idiots to spend the whole game jumping on to to wave at their mates, and of course when the goal goes in to jump over on to the pitch and awkwardly wander a few yards on to the pitch to show how hard they are. Can we not put Rovers fans in the other end of the Jodi if Connaught St doesn't have any repair works done to it? Seems like it would cut down on a lot of the crap, although Bohs fans wouldn't be able to keep an eye on the Nazi salutes and late-term abortions that Rovers fans get up to.

176 Posts
    At these games, there's often 2 games going on. One on the pitch, and the other in the stands. Some people are not interested in what's happening on the pitch, and spend the 90 minutes goading and taunting.

I don't know if a silence was requested on Friday, but if it was, it was the worst possible fixture to ask for it, with very little chance of it being observed. Applause has become the norm in the league now, and it should have been asked for on Friday.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    At these games, there's often 2 games going on. One on the pitch, and the other in the stands. Some people are not interested in what's happening on the pitch, and spend the 90 minutes goading and taunting.

I don't know if a silence was requested on Friday, but if it was, it was the worst possible fixture to ask for it, with very little chance of it being observed. Applause has become the norm in the league now, and it should have been asked for on Friday.
    Yes indeed, how dare anyone expect fans to observe a minutes silence and presumably having hoardings around the place is also asking far far too much of fans. The pitch invasion is now mandatory and just has to be accepted. The comments by the scum in the Des Kelly Stand (and accompanying guffaws from the rabble around them) were,in fact, all down to Bohs ridiculous expectations of common decency.

Has the scum behaviour of a sizable element of shams support become so regular they dont even see it as wrong ?

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Returning from the land of make believe for a moment, will Bohs do anything to improve security next time? Seemed to be awful rucks going on with the police at their end of the Jodi as fans tried to get at Rovers fans (though the segregation was easily big enough so they would have known they were getting nowhere and just acting up)and there were a few arrests. Meanwhile in the Des Kelly stand there's a little step behind the goal for usual idiots to spend the whole game jumping on to to wave at their mates, and of course when the goal goes in to jump over on to the pitch and awkwardly wander a few yards on to the pitch to show how hard they are. Can we not put Rovers fans in the other end of the Jodi if Connaught St doesn't have any repair works done to it? Seems like it would cut down on a lot of the crap, although Bohs fans wouldn't be able to keep an eye on the Nazi salutes and late-term abortions that Rovers fans get up to.
    No arrests on friday as far as I know Jicked,any evidence orjust still in "land of make believe" ? only one sides fans on the pitch as we both know and it was not Bohs.
    In answer to your question Bohs did look at facilitating sham supporters in block A (JODI stand) as we do with pretty much every other club but it was ruled out by the gardai who insisted that no shams were to be allowed in JODI similarly the gardai cut the number allowed in the Des Kelly from 1,000 last season to 800 on Friday. Perhaps you should ask why gardai took that stance rather than blather on about security deficencies. Thats Dundalk,Derry Pats and now Bohs where shams have trundled out the old "inadequate security" line to explain fans misbehaviour. Any chance it might dawn on you that the problem is the scum element of your support rather than everyone else's security ?

57 Posts
    Just to set to rest the minds of those precious darlings about the place who seem to be asking after my whereabouts here when any incident of a nature as tenuous as this occurs - I'm off to attend a special meeting with SARI and the United Nations this afternoon where we are due to discuss such subjects as direct transport links between parts of the same city, the price of fish, the future of Greece within the European Union, "Pigs Heads and their Juxtaposition in Modern Calcio" and the state of Liechtensteiner football over the past few seasons.

So not to worry your pretty little heads about it all - it's being flagged up...
    Kom Igen, FCK...

I'm not going to get involved in a blaming game as any right-minded person knows this shouldn't have happened and it has been well condemned in all quarters.

Two things I don't understand though:

1. Why does a sligo fan feel the need to start this thread and make the thing even worse than it already is?
    2. Why do we persist with minutes silences nowadays anyway? The minutes applause is far more fitting and has become more the norm in recent times.

Anyway, perhaps the time has come for this thread to be locked as it serves no positive purpose whatsoever.
    Last edited by GreenStar; 08/08/2011 at 11:12 AM. Reason: Spelling

63 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GreenStar View Post
    I'm not going to get involved in a blaming game as any right-minded person knows this shouldn't have happened and it has been well condemned in all quarters.

Two things I don't understand though:

1. Why does a sligo fan feel the need to start this thread and make the thing even worse than it already is?
    2. Why do we persist with minutes silences nowadays anyway? The minutes applause is far more fitting and has become more the norm in recent times.

Anyway, perhaps the time has come for this thread to be locked as it serves no positive purpose whatsoever.
    Actually it was all in the one thread concerning this weekends fixtures, but one of the mods decided to split it off as it was a seperate topic on its own. The OP wasn't starting any trouble. To your second point, are LoI fans really that much of neanderthals that we can't respect a minutes silence for a deceased fellow fan? Reaaalllly??

You have a cheek considering your first post on this thread. Shame on you for trying to justify what happened on Friday by wrongly implying it was provoked in some way. Absolutely pathetic from you.

I didnt think anything else in LoI football could surprise me at this stage but SRFC supporters actions on Friday night took the biscuit. Take a bow SRFC, a new low in football support in this country. Sickening the stuff coming out of that crowd. Anyone trying to justify it here is just as bad.

And why are people saying it should be a minute applause and not silence, to drown out any abuse.. Are we really saying society in general or football supporters in particular cannot be trusted to behave like a half decent human being for at least 1 minute of their lives. If so we are really fecked as a society. Plenty of minute silences go off with no issues all around the world in football grounds all the time. Pity thats too difficult for SRFC supporters to comprehend. LoI football... I dont know why I bother any more.

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by horton View Post
    Actually it was all in the one thread concerning this weekends fixtures, but one of the mods decided to split it off as it was a seperate topic on its own. The OP wasn't starting any trouble. To your second point, are LoI fans really that much of neanderthals that we can't respect a minutes silence for a deceased fellow fan? Reaaalllly??
    In some cases, yes. This thread appears to pay tribute to that. And Ollie Byrne's tribute at the Brandywell was a minute's applause, for just that reason (not sure what other clubs did).

Quote Originally Posted by CMcC View Post
    And why are people saying it should be a minute applause and not silence, to drown out any abuse.. Are we really saying society in general or football supporters in particular cannot be trusted to behave like a half decent human being for at least 1 minute of their lives. If so we are really fecked as a society. Plenty of minute silences go off with no issues all around the world in football grounds all the time. Pity thats too difficult for SRFC supporters to comprehend. LoI football... I dont know why I bother any more.
    Hey it's not nice, but yes, some LOI fans are idiots and that's not limited to the LOI. Of course. As embarrassing and unpleasant as it is, it's not indicative of societal malaise any more than road rage, casual racism or violence.
    Last edited by SwanVsDalton; 08/08/2011 at 11:59 AM.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

427 Posts

... Ryan Thompson on hearing Chris "Adolf" Turner is still suspended.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    No arrests on friday as far as I know Jicked,any evidence orjust still in "land of make believe" ?
    sorry, no idea if they were charged or not but there were two blokes dragged from the Jodi towards the Leo Burdocks corner by 3/4 Gardaí with their arms behind their back.

Not going to bother responding to CmCC's post, though I certainly didn't think I had justified the shouts from two blokes in the Rovers support. It was horrible, and they should have been reefed out for it. The usual overreaction to anything that happens involving Shamrock Rovers makes it very difficult to discuss anything. For instance, hundreds of Rovers fans were trying to shush the two blokes and the gang of knackers they were in who were laughing at what they said, which was reported in the Irish Times as the Rovers crowd making "hissing" noises.

43 Posts
    So all the Bohs hypocrites are out in force on this thread. We have the evil Rovers bringing a new low by disrupting the minutes silence. Well not quite actually, any of you hypocrites remember late June 2007, Rovers V Bohs, a minutes silence for Terry Palmer's dad Larry, a lifelong Rovers fan and former player? Well some of those nice well behaved Bohs fans shouted abuse during that minutes silence. Not quite the angels you make yourselves out to be really. I don't condone what happened Friday but the hypocrisy from Bohs fans is very annoying.

Likewise the holier than thou Bohs fans complaining about the "scum bag" Rovers fans invading the pitch when we scored. Again I don't condone it but just look what we have here, rewind 4 months and these were the scenes in Dalymount. Another example of hypocrisy coming from D7.

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pi...8&id=513078383

Then we move onto the now infamous photo of Rovers fans posing for a photo doing a roman salute while on an away trip in Italy of all places posted here yet again. Funny how Bohs fans wouldn't dream of posting this photo though.

Then we have the whole racism thing. They crucified Rovers over noises heard on an RTE video that may have been monkey noises but could have just as easily been a Hoops Hoops chant as was proven in a video of Rovers arriving at Dublin airport last year when fans chanting Hoops Hoops sounded exactly like monkey noises. Nobody knows for sure what they were and nobody in the stand that night heard any racism. Now we have Bohs fans admitting a couple of their fans made monkey noises at Ryan Thompson on Friday night but it's ok because nobody heard it and one fan told the cuprits to F*** off.

Finally, do you remember the game in Tallaght where Jason Byrne skyed his peno into space? Some gobshíte in the Rovers section threw a bottle on the pitch and it glanced off the linesman that night. Bohs fans were up in arms, calling for points deductions, games behind closed doors etc. Fast forward a year Bohs fans launch at least a dozen bottles at Gary Twigg for having the temerity to score against them again. Last Friday night bottles were thrown on the pitch again by Bohs fans, Pat Flynn picked up one of them drank some coke out of it and threw it back. It was hilarious but Bohs fans aren't on here calling for points deductions and games behind closed doors for themselves. Funny that.

Bohs should really learn that people in glass house shouldn't throw stones.
    Last edited by HulaHoop; 08/08/2011 at 12:32 PM.

So a couple of idiots in the Bohs support should go without comment, but a couple of idiots in the Rovers support deserves the usual outraged email campaign from Reiteoir and co to the Evening Herald. Surely you can see that's a bit ridiculous, and trying to take the moral highground of your idiots being better than our idiots is pointless in a game where there were racist chanting from the Bohs section and at least twice Gardaí having to move in to the Jodi with at least one arrest made (or at least one chap being dragged out of Dalymount by four or five Gardaí)
    The difference is that Bohs fans took a stand against it and Bohs fans' self-policing saw the two idiot kids removed from the stand without any need for stewards to get involved. It was actually something to be proud of and heartening to see. Did Rovers do the same when there were monkey chants in Tallaght? No? Didn't think so.

Wow, Bohs11 sure comes out swinging at everyone doesn't he.

(Much like the several people lifted from the Jodi stand by the Gardaí during Friday's game)
    One person was removed from the stand by police for justified verbals. He wasn't arrested... and walked down to the other end of the stand and got back in again.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    seeing as though you brought it up that would be the person who abused Simon Webb about his wife dying of cancer and was banned by SRFC for life and shortly thereafter had the ban lifted? He must be gutted to have missed out on Friday night in that case. Would have been a great chance to showcase his talents.
    He received a year's ban and served it. Don't know where you got lifetime from? How are the lads who thrashed the pub in Derry getting on with their ban? I do believe they were in attendance on Friday.

at least 2 of the kingsley curry cry babys were in attendance on friday.

Good to hear it Reiteoir. I think you should really concentrate on the auld racism though. I know how much energy you put into it the last time. But can you check on amending the legislation that prohibits the sale of something twice? It's terribly unfair.

Quote Originally Posted by HulaHoop View Post
    Likewise the holier than thou Bohs fans complaining about the "scum bag" Rovers fans invading the pitch when we scored. Again I don't condone it but just look what we have here, rewind 4 months and these were the scenes in Dalymount. Another example of hypocrisy coming from D7.
    We only have to go back a month or so even...Bohs fans running 20-30m onto the pitch from the halfway line directly at Rovers fans, nowhere near the celebrations. I'll have a guess at 30-40 of them. Note also the far left Sunday Mirror advertising hoarding at 58 seconds, it's not there at 73 seconds...

Last edited by dfx-; 08/08/2011 at 2:10 PM.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Ah come on lads, have you nothing better to be doing than showing Bohs fans up for the hypocrites they are.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HulaHoop View Post
    So all the Bohs hypocrites are out in force on this thread. We have the evil Rovers bringing a new low by disrupting the minutes silence. Well not quite actually, any of you hypocrites remember late June 2007, Rovers V Bohs, a minutes silence for Terry Palmer's dad Larry, a lifelong Rovers fan and former player? Well some of those nice well behaved Bohs fans shouted abuse during that minutes silence. Not quite the angels you make yourselves out to be really. I don't condone what happened Friday but the hypocrisy from Bohs fans is very annoying.

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pi...8&id=513078383

Then we move onto the now infamous photo of Rovers fans posing for a photo doing a roman salute while on an away trip in Italy of all places posted here yet again. Funny how Bohs fans wouldn't dream of posting this photo though.

Then we have the whole racism thing. They crucified Rovers over noises heard on an RTE video that may have been monkey noises but could have just as easily been a Hoops Hoops chant as was proven in a video of Rovers arriving at Dublin airport last year when fans chanting Hoops Hoops sounded exactly like monkey noises. Nobody knows for sure what they were and nobody in the stand that night heard any racism. Now we have Bohs fans admitting a couple of their fans made monkey noises at Ryan Thompson on Friday night but it's ok because nobody heard it and one fan told the cuprits to F*** off.

Finally, do you remember the game in Tallaght where Jason Byrne skyed his peno into space? Some gobshíte in the Rovers section threw a bottle on the pitch and it glanced off the linesman that night. Bohs fans were up in arms, calling for points deductions, games behind closed doors etc. Fast forward a year Bohs fans launch at least a dozen bottles at Gary Twigg for having the temerity to score against them again. Last Friday night bottles were thrown on the pitch again by Bohs fans, Pat Flynn picked up one of them drank some coke out of it and threw it back. It was hilarious but Bohs fans aren't on here calling for points deductions and games behind closed doors for themselves. Funny that.

Bohs should really learn that people in glass house shouldn't throw stones.
    It is moronic views like this self justifying nonsense that are responsible for the ongoing behaviour problems that are associated with shams - someone did something in 2007.... bottles thrown NEAR Gary twigg (in an incident he was suspended for)...etc etc

This is unfortunately typical of the majority of shams support that appear unwilling to address the scum element among their support. The case they raise about the two numpties in the Jodi that were told off for (alledged) rascist noises show what ordinary decent fans should do - tell them to stop, not come on here dragging up ancient history to justify scum behaviour. Perhaps allowing a convicted football hooligan remain on the board sent out amessage about the clubs stance and they are now reaping the rewards ? Then again maybe its just every other clubs poor security.

No doubt we will get a public statement from shams supporters clubs threatening to boycott matches in Dalymount unless we desist from having minutes silence
    Last edited by marinobohs; 08/08/2011 at 1:46 PM.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sundance kid View Post
    at least 2 of the kingsley curry cry babys were in attendance on friday.
    Any hooligan directors there ?

1,025 Posts
    Can this thread be renamed 'the whataboutery thread'?

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast