Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: RTE Presenter Banned by the FAI

I fully completely support the FAIs' Ignore Des Cahill initiative and I hope it is taken on by the country as a whole.

I never had much time for John and his merry band of idiots and arselickers but with this one brilliant initiative they've done more to foster goodwill among right minded people than has been done by the FAI in the last 25 years.

Also, northwestexile, when you get your lunch break above in Abbotstown I suggest reading up about the chicken and the egg. x

My issue is not that a journalist asked questions about delaneys salary my issue is with the general negativity that the print and broadcasting media always spin on an FAI/Irish football related story.
    "It's not the despair; I can handle the despair. It's the hope I can't stand." John Cleese on supporting a LOI club.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    The point is DES Cahill has a boner about the fai or at lease John Delaney , I've never heard him ask anybody in the gaa about under the counter payments to managers
    No, the point is determining whether the kinds of questions being asked / points being raised by Des Cahill were relevant and valid. If they were, the FAI are acting like bullies.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by northwestexile View Post
    My issue is not that a journalist asked questions about delaneys salary my issue is with the general negativity that the print and broadcasting media always spin on an FAI/Irish football related story.
    But yet you applaud them for singling out one guy, (who, according to soccerc on another forum, was making perfectly relevant points) and banning him, with a possible legal action?

Chicken and egg, chicken and egg........

Give us a half dozen examples of negative spin in the last twelve months, should be easy enough if it's a regular thing.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    But yet you applaud them for singling out one guy
    Every great journey starts with a single step
    "It's not the despair; I can handle the despair. It's the hope I can't stand." John Cleese on supporting a LOI club.

1,025 Posts
    Every great journey starts with a single step
    Seriously, is that your reply to my point?

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Seriously, is that your reply to my point?
    Delays salary is larger than the entire prize fund for the league of Ireland . He has surrounded himself with yes men who are in their positions thanks to him .I fear that when the bubble bursts the true debts will be astronomical .

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    If they FAI are doing such a terrible job I hope they keep it up,
    Senior team joint top of their qualifying group with a top international manager in charge,
    Under 21's with an ex LOI manager in charge,
    Under 19's making a semi final of a European competition beating Italy on the way there with another ex LOI manager in charge,
    New stadium,
    One LOI club in with a shout of a Champions League play-off place
    Same club guarenteed Europa League play-off spot
    Another club in with a chance of making the Europa League play-offs
    Improved UEFA co-efficient
    Most people see this as being in spite of the FAI but surely they must take a large amount of credit for this
    Enjoy watching another championships at home without ireland in it, underage football is pants (spain 5-0 ireland) and Delaney has never cared for the LOI
    U obviously work within abbotstown

398 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    The point is DES Cahill has a boner about the fai or at lease John Delaney , I've never heard him ask anybody in the gaa about under the counter payments to managers
    Wrong, wrong and wrong - if you'd heard the exchange instead of reading biased comment then you would know the first two wrong points were nothing about being anti-FAI or Delaney, they were simple questions regarding how it's being run.

The same man has openly questioned and tackled issues regarding the GPA (he backed them and took alot of private flak from the GAA), and he has also questioned contentious issues like the winter training break (a sham), players expenses for "weaker" countie (he illustrated this using the Louth hurlers), he took onthe Kilkenny Co Board over their poor treatment of football and he has reguarly highlighted the need for transparency in manager payments. Actually he fed Pat Spillane a few times who ran with it.

We cannot make any comparison between the GAA and FAI, the GAA are rightly taken to task when there is violence on or off the pitch and they react and deal with it. They are not a shower of freebie chasers and moneygrubbers - for what is JD paid 400,000e per year? Why?

This is about the FAI, sneaky leaks from anti-GAH people will try to draw comparisons - oh they and easier ride etc, crap! JD and his cronies in the FAI have been spinning yarns and hiding in Abbottstown, running down the league, telling lies and making it worse for themselves. This story will run for a while yet.

It's a Gaaliban conspiracy!
    JD is worth every penny of that 400 grand.

Des always comes accross as a pretty decent bloke - compared to buck toothed, bottle tannned, hair dyed, chest waxed Marty whatever his name is who kowtows to everything GAAAAAA. I remember I had that awful committee room on in the background when trawling the web and when marty was lauding the GAAAAAS 'community work' even one of his own GAAAAA guests had to bring him back down from planet bogball in the stickfighting universe to point out that 'soccer' and rugby also do great work in the community.

To be fair Des reports accross the board on sports when doing the RTE sports bulletins on the radio - of which I'm sure he has some editorial input.

Re: Delaney. Did anyone else think it a tad weird that when Sligo were doing the great work they did to get the Showgrounds up to standard for UEFA inspection he came out and said something along the lines of "sure i'll give them 5,000 cash out of me own pocket to pay for ............". That is the type of comment I'd expect to hear from Stanislas ****ticova from the Begorabegorastan FA. Then again it was a few days before the kaka hit the fan in regards to his salary. Hmmmmmm.

Des has a bottle tan too in fairness.

Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    Des has a bottle tan too in fairness.
    Ah yeah but Marty's is more of an oompa loompa shade and his tippex white gnashers just add to the overall cosmetic effect.

Thanks lads. Marty gaa meltyface gives me nitemares. Won't sleep for days now.:-(

21. Thanks From:

398 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Thanks lads. Marty gaa meltyface gives me nitemares. Won't sleep for days now.:-(
    Ah come on now, he has a soft spot for the Farney and all things/people thereof - comes from his days of learning Paddy K's poetry by heart!

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Enjoy watching another championships at home without ireland in it, underage football is pants (spain 5-0 ireland) and Delaney has never cared for the LOI
    U obviously work within abbotstown
    To get to the semi finals of the european u 19's was a great achievement for a small country, underage football is in good shape based on qualifying for the tournament in the first place and then getting to the semis and been beaten by an excellent team.

31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cuyahoga View Post
    To get to the semi finals of the european u 19's was a great achievement for a small country, underage football is in good shape based on qualifying for the tournament in the first place and then getting to the semis and been beaten by an excellent team.

Yeah....and the 5th goal was never a peno

Quote Originally Posted by Spudulika View Post
    Ah come on now, he has a soft spot for the Farney and all things/people thereof - comes from his days of learning Paddy K's poetry by heart!
    Since I am from Oriel and not the tiny bit of my county known as Farney I don't care. He still gives me the heebee jeebees.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast