Quote Originally Posted by hoops38 View Post
    ya 7 o clock ,pike will be missing a few due to gaa commitments,
    Moving on to the league.

Handy one for Pike in the opener.

Thought Regional would be easy enough as well, but apparently they have signed a few players who played with them in recent years from the Desmond League.

I reckon pike will walk the league but Balla and Boro will be much closer challengers this year.

don't know about walking it....certainly favourites.
    can't see what happened last year,with the league being contested by only two teams with 8 matches remaining.
    no disrespect to the other clubs,but the winner will come from pike,boro,balla or fairview.
    that's not to say that the other clubs won't have a big bearing on where the title goes.

Quote Originally Posted by prawnsandwich2 View Post
    don't know about walking it....certainly favourites.
    can't see what happened last year,with the league being contested by only two teams with 8 matches remaining.
    no disrespect to the other clubs,but the winner will come from pike,boro,balla or fairview.
    that's not to say that the other clubs won't have a big bearing on where the title goes.
    yeah cant see the title going anywhere but them four clubs either and i think you can throw regional in there too. be interesting to see how pike and fairview get on with the new rules in place.

interesting read here about Conor Kavanagh going back to Pike

http://www.westmeathindependent.ie/s...o-bounce-back/

Quote Originally Posted by lfc at heart View Post

Only says what everyone knows but I suppose we can't talk about it can we

Quote Originally Posted by neverseenit View Post
    Only says what everyone knows but I suppose we can't talk about it can we
    We can only speak about it indirectly.... Great article...!!!

Quote Originally Posted by lfc at heart View Post

Don't believe everything you read,he was tired of the travelling for pittance,oh and by the way nasri is on his way as well,that'll be on the limerick post the weekend,

37 Posts

Cool

some people just cant handle the truthwell...jack did say it.

Quote Originally Posted by theboywonder8 View Post
    Don't believe everything you read,he was tired of the travelling for pittance,oh and by the way nasri is on his way as well,that'll be on the limerick post the weekend,
    In fairness its only an hour and 20 minutes up the road and he was training in Limerick so he didn't even have to go up all the time. Something had to have convinced him to come back to Pike to get sick of a few trips up the country in the space of 2 months, if even that.

Athlone already said in pre-season they could not compete with what Limerick junior teams where offering players and it was only when the junior season ended they managed to sign a good few.
    Last edited by Jofspring; 17/08/2011 at 9:57 PM.

Just spoke to someone there and his idea of whoever comes second in the league should be awarded a trophy by other clubs..as the real amateur winners of the league..lol..

What a childish response,will ye get it into yere heads they are JUNIOR players who have been regraded by governing body,and ye have the cheek to come on here and say yere not pike bashing,I said it once and I'll say it again FAIRVIEW have more ex loi players than pike,haven't once heard ye bashing them,green eyed monster is surfacing again.

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    In fairness its only an hour and 20 minutes up the road and he was training in Limerick so he didn't even have to go up all the time. Something had to have convinced him to come back to Pike to get sick of a few trips up the country in the space of 2 months, if even that.

Athlone already said in pre-season they could not com
    pete with what Limerick junior teams where offering players and it was only when the junior season ended they managed to sign a good few.
    You don't know conors situation,do you,and by the way when Collins and dunne made the same comments about ye,ye were all up in arms over it,so give it a break people are sick and tired of listening to yere pike bashing.

I never said I know his situation just that the travelling isn't as far as your comment might make it sound and there must be more to it than just travelling. Also I don't care if Pike are or are not paying any of their players, whether it be Conor Kavanagh or anyone else, it makes no difference to me in the slightest. I also don't say that Pike have paid him just that it had to have been something decent to convince him back, that doesn't just have to be financial offerings. Collins and Dunne said directly we offered our players more "money" than they could but Moran just says they could not compete with Pikes offer, he does not say anything about money. An offer could be anything. If Moran wanted to say it was financial he could have come straight out and said Pike are giving him more money but he didn't.

I also don't think I ever comment on Pike or their dealings before this so this being "sick and tired of listening to yere Pike bashing" thing is total rubbish.
    Last edited by Jofspring; 17/08/2011 at 10:26 PM.

Never mentioned you directly,did I,what would you read into it yourself in all fairness,

I was quoted and it was in direct reply to my comment so I presumed it was directed at myself.

He was obviously angling at something alright but unless he mentioned money directly, no one can really say much about Padraig Morans comment. Would be a totally different situation as I say if he had straight up said Pike offered him more money than Athlone.
    Last edited by Jofspring; 17/08/2011 at 10:46 PM.

[QUOTE=theboywonder8;1520606]What a childish response,will ye get it into yere heads they are JUNIOR players who have been regraded by governing body,and ye have the cheek to come on here and say yere not pike bashing,I said it once and I'll say it again FAIRVIEW have more ex loi players than pike,haven't once heard ye bashing them,green eyed monster is surfacing again.OTE]yeah but there being regraded every year when there finished playing Loi..how many times can you be regraded..only asking a question so stay calm

I'm calm as can be,you can be regraded every year,their fai rules and what can you do about it only take advantage of it,fairview and pike have,and jofspring I know what your saying but he could have worded it in a totally different way than he did,I'll bet he hasn't heard the last of this, and if I was Conor I would be looking for clarification of what he meant by it and then an apology in same newspaper,once he made the comment he should have clarified it,I just wonder why mike kerley didn't make this comment,after all he's the gaffer,would you not agree?

lads all this money talk is ridiculous , fair play to anyone who can get any few bob in the current climate , on the kavanagh situation , maybe he could not handle the pace at a higher level ? . Fair play to him for giving it a go either way.

By all accounts daydreamer he was one of athlones best players last couple of games..

Page 6 of 81 FirstFirst ... 456781656 ... LastLast