Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Champions League 2011/12

221 Posts
    Incidentally, in a follow-up to the Turkish story, Fenerbahce will now apply to be demoted.

1,928 Posts
    The competition (in earnest) start tonight. I was looking forward to watching the Barca v Milan game on an actual tv but in their minuscule wisdom, TV3 are showing Dortmund v Arsenal. Who TF would want to watch that over the other game? Is the default option option, if there is an EPL team in any shape or form, competing in the CL, then Irish tv are duty bound to give it priority?
    It's back to the computer screen this evening.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    The competition (in earnest) start tonight. I was looking forward to watching the Barca v Milan game on an actual tv but in their minuscule wisdom, TV3 are showing Dortmund v Arsenal. Who TF would want to watch that over the other game? Is the default option option, if there is an EPL team in any shape or form, competing in the CL, then Irish tv are duty bound to give it priority?
    It's back to the computer screen this evening.

Me actually. For the German team involved. I'm sure that's the thinking in TV3 as well I'd say.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

1,825 Posts
    Delighted with that equaliser.

1,825 Posts
    Just saw Milan's. Delighted with both equalisers.

The lads on Setanta going on like Milan are some two bit operation from Georgia.

1,928 Posts
    2 goals was a miraculous return for a Milan team who hardly ventured further than their own penalty spot, all game. A brilliant assist from Messi for Barca's first. Later he was called offside after he collected the ball just in front of the goalie and managed to go around him with the ball, in half the space that you'd get in a telephone box.

1,825 Posts
    Oh I watched the highlights, Barca were clearly the better team, just the patronizing of Milan is a new one on me.

1,928 Posts
    Milan have the knack of defending deep in their area, expending the minimum amount of energy, it was quite fascinating to watch. No headless chicken, panic station stuff chasing Barca players all over the pitch.

200 Posts
    Guardianistas might label the best team in the history of football, but they seem utterly incapable or unwilling to defending corners.

No doubt some puerile journalists (e.g. Sid Lowe or Henry Winter) will say, "oh who needs to defend corners if you have attackers as good as Messi".

1,825 Posts
    And they have Pedro.

1,928 Posts
    Yes, Edmundo oh wise one, however, the purile Sid Lowe did highlight that Barca may live to regret not signing a centre half, especially considering last night's game, where an injured Pique didn't play and Puyol only just returning from knee surgery, was used as a sub for 30 mins.
    As it stands now, Barca are light in central defense, but when Pique and Puyol are both fit, Barca are about 5 light years ahead of the opposition.
    If only those inept coaches/managers in the opposition teams like Madrid, Man U, Chelsea, Arsenal, could implement those tactics that could expose Barca and beat them

1,825 Posts
    Didn't the manager of Madrid manage to do so?

200 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Didn't the manager of Madrid manage to do so?
    Oh you mean that Inter beat them in CL in 2010 ? Oh you see that doesn't count, because Barca should have had a penalty, a goal was wrongly dissallowed, and Inter's goal was offside in the San Siro, and there was an ash cloud which meant Barca had to take the bus, and Barca had to play in Orange (which they are not used to), and well you see Inter are team with huge physical players like Lucio and Julío Cesar and they're too big and too defensive it's not proper football, Johan would never approve, and it's unfair that they didn't do a Villareal (just give up on winning the ball and let Barca play through them)....

About Barca's injuries last night, they may have had Pique and Alexes Sanchis out, but Milan had Ibrahimovic and Flamini out too, injuries generally even themselves out for these big teams with strong squads. Not having a strong enough squad (or if you like not having defensive players versatile enough to play at center back) is a sign of weakness, and I suspect it will be exploited by other teams if it isnt remedied.

1,825 Posts
    Inter's performance in that second leg was masterful and it was one of my all time favourite performances from any team.

Someone this year will park the bus like Milan did last night and we will be free of the Tyrannical reign of that cultural institution, I mean, soccer club of Barcelona.

1,928 Posts
    Bonnie, only the Dark Lord himself, Mourinho, can park a bus like that, that might work one time in five and with Barca missing 25 out of 25 shots on goal.
    I'm watching the Bayern v Man City game on a superb feeder stream, loud crowd noise but no commentary. It's a cracking one sided game
    Last edited by geysir; 27/09/2011 at 7:34 PM.

1,928 Posts
    The commentator (dutch) has come back from his long smoke break.

1,825 Posts
    They actually won that match 1-0 don't forget. Still wonderful.

Was watching some of Bayern v Man City, love how they are dominating. ManCity are like frightened cats.

Listening to the last word today, the funny thing, well it wasn't funny, I nearly crashed because I rolled my eyes so much, but Cas thought that ManCity would beat Bayern and that the German League was weak.

Jaysus!

1,928 Posts
    The second half is another story.
    I might just switch over and focus on the tv game and have a closer gander at the Man U defense being ripped apart by (cough splutter) Basle,
    is the baldy guy, the tube ticket toting ex-Spurs manager still with them?

1,928 Posts
    Man u are struggling to keep basle out, the camera focussed on saviour Berbatov for about 30 seconds there in the stands, I think he was reading a book.

Ribery loses the ball again, they should have signed McGeady.

1,928 Posts
    Basle in the lead now. Our old mate Andy Fry.

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast