Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2011/12

Quote Originally Posted by deadly man View Post
    I meant tall and strong
    Very good player,Summervilles recently retired chairman is meant to be managing there A team next year
    And that came from the man himself
    Well i can tell u there is no truth in that...Firstly our current manager is happy with the group of lads we have at the moment and got a few new players and training and turnout and atmosphere is good in the camp besides the league position so i dont see why he would leave...Secondly, there are plenty more people in and around the club tha might like to take over that postition but until that position arises there is no need for talk about it. Thirdly the recently retired chairman retired as he had personal issues to adhere to and did not have the time and committment for chairman so how would he now have time to be a manager... He's a great man and a great clubman and gives everything to the club when he can... If something did happen and we had no manger and no one would step up i am sure he would not leave the team down and step in no matter how busy he is.. He is just that type of person and a great person to have in the club...I hope this answers any speculation or rumours flowin

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    Yep.

Star's 8 remaining games are:

Home v Pike, Boro, Regional, Carew & Summerville
    Away v Balla, Corbally & Wembley

Anyone care to have a guess at a points figure that would see you safe this season?

Also
    Can anyone else on here involved in the relegation fight, please post their remaining fixtures please and thank you.
    Summerville have... home- Pike, Kilmallock, Regional, Wembley, Boro..
    away- Star, balla, fairview
    Think thats it

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Premier P W D L F A Pts
    Janesboro 14 13 1 0 63 16 40
    Pike Rovers 12 11 0 1 53 11 33
    Carew Park 14 10 1 3 29 19 31
    Kilmallock 16 8 1 7 28 27 25
    Fairview Rgs 13 8 1 4 44 21 25
    Regional Utd 16 7 1 8 27 34 22
    Ballynanty Rs 15 6 2 7 34 25 20
    Wembley Rvs 14 4 4 6 26 31 16
    Aisling Ann 14 4 1 9 21 49 13
    Star Rvs 14 3 2 9 18 47 11
    Corbally Utd 14 2 2 10 23 41 8
    Summerville 14 1 0 13 9 54 3

Fixture
    Sun 12/02/12
    Fairview Rgs v Ballynanty Rvs, 10.30, K Gorman
    68, 99, 08

Quote Originally Posted by theboywonder8 View Post
    Exactly,thats the reason i cant see ye getting burnt again,once bitten twice shy,as they say in china,lol
    i think star and summerville will go down , star are very slow at the back and some of the players are only 1b standard, corbally on the other hand will bounce back from the summerville result and also have a cup final to look forward to which will keep the camp in good spirits.

Quote Originally Posted by Minesapint View Post
    i think star and summerville will go down , star are very slow at the back and some of the players are only 1b standard, corbally on the other hand will bounce back from the summerville result and also have a cup final to look forward to which will keep the camp in good spirits.
    1 B standard, stupid post

Pat Sheehan has asked me to help him fill in the blanks for Tuohy Cup Winners.
    Can anyone help?

Tuohy Cup

1975/76 Fairview
    1976/77 St Michaels
    1977/78 Fairview
    1978/79 Ballynanty Rvs
    1979/80 Wanderers
    1980/81
    1981/82 Ballynanty Rvs
    1982/83 Janesboro/Wembley
    1983/84 Star Rvs
    1984/85 Pike Rvs
    1985/86 Janesboro
    1986/87 Verekere Clements
    1987/88 Fairview
    1988/89
    1989/90 Janesboro
    1990/91
    1991/92 Prospect
    1992/93 Fairview
    1993/94 Fairview
    1994/95
    1995/96 Fairview
    1996/97 Fairview
    1997/98 Carew Park ?
    1998/99 Fairview
    1999/00
    2000/01 Carew Park ?
    2001/02 Ballynanty Rvs
    2002/03 Fairview Rgs
    2003/04 Ballynanty Rvs
    2004/05 Pike Rvs
    2005/06 Ballynanty Rvs
    2006/07 Ballynanty Rvs
    2007/08 Regional Utd
    2008/09 Pike Rvs
    2009/10 Pike Rvs
    2010/11 Pike Rvs

44 Posts
    Fairview 1-0 Ballynanty (match abandoned after 38 minutes)

Darren O'Sullivan got the only goal of the game here, created by an excellent driving run and cross from Christy Doyle. Game called off after a two-footed challenge from Gavin O'Shea led only to a yellow card from the referee. An incensed Ballynanty supporter came off the sideline and allegedly (and I stress that) made a threat which led to the abandonment.

My own take on it is that it was a red, and the referee bottled the decision. Ballynanty had the right to be incensed but as one of their players said to me afterwards, that was no excuse for making threats towards the officials.

Shame as it ruined a promising contest. Came back up for the U-19 rematch at 2.00 which Fairview won comfortably 3-0, featuring great performances from Craig Reddan, Dean McNamara, Shane Power and Mike Kavanagh.

That Ballynanty supporter came on the pitch before the ref even handed out the yellow card! Disgraceful scenes to be fair. Ref bottled the sending off but was justified in calling the game off.

32 Posts
    Premier P W D L F A Pts
    Carew Park 14 10 1 3 29 19 31
    Regional Utd 16 7 1 8 27 34 22
    Ballynanty Rs 15 6 2 7 34 25 20
    Wembley Rvs 14 4 4 6 26 31 16
    Aisling Ann 14 4 1 9 21 49 13
    Star Rvs 14 3 2 9 18 47 11
    Corbally Utd 14 2 2 10 23 41 8
    Summerville 14 1 0 13 9 54 3

Result
    Sun 12/02/12
    Fairview Rgs A-A Ballynanty Rvs,

Fixtures
    Sun 19/02/12
    Summerville Rvs v Regional Utd, 10.30,
    Corbally Utd v Aisling Annacotty, 10.30,
    Star Rvs v Carew Park, 10.30,
    68, 99, 08

46 Posts
    Star 0 Carew Park 3, mark sla, Dermot o shea, jamie Kelly.

Corbally 2-1 Aisling. Goals by ken neylon and Ian o donoghue early in second half after a scoreless and level first half where both teams cancelled each other out.Aisling pulled one back on 88mins through Brian begley.a very important win for us which pulls us right back into contention in the battle at the bottom.

Summerville 2 Regional 2. I'm with Summerville so here,s my take on it. We had real chances to pull away when we were 2 1 up and didn't take them. Apart from James O Donnell, Regional had the best two or three individuals on the pitch.We were a TEAM today and could have picked up all three points, We let ourselves down with our mouthing at the ref, and paid the price. The ref was fine. The new signings, who were on display, were good and worked hard,but we picked up too many ultimately costly yellow's for stupid reasons.

Quote Originally Posted by bald eagle View Post
    Summerville 2 Regional 2. I'm with Summerville so here,s my take on it. We had real chances to pull away when we were 2 1 up and didn't take them. Apart from James O Donnell, Regional had the best two or three individuals on the pitch.We were a TEAM today and could have picked up all three points, We let ourselves down with our mouthing at the ref, and paid the price. The ref was fine. The new signings, who were on display, were good and worked hard,but we picked up too many ultimately costly yellow's for stupid reasons.
    How many new signings did ye make? Ye picked a good time to start playing as a team, pity theres only 6 or 7 games left. Individually there are some really good players up there.
    That red head lad on the sideline gone?

Summerville fought tooth and nail for the point Regional gave them nothing and when they equalised there was a pushing match when they tried to retrieve the ball from the net.

Quote Originally Posted by kingpin4 View Post
    How many new signings did ye make? Ye picked a good time to start playing as a team, pity theres only 6 or 7 games left. Individually there are some really good players up there.
    That red head lad on the sideline gone?

ya he left Kingpin...made a few new signings, one scored yesterday... As regards yesterday, i saw Soreloosers comment about being up against nothin this time of the season before it was taken down by 12th man... such rubbish!! Granted iv seen teams offer nothin when their comfortably mid table as per say regional are, but I played yesterday and let me tell you one thing Regional gave us absolutely nothin yesterday, and battered us trying to get an equaliser and then a potential winner. As for the sending offs, they were poor, Referee was influenced by the regional sideline i think, he gave us absolutely nothing for 90 mins... all told a 2-2 draw playin practically an entire 2nd half with ten and the last twn with 9 players you can only credit the lads who left absolutely nothin out in the field, and were 2 mins away from a great win.... Rant done

George Daffy has signed for us,good addition who will now be available for the rest of the season.

Quote Originally Posted by passandmove View Post
    George Daffy has signed for us,good addition who will now be available for the rest of the season.

agree, excellent player, quality signing

fair play hasnt been an easy season for ye boys. have to admire a team up to two match's ago had no points in terms of moral and getting a team on the field every week. Hope ye finish out the season looks like it will be too little to late unfortunately for ye. keep those lads together and that spirit and ye have a great chance of coming back up a little bit wiser maybe.

Getting interesting to see who will go down . corbally look to be moving in the right direction and have had a few good results lately. star look to have problems and AA are right down there in the mix too. next few weeks will be interesting.

32 Posts
    Premier P W D L F A Pts
    Carew Park 15 11 1 3 32 19 34
    Regional Utd 17 7 2 8 29 36 23