Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Non-Shels fans views to the possibility of Shels getting promotion

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    Personally, I'm sick of the sight of the Dublin, and the N2 and M1 generally.
    Including Ireland matches, I'll be at an east coast match 24 times this season. And with Galway probably getting relegated this season, it's not really going to get better.

Nothing against Shels, actually quite like our matches against them, it's just that variety in away trips match makes a season so much more craic.
    I understand what you are saying and its fair enough but at the same time when teams in the first have to play all over the country they complain and call it the discover Ireland league.
    As much as i dislike Shels, they will change the make up of the premier division for the better when they go up. Galway, Drogheda and UCD need time in the first division and replaced with Cork and shels and Mervue Utd

Shels will walk away with it. I hope they somehow manage to screw it up but I very very much doubt it.
    I enjoy our games against them, because of the rivalry, but for the same reason I hope they stay in the first forever

I always enjoyed a trip to Tolka, but in recent years the place is crumbling. Not much they can do about it, but not exciting for an away fan to visit.

Overall, if we can get promoted I couldn't give a flying feck who else goes up, but if I had to chose another team it'd be Limerick. If we don't get promoted, well then I care even less really...

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Facilities are brutal for visiting fans.
    They're brutal for home fans too!

Can't really understand the criticism of Tolka when Dalyer exists. Can't wait for the day we're up. If its this November then Huzzah!!!

427 Posts
    Would be amazed if Shels manage to mess it up now (although they have a knack of surprising us with their ability to screw up ) and fully expect them to return. Tolka is in a delapidated state, with little or no chance of any improvement given the current ownership status.

However IF Shels play in Tolka next season it will meet the (hardly taxing) Premier Lge requirements.

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Shels on the pitch deserve to be in the Premier on merit. It's simple as that, theres grounds in the Premier worse off that Tolka.
    Season's over, is it? If they're in a promotion place at the end of the season they'll be there on merit.

Don't think they'll add anything, or take away. Tolka isn't what it was, and niether is their spending power. Shels fans would want to get over themselves if they think they are that important anymore.

So what is the story with Tolka? Are any sides closed off?

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    So what is the story with Tolka? Are any sides closed off?
    I understand (open to correction) that Ballybough end (opposite Lego stand) is unsafe but think the rest of the ground is usable.

123 Posts
    hopefully mons win the leauge with mervue coming with a late run to pip shels to second spot and galway to be saved (by dvd) then everything would be right with the world. and limerick will be in the english premiership
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    They're brutal for home fans too!
    Ever since Burdock's left us that is
    Last edited by TiocfaidhArmani; 04/08/2011 at 4:56 PM.

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    theres grounds in the Premier worse off that Tolka.
    1 ground maybe - Drogheda's gaff is a total kip - but no more than that. Give me Dayler over Tolka any time
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb View Post
    Having visited Tolka numerous times in the last few season it will not be something for visiting fans to look forward to.

In my opinion Shelbourne were loss to the Premier division when they left. They were everything that was wrong with the league for 10 + years.

Teams like Cork and Derry were far greater losses.
    Cork and Derry deserved to be demoted just as much as Shels did. The way Cork behaved in their last season in the Premier they were absolutely no loss to it at all.
    There is no point talking about what type of addition Shels will be to the Premier unless we actually get there.

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    I understand what you are saying and its fair enough but at the same time when teams in the first have to play all over the country they complain and call it the discover Ireland league.)
    Term of endearment. At least it was for us.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb View Post
    Teams like Cork and Derry were far greater losses.
    Ah yeah, despite Cork's inferior football side, inferior manager and fans who let their club die.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

229 Posts
    I'd like to see Shels back in the Premier. I know it'll be another Dublin club but if they're good enough there can't be complaints. I hope Limerick get there as well. Not pushed on Cork but with the support they have they should be back in the Premier.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    1 ground maybe - Drogheda's gaff is a total kip - but no more than that. Give me Dayler over Tolka any time
    The Carlisle is a bit of a dump aswell.

Also, not sure Dundalks ground is much better in the context of away supporter facilities than Shels (admitedly disgusting) ones.

As for them getting to the Premier, not sure exactly what they'll be adding what with 18 Dublin clubs already up there but whatever.

Might take over Bohs spot assuming Bohs are doomed I suppose.

I've said it to the lads recently, with the way the First could potentially finish (no offence Monaghan), it's a crying shame for the FAI that UCD refuse stubbornly to become a shambles.

Imagine UCD down and Shels, Cork, Limerick up. Be as near to perfect a spread as they'd have had in a long time.

55 Posts
    I can see us just opening the main and 'new' stand next season if we go up. I don't really see anything wrong with those two. They'll more than do the job.

Quote Originally Posted by TiocfaidhArmani View Post
    I can see us just opening the main and 'new' stand next season if we go up. I don't really see anything wrong with those two. They'll more than do the job.
    Not when Rovers visit

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Not when Rovers visit
    True, not sure what we'll do there. I wonder if the Ballybough and Riverside both unsuitable? Surely Ballybough would be okay. It's a stable structure in itself. Few, well a lot of missing seats, but that's about it, don't think it's unsafe per se.

Quote Originally Posted by CSFShels View Post
    fans who let their club die.
    Unlike shelsfans who let someone run amok for years, and instead of questioning hailed him as hero?

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Unlike shelsfans who let someone run amok for years, and instead of questioning hailed him as hero?
    Not sure many had the inside slant and what was happening exactly. That said, I don't get the hero worship, the man nearly ran us into the ground through sheer stupidity. What kills me is we soon enough won't have a home whereas we once had the best ground in the league.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast