Also, northwestexile, when you get your lunch break above in Abbotstown I suggest reading up about the chicken and the egg. x
I fully completely support the FAIs' Ignore Des Cahill initiative and I hope it is taken on by the country as a whole.
I never had much time for John and his merry band of idiots and arselickers but with this one brilliant initiative they've done more to foster goodwill among right minded people than has been done by the FAI in the last 25 years.![]()
Also, northwestexile, when you get your lunch break above in Abbotstown I suggest reading up about the chicken and the egg. x
My issue is not that a journalist asked questions about delaneys salary my issue is with the general negativity that the print and broadcasting media always spin on an FAI/Irish football related story.
"It's not the despair; I can handle the despair. It's the hope I can't stand." John Cleese on supporting a LOI club.
Wrong, wrong and wrong - if you'd heard the exchange instead of reading biased comment then you would know the first two wrong points were nothing about being anti-FAI or Delaney, they were simple questions regarding how it's being run.
The same man has openly questioned and tackled issues regarding the GPA (he backed them and took alot of private flak from the GAA), and he has also questioned contentious issues like the winter training break (a sham), players expenses for "weaker" countie (he illustrated this using the Louth hurlers), he took onthe Kilkenny Co Board over their poor treatment of football and he has reguarly highlighted the need for transparency in manager payments. Actually he fed Pat Spillane a few times who ran with it.
We cannot make any comparison between the GAA and FAI, the GAA are rightly taken to task when there is violence on or off the pitch and they react and deal with it. They are not a shower of freebie chasers and moneygrubbers - for what is JD paid 400,000e per year? Why?
This is about the FAI, sneaky leaks from anti-GAH people will try to draw comparisons - oh they and easier ride etc, crap! JD and his cronies in the FAI have been spinning yarns and hiding in Abbottstown, running down the league, telling lies and making it worse for themselves. This story will run for a while yet.
It's a Gaaliban conspiracy!
JD is worth every penny of that 400 grand.![]()
Des always comes accross as a pretty decent bloke - compared to buck toothed, bottle tannned, hair dyed, chest waxed Marty whatever his name is who kowtows to everything GAAAAAA. I remember I had that awful committee room on in the background when trawling the web and when marty was lauding the GAAAAAS 'community work' even one of his own GAAAAA guests had to bring him back down from planet bogball in the stickfighting universe to point out that 'soccer' and rugby also do great work in the community.
To be fair Des reports accross the board on sports when doing the RTE sports bulletins on the radio - of which I'm sure he has some editorial input.
Re: Delaney. Did anyone else think it a tad weird that when Sligo were doing the great work they did to get the Showgrounds up to standard for UEFA inspection he came out and said something along the lines of "sure i'll give them 5,000 cash out of me own pocket to pay for ............". That is the type of comment I'd expect to hear from Stanislas ****ticova from the Begorabegorastan FA. Then again it was a few days before the kaka hit the fan in regards to his salary. Hmmmmmm.
Des has a bottle tan too in fairness.
Thanks lads. Marty gaa meltyface gives me nitemares. Won't sleep for days now.:-(